Stay-cation + best peanut flour deal

21 Mar

Good morning!

Welcome to a brand new week! I’ve got a hunch this one will be pretty spectacular due to…SPRING BREAK!!!!! Ahhh I have been counting down the days to this glorious week. Also good news: I’m finally feeling back to my normal self after being sick. Perfect timing! This week the plan is to have NO plan. It is going to be a nice little stay-cation. 🙂

I was up around 9 this morning with plans to get my workout on with a friend. Pre workout fuel:

008

Banana with Nuttzo nut butter

We hit the gym hard for a mix of cardio and weights. First up was 20 minutes on the arc trainer, level 5. <legs were burned. 🙂 Then we got big with meatheads. I am so glad I got over my fear of the weight room. Every since, I had been having so much FUN with my workouts! Each time I go, I’m trying new machines, learning new moves, and am constantly switching things up. I don’t think I’ll ever get bored now! We did a mix of various things including:

  • preacher curls
  • rows
  • a tricep machine that I don’t know the name of
  • assisted pull ups
  • squats
  • hip abductions
  • oblique side dips

That is all I can remember right now. Obviously there wasn’t really much thought put behind today’s workout, but I’m having fun experimenting right now and that’s all that matters. I do want to eventually develop more of a lifting “plan” but am unsure of where to start. Any suggestions?

I came home to an awesome post workout meal waiting in the fridge for me:

009

Overnight oats topped with peanut flour mixture and Polaner all fruit jam

  • 40 grams oatbran
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • cinnamon, vanilla, ginger

microwave

  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt added
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour + almond milk + sea salt on top
  • jam on top

Just stick it in the fridge and prepare for deliciousness the next morning. 🙂 This was delicious but I decided that oats are better for cold overnight oats then oatbran because you get that nice doughy chew. Still, a great and refreshing post workout meal nonetheless.

Looking for a great deal on peanut flour? I now buy mine online from Local Harvest and it is the best deal I have found thus far. I order 2 of the 2 lb bags and with shipping, my total was $26. The shipping is higher, but the actual price is much cheaper than anywhere else I’ve seen them, so it ends up being the best deal overall. The Local Harvest website is also pretty neat. You can search for local farmer’s markets and see what all they have to offer. If you don’t see what you want, you can order from a different market online. Nifty!

Yesterday was the most gorgeous day we’ve had here in quite a while. It got over 80 degrees and I loved every minute of it! We decided that it the perfect day to do some grilling out.

004

Chef MOM grilled salmon and chicken. I some of each alongside some broccoli and sweet potato.

I also had some “salad”

005

I am addicted to this cabbage coleslaw mix:

010

We buy these giant bags at Sams and I go through them like nothing. Eaten straight up or in a stirfry, it’s awesome and makes for lots of vollllume.

007

A little while after dinner I was ready for an artificial sweetener-free dessert:

Greek yogurt topped with a pumpkin muffin, blackberries, peanuts, and cinnamon.

Thanks for all the feedback on my decision to cut down on the artificial sweeteners. There are so much better options than that stuff and I feel good about not relying on them anymore. Some of you pointed out that as with everything, moderation is key. Good point indeed!

I made up another batch of pumpkin muffins and the only sweetener was the stevia in the very small amount of protein powder used.001 

I amped up the flavor by adding in cinnamon and ginger, which combined with the pumpkin wonderfully and was the perfect amount of natural sweetness for me. My taste buds are getting there!!

Well, time to have some more fun on my STAYCATION! What’s the plan? Oh, right, there is no plan! I could get used to this…

Kristi

12 Responses to “Stay-cation + best peanut flour deal”

  1. kat March 21, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Thx for the tip on the peanut flour!!! Mine is getting dangerously low, and I was starting to freak out just a bit 🙂

  2. Erika March 21, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    hey, i just started following your blog! it’s lovely 🙂
    i’m so glad you posted that peanut flour link, i’m just about to run out of what i stocked up on from trader joe’s!
    and if you need help with lifting plans, i’d be more than happy to help, just shoot me an e-mail!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 21, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      thanks for stopping by! I am going to yours right now! 🙂

  3. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope March 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I had my Spring Break last week… lots of R&R was just what I needed. Hope you enjoy your week!

    That yogurt mix and pumpkin muffins look especially good!

  4. movesnmunchies March 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    WOAH i love that peanut flour deal!!! good to know i can get some when im in the us!! WOOHOO rockin workout gal!

  5. Jenny March 21, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Whoa those muffins look amazing! And I need to get me some of that peanut flour!

  6. oatsandspice March 21, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Wow the peanut flour deal is amazing – I am going to have to buy some – thanks for sharing because I have been looking for some online!

  7. paoang March 22, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    AHHH so glad you’re out for Spring Break girl!!! I’m still waiting on mine >.<
    Eats look amazing as always…and those muffins?! YUM!
    I've never used peanut flour before…maybe I should buy some already! 😛

    Have a great week !

  8. Katie March 22, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    As soon as I am done with my WF maple syrup, SF jams, and artificially sweetened protein powders, I am DONE with the artificial crap! You’ve inspired me. I am also going to cut back on added sugars too. Just stick to fruit for sweetness. I have a ton of Muscle Gauge, so it’s going to be awhile, but I think this is a HUGE step. I need to find a protein that’s made with stevia, but still tastes great and is a good price. Jay Robb is TOOOOO much moolah for this lady.

  9. Jess March 22, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    That looks like my PERFECT meal–chicken, salmon, sweet potato, and veggies ❤

  10. Katie March 22, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Im loving the muffins! I need to whip up a batch and freeze them! I think the best plans, are NO plans! Just go with the flow and enjoy your break!!!

    Love you! xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Socca Explosion | Sweet Cheeks - March 24, 2011

    […] morning I wanted to use my new boatload of peanut flour in my […]

Leave a Reply

