My new favorite supplement

22 Mar

Good Afternoon!

I don’t remember the last time I was able to post in the afternoon on a weekday. I ❤ Spring Break. I don’t know that I’ll be able to go back to my regular school/work schedule after this amazing week of  being able to do whatever I please. Good thing Summer is right around the corner!!

I was feeling patriotic for breakfast this morning, so this happened…

029

I brought back the oat pancake of deliciousness. It is free of anything artificial, per my new artificial sweetener-free plan, yet still full of natural flavor. Super easy, too!

Just combine 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, cinnamon, ginger, vanilla, and a pinch of baking powder. Cook it up on a skillet and top with plain greek yogurt and fruit. Simple and delicious.

The weather is AWESOME again today and I couldn’t wait to get out in it. Right after breakfast, my dog Jaci and I headed out for a nice long walk. Enjoying nice sunny weather while spending time with my favorite pup = my favorite form of cardio.

I wanted to share with you guys my newest supplement addition. I did a post a while back on the vitamins/supps that I take HERE. I have been doing some reading and decided to try out something to increase my energy levels…

006

Vitamin B12 supplement

I have a pretty hectic schedule with juggling school and work every day and have felt really worn down. I did some looking into the matter and read great things about the benefits of B vitamins and energy levels, specifically B12. This one, I got at Sams Club, which was a 2 pack (400 doses total) for around 15 bucks.

Benefits of B12:

  • helps treat chronic fatigue
  • helps with memory loss
  • ease of depression symptoms
  • better sleep
  • prevent nerve damage
  • maintain fertility

I have been taking it for about a week now and can notice a difference in my energy. I am not as sluggish and lazy. I WANT to be up and doing things as much as possible. I can go longer in my workouts. So far so good, b12! I am definitely going to continue my use of this to help get me through the rest of the school year.

Last night’s dinner was amazingly tasty:

004

Vegetarian Protein-Packed Polenta Lasagna

This recipe is courtesy of Oxygen Magazine, with my substitutions in parenthesis.

Ingredients:

  • 15 oz lowfat ricotta cheese (cottage cheese)
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 package firm tofu, drained and mashed
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and dry (fresh spinach)
  • 1 jar roasted red bell peppers, drained and chopped (omitted)
  • 1 jar low-sodium marinara sauce
  • 18 oz tube of pre-cooked polenta, sliced into 18 rounds
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400*F. In a large bowl, mix together ricotta and parmesan, set aside 2 tbsp for topping. Add tofu, spinach, and bell peppers and gently mix to combine

Layer 1/2 cup marinara on the bottom of an 11X7 inch glass baking dish. Place 6 polenta rounds over sauce.

Top with half the cheese mixture. Pour 3/4 cup marinara over cheese. repeat layering polenta rounds, cheese mixture, and sauce.

Sprinkle remaining parmesan cheese on top. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and set oven to broil. Cook for 4 more minutes, or until the cheese starts to turn golden. Remove from oven and let cool for a few minutes before serving.

Makes 6 servings (or 4 huge servings, if you’re like me!) at about 221 cals each, according to the mag.

SO GOOOOOD. This is a great meal to get protein in without meat.

***

Tonight I’m watching The Social Network with friends.

The Social Network Poster

Who has seen it? I have been wanting to see it since it first came out. Hope it’s good!

What is your number 1 supplement that you take, if any?

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

Kristi

15 Responses to “My new favorite supplement”

  1. Kat March 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    I should take a calcium supplement since my mom has osteoperosis, but I dont. I find that I am just trying to get all my nutrients from food, but I know I should take supplements for those days that I dont eat so well!

  2. J3nn (Jenn's Menu and Lifestyle Blog) March 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I tried taking B-12 and B-complex, and they made me sick. Perhaps I didn’t follow the instructions and took them on too empty of a stomach.

    That polenta lasagna looks AMAZING! I’m going to be making a batch of polenta sometime soon, I’ll have to leave some extra to try this. 🙂

  3. movesnmunchies March 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    oh yes for B12!! its esp hard for me since m vegan.. but i take a vegan multivitmin that has the RDA and then i also hav separate supplements. might start taking even more hearing all the great benefits you get from it!! i also take calcium and vit D cuz there aint so sunshine in london!

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 22, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I take a multivitamin and that’s it. I don’t think I need anything else!

  5. Jenny March 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I’ve never seen The Social Network but my brother has been raving about how good it is. Those pancakes look delicious! I have yet to try polenta but this post is seriously making me want some 😀

  6. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope March 23, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    Glad the supplement seems to be helping your energy levels. I personally never tried it before, but I believe if a supplement seems to help you and there’s no negative side-effects, it’s most likely worth it. We all have unique bodies and systems!

    Fabulous recipe!

    I watched the Social Network and wasn’t all THAT impressed with it, but most people seem to just RAVE about how amazing it is. Hope you enjoy it!

  7. Courtney March 23, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    I take a regular old gummy vitamin, plus a vitamin C supplement. Both of them have helped me stay healthy and get sick less! 😀

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! March 23, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Yum all that food looks delicious! I love pancakes so much….and you have all my favorite toppings on the one in the picture! I have never had polenta but I have always wanted to try it….and now I have the perfect recipe to try it with! 🙂

  9. Jess March 24, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    AWESOME sounding supplement. I need more energy for sure lately!!

  10. paoang March 24, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    OH YUM!
    Both that breakfast and lasagna look DELICIOUS. And thank you for the info on the B12 vitamin…I should probably get some!

  11. katshealthcorner March 24, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    I absolutely ADORE your Oat Pancake! YAY for no sugar! 😀

    My doctor wants me to have x amount of Calicium per day, so I have to take a supplement to make sure I get it. 🙂

    xoxox
    Kathleen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW + WIWW « Sweet Cheeks - July 6, 2011

    […] took the high protein vegetarian polenta lasagna recipe that I made a while back and swapped the polenta for baked eggplant rounds. Mmmmm! I had a […]

  2. Come on it, take a look around « Sweetly Fit - January 15, 2012

    […] Protein Packed Vegetarian Polenta Lasagna (but with eggplant rounds instead) […]

  3. Come on in, take a look around « Sweetly Fit - January 15, 2012

    […] Protein Packed Vegetarian Polenta Lasagna (but with eggplant rounds instead) […]

  4. Giveaway Winners « Sweetly Fit - January 21, 2012

    […] meat-free high protein eggplant lasagna […]

Leave a Reply

