To read or not to read

13 Mar

010

I started this book a while back but have had trouble getting “into” it. I’ve only read the first chapter and have no huge desire to pick it back up and keep reading…but after all of the rave reviews I feel like I should just keep going and give it another chance. Those who have read it: does it get better?

I do have something that was most definitely BETTER…

007

Reeses Pieces Oatmeal, that’s what! Thank you to my love, Julie, for this fantastic idea.

I did my usual night before method for some volumous oats action. Then topped with a giant frozen fudgie and frozen peanut flour paste (peanut flour mixed with almond milk, sea salt, and a couple drops of vanilla stevia.) Once melted into the oats, I kid you not, it seriously tasted like the candy itself. REDONK.

Two tasty things from yesterday:

001

homemade low carb protein bread topped with hummus, sliced, tomato, and fresh cracked pepper. Savory snack win! I’m trying to cut back on sweeteners and choose more natural options. I just feel like my sweet tooth is getting a little out of hand. This option will definitely be in the rotation more often!

*Note- I’m still working on my “Artificial Sweetener Debate” post. look out for it soon.

A new variation of squash boats:

003

Here’s my go-to way of making spaghetti squash boats, but I was craving the jumbo shrimpies that we bought in bulk at Sam’s Club last week.

005

Shrimp+nooch+marinara+italian seasonings+side of sauteed kale (kale, white wine vinegar, olive oil, sea salt, cracked black pepper). I’m used to eating large squash, but this one particularly filled me up to the MAX. I was working on this beaut for about a good hour. >Major food baby occurred. 🙂

After dinner, all I wanted to do was curl up with a movie. Being sick still has me feeling energy-less. My mom picked up a movie I reserved at Redbox:

This was SO CUTE! Josh Duhamel is my husband. He just doesn’t know it yet.

In other news, I finally got the rest of my senior pictures order in. I’ve been waiting FOREVER for this tri-fold:

009

I’m really happy with the way they turned out! Pictures are fun. 😀

Today I will definitely be taking it easy…hopefully I’ll be feeling better by tomorrow! Looks like some napping, trashy tv watching, and possibly book reading (based on you guy’s advice on the above book!) is on the agenda. I’ll also be watching my new favorite show night: America’s Next Great Restaurant. Did anyone else watch the season premiere? All my favorites made it into the top 10! And you guys should know by now that I’ll watch anything with (my other husband) Curtis Stone on it. Yumz. Some of my favorite ideas:

  • build your own Wok/stirfry
  • Indian cuisine version of Chipotle
  • Saucy Balls… that wins just for the name along, obviously.
  • Sweet Cheeks Gourmet Dining 

Okay, okay, so the last one isn’t on the show…yet. A girl can dream can’t she?

Questions!

~The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo. Yay or nay?

~What book are you loving right now?

~Have you watched ANGR? Who is your favorite?

Kristi

29 Responses to “To read or not to read”

  1. Katie March 13, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I am going to try that oats topping! I saw that on Julies blog and drooled, and now drooling on yours, lol!!

    I just bought the book The Help last night because I heard amazing things about it, will let you know how it is!!!

    Have a great Sunday! Sorry your still feeling sick : p

    xoxo ❤

    p.s. I want to see that movie, will have to rent that!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

      ohhh The Help is on my list of books to read, too. can’t wait to hear it you like it!

  2. Katie March 13, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I am eating those oats tomorrow for sure!!! It sounds delicious. 🙂

    I haven’t read the book. Lately I have been having trouble getting into books. I think it’s because I am on the computer too much. :/

    What is your recipe for low carb bread??? Looks/sounds good! Hope you feel better little missy. Rest, rest, rest up!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      1/2 cup ground flaxseed
      1/2 cup unsweetened protein powder
      1/2 cup pumpkin
      1 cup liquid egg whites
      1/2 cup water
      1 tbsp baking powder
      and sometimes 1 tbsp cinnamon

      combine and bake for 30-ish minutes at 375!

  3. Sable@SquatLikeALady March 13, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Hahaha Saucy Balls I love it….

    I actually didn’t get that book based on the fact that I found a whole bunch of reviews saying it’s hard to get into at first lol! You’ll have to let me know if it’s worth it.

    Your senior pics are beautiful!

  4. Megan @ oatmealwithsprinkles March 13, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while but I don’t think I’ve ever commented – hello!

    Hmm, I’ve never read that book, but I’ve heard that it’s good. Love the senior pictures! I still need to get mine printed!

    That oatmeal looks amazing! So does the squash boat! I looove anything with chocolate and pb (and oatmeal!).

    Megan

  5. movesnmunchies March 13, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    ive never read that boook!!! but its hard fo rme to get into books too! LOVE THAT FUDGIE ACTION!!!!!!!!!!!
    and OMG YOUR PHOTOS are STUNNING!

  6. Kat March 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Oh gosh that oat idea sounds delish!! Totally trying it!! And I loved that movie. Josh is super hot, but I balled my eyes out in the beginning! I think my favorite part is when they get their faces painted all up, so cute!!

  7. Jenny March 13, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I’ve had spaghetti squash for 2 days in a row now, l love it! That oatmeal looks insanely yummy. I love your senior pics, you look gorgeousss 😀

  8. katshealthcorner March 13, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I love your oatmeal idea!! 😀 It sounds absolutely delicious! I haven’t tried peanut flour yet, but I hope to get some a la Amazon soon!!! Then I can give this a try! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 13, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I watched the pilot of that show last night and I was really impressed. Can’t wait to watch it tonight! Bobby Flay is my favorite chef!

  10. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope March 13, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    SO great catching up with you!

    YES, the book gets MUCH better!!! I was totally thinking the same thing when I started reading it, but a few more chapters and you’ll be reading non-stop! Crazy good!

    YUM… love the shrimp addition. What a fabulous idea!

    xxoo
    Heather

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! March 13, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    I love shrimp so that squash boat looks yummmy! And reeses oatmeal….OMG YES! Two of my fave flavors together…with oats?!?! Get in muh mouth! I have got to make this tomorrow for breakfast!

  12. lindsay March 14, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    ahhh, squash boat!? So cool! I like that idea. Maybe chunky salmon mixture with spinach would be a good try, eh?

    • Sweet Cheeks March 14, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      that sounds heavenly. I will def. try that combo SOON!

  13. oatsandspice March 14, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I just made a fudgie today too 🙂 Aren’t they the best?!? I am obsessed – awesome idea to put it on top of your oatmeal!

  14. The Teenage Taste March 14, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    Jeez, those pictures came out so well! You’re so pretty!

  15. Jenny March 14, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Okay, so – I’ve never read the book but my dad had and said it was really slow but once the book gets going, you will NOT be able to put it down. I’ve also seen the movie and girl, it is intense!! I would give it one more shot 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks March 14, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

      good to know!! I’m going to stick with it…we shall see!

  16. Angie @ The Fitness Apple March 15, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    America’s next great restaurant is something I definitely need to look into! thanks for letting me know! Also the homemade bread looks absolutely delish! Topped with hummus is perfect!

  17. paoang March 16, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    Ohhh YUM! Those eats all look GREAT!
    As for the book, I heard the movie was really good, so idk?

    PS- You look gorgeous in your pics. I love that tri-fold!

  18. Naomi March 16, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    yay! keep reading the beginning is boring and really doesnt pick up for a while..stick with it!

  19. amylouisemc March 17, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Hey, just found your blog!

    I haven’t read Girl with the Dragon tattoo, but I am feeling the same way at the moment about Eat, Pray, Love. Hopefully our persistence is worth it 🙂

    By the way, the Reese’s Pieces oats look ah.ma.zing.

    Amy x

  20. Sana March 19, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    Your pics are too cute and I loveee the idea of a squash boat! You don’t even need a plate!

  21. Becci March 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I had trouble getting into that book at first too. I stuck with it though and am so glad I did. It really does get so much better. I’ve read the 2nd one too and highly recommend it!

  22. Ellie March 19, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    your breakfast looks so yummyyy! and your pics are soo beautiful! wow you’re photogenic 🙂

  23. julie March 20, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    mmmmm reese’s oats are SO good!! they’re on my menu for tomorrow fooo shooo hahaha i just put the peanut flour in the freezer and i’m ready for action 😉

    i LOVE your shrimp boat though! what a tasty idea 🙂 hope you’re enjoying your weekend girl!

  24. Marco March 20, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    That book is great…..Is the first of the Milennium series. The third book is the best.
    “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest” is title.
    Enjoy reading

Leave a Reply

