Socca Explosion

24 Mar

I’ll let the pictures do the talking…

001

003

Major OOPS on my part last night! I was mixing up the makings on a batch of socca, reached into the cabinet, dropped with sea salt bottle which somehow perfectly hit the side of my mixing bowl and flipped it completely upside down. I was covered, as was everything else in the kitchen. I laughed at first…but I soon came to the realization that I would be the one to clean the mess up. Yeah, not so funny after that.

Ohhhh well, it was all worth it in the end because dinner turned out pretty bangin. while my (second) batch of socca was in the oven, I sauteed some red bell pepper, mushroom, and onion in some olive oil and then added in jumbo shrimp and scallops:

004

seafood and veg medley seasoned with Bragg’s liquid aminos, garlic, basil, oregano

Ta-Da!

009 

I put together a seafood salad with the veggie, shrimp, and scallop sauté along with spinach, chopped almonds, and a simple homemade dressing of red wine vinegar, olive oil, sea salt, pepper, garlic, and parsley

010

Socca with creamy chive goat cheese

My socca was super simple: 60 grams of chickpea flour, a little over 1/2 cup water, sea salt, basil oregano, parsley, garlic powder. = 2 delicious servings, especially when topped with goat cheese. 🙂

It was quite the delicious dinner!

This morning I wanted to use my new boatload of peanut flour in my breakfast:

014

40 grams oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 cup egg whites, huge scoop of pumpkin, cinnamon, and ginger. Cooked the night before. Peanut flour crumble added in the morning (1/4 cup flour, dash of maple syrup, sea salt, water)

And some green tea:

015

Then after some leisurely blog reading I got ready to rock out an upper body workout at home. Sometimes you just don’t feel like getting out and going to the gym, ya know? Not a problem when you’ve got a good set of dumbbells right in your room!

  • shoulder press 8 reps 4 sets
  • triceps extension 8 reps 3 sets
  • push ups 10 reps 3 sets
  • frontal raises 8 reps 3 sets
  • dumbbell rows 8 reps 3 sets
  • bicycles 30 reps

I also threw in some random cardio moves from time to time in between sets such as jumping jacks, skaters, high knees, etc. I have a hard time just standing or sitting around during my in between rest times. Anybody do this? I feel like I should be moving the whole time…it is my WORKOUT after all!

Not much is planned for the rest of the day. I guess I’m doing a good job of my “no plan” plans this week! Have I mentioned how much I LOOOOOVE this?!? Please God, just give me Summer right now. I’ll never ask for anything again. 🙂 Seriously though, this week is going amazingly. It has given me a taste of what this Summer will be like and to say that I am excited would be a major understatement. It is going to be hard to stay focused and motivated for school and work starting back next week but I know I need to do it and finish out strong. Until then, however, I will be enjoying every last second of this Spring Break. It was soooooo needed!!

So, question of the day: How do you stay motivated for something that you don’t really want to do? I’m going to need some help on this for sure!

kristi

21 Responses to “Socca Explosion”

  1. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope March 24, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Laughing it off is always the better alternative. 🙂

    The finished product of that salad looks incredible!

    Most cases, I wouldn’t do something I really don’t want to. 😉 But since THAT’S not quite an option haha… I focus on ANY positives of that something. You get to see friends, you get to have a routine again, etc. I also always make sure I have something in the near future to look foward to. Maybe summer seems far off, by why not plan a coffee get-together with a friend next weekend? Or a trip to the mall? Or WHATEVER it is that YOU enjoy and can accomplish in the near future.

  2. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 24, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    staying motivated for something you dont want to do…well just think how awesome it will be when its over and for the time being give it your ALL. make it a challenge to yourself to complete it and do it with full on effort 🙂

    SOCCA! I need to get on this!

  3. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate March 24, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    That salad looks flipping delicious!

  4. oatsandspice March 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    The socca looks so good! I think I may just have to make some this weekend (for me first time everrr) 🙂

  5. Courtney March 24, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    aww, poor socca! It looks delicious finished, though! 🙂

  6. ilovefetacheese March 25, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    AWWW YOU POOR THING, but damn that socca looks yummy!!!!!!!

  7. Jess March 25, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    That finished plate looks INCREDIBLE!!!

  8. Kayla March 25, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    Oh my gosh, things like that happen to me ALL THE TIME. Cleaning up is always the worst part! ;0)

    That sea food dinner looks amazingg, girl!!!!

  9. emily March 25, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I stay motivated by…just doing it..not thinking about it. the more I think about it…the more I am not motivated to do it!!!! weird, i know!

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Oh I am the same way! I just need to put it completely out of my mind!

  10. paijery March 26, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    Oh YUM!! I just started loving socca!! I haven’t tried it with goat cheese yet though! To motivate myself I always promise myself a lil somethin somethin. Liiiike I’ll tell myself I can treat myself to a movie or swimming or a new workout shirt or something to get me through it 😀

  11. paoang March 26, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    Hahaha whoaa explosion! I hate it when that happens XD
    Your socca dinner looks heavenly though…too bad I’m allergic to shrimp 😦

    And I totally get you! Staying focused is definitely hard…just think about how little you’ve got left ’til summer! One month and we’ll be FREE, FREE, FREE!
    So glad you’ve been having an amazing time!

    xoxo

  12. Katie March 27, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Kitchen explosions happen over here too ; ) I just keep it quiet ! lol

    Yeah thought that the socca came out great, it is so good!

    I hope your weekend is great love!!! xoxo

  13. april March 28, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Well, when I lift I have to take rests- there’s no way I could do cardio in between, especially when lifting heavy- it should exhaust you so that you don’t have energy to do anything in between sets! LOL

    • Sweet Cheeks March 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      Yes I understand that…mostly I just meant to point out that I at least try not to sit down between sets. Also, I am currently lifting at a not so heavy weight because I felt that when I was trying to push myself to lift really heavy, I lost good form. So now I’m lifting slightly lighter in order to achieve perfect form, therefore I’m not AS tired in between sets.

      • april March 31, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

        Oh no, I hope I didn’t come off as rude/mean! I only sit during rests if I’m already sitting in the first place (seated row, seated overhead press, etc) but if I’m doing standing exercises I just stand there! LOL. But you are doing great, I’m so excited you’ve found a love for it!

      • Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

        thanks for replying, April. I just wanted to clarify what I meant. I’m trying my best, it’s just going to take some time to build up to those heavy weights and workouts that you are notorious for! 😀

      • april April 3, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

        Heavy is all relative though- so you’ll get the same workout I will, as long as the weights are heavy for YOU! 🙂

  14. Carlee April 3, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    Your breakfast looks awesome with ALL THAT peanut flourr!!

Leave a Reply

