Throw your hands up

2 Apr

…cause it’s FRIIIIIDAY!! **happy dance***

Hello all!

If you couldn’t tell, I am just a bit excited about the weekend. It’s been another busy go go go week, but I got everything accomplished that I needed to get accomplished so I feel good! Now I’m ready for all the great things that come along with weekends: sleeping as much as I want, getting outside and enjoying warm sunny weather (supposed to be 70’s!), giving my mind a break, and just plain enjoying life.

I (shockingly) decided to switch up breakfast and opted for a yogurt bowl:

023

~Fage greek yogurt

~banana slices

~Nature’s Path granola

~kamut puffs

~Nuttzo nut butter (added after pic)

It was a delightful, healthful start to my day. My tummy doesn’t love greek yogurt though. I think I need to start taking a lactase pill. Anybody have good luck with them?

Even though I was super tempted to stay home in my PJs snuggled up with my fury love, Jaci, I made the responsible decision to head off to school and did the whole ‘learning’ thing like a champ. I’m always SO tempted to skip Fridays. Blah, school. Yippeee, weekend!

Came home to enjoy some eat-age:

010

Falafel balls, veggies with dessert hummus and spicy brown mustard for dipping

Lunch dessert:

012

more greek yogurt lovin’ with a pumpkin muffin, peanut butter, and 1/2 cashew cookie Larabar

Then I headed to the gym for some upper body strength. My goal: 5 sets of each exercise.

  • shoulder press: 5 sets of 8
  • chest press: 5 sets of 8
  • tricep extensions: 5 sets of 8
  • pull ups: 5 sets of 8 
  • followed this some random ad work

Mission accomplished. I was feeling the burn for sure! I hope that upping my sets will help with increasing my strength. I really want to move up in weights but I know I need to be patient and give it time. It takes lots and lots and lots of time to build muscle and I need to get rid of the “I want it now” attitude. Easier said than done, but I’m determined!

post workout grub:

003 (7)

protein brownie batter + fiber one cereal in almond milk.  Protein: check. Carb: check.

Time for work! Off I went to the bank. It was a hoppin’ place today! Although Fridays always are. Makes the time fly right by and that’s the way I like it.

Snackage:

042

My favorite savory snack of the moment is cottage cheese  + black pepper + rye crackers.

and balls:

006 (6)

pb protein balls and make-your-own larabar balls, to be exact. These are the perfect on the go pick-me-up. 🙂

I pre-made a dish for dinner since I would be working later (I always do on Fridays). It was based off this recipe for a Lentil Rice and Sausage Casserole:

008

This dish was from Kalyn’s Kitchen, one of the first blogs I ever read for recipe ideas! I adore Kalyn and her absolutely drool-worthy food creations. I get her newsletter sent to my email and always want to make everything she makes. She is my cooking hero.

I followed her recipe as a guide, but used ground turkey instead of sausage and added in some sauteed mushrooms. It was awesome!!

I was so excited to dig in that apparently my fingers failed at snapping a decent photo of said dinner. But alas, I will show it anyways:

013

the casserole along with steamed broccoli and a sweet potato with peanut butter and cinnamon

Now I’m relaxing and getting ready to start a movie! Jessica, my sister, has one picked out already so I better go see what the pick of the night is.

Don’t worry, I’ve got a Friday night worthy dessert ready to dive into as well…

006 (2)

vanilla casein protein powder mixed with almond milk, with a Vita muffin. Cake and frosting, I tell ya. Cake and frosting. Must. Eat. Now.

This weekend, there is one goal: GET A PROM DRESS. Wish me luck!

How are you celebrating the weekend?

kristi

21 Responses to “Throw your hands up”

  1. Katie April 2, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Love the Dessert! I do a chocolate casein with a banana vitatop!! Yummy!!

    omg I am so excited for you to find a prom dress!! Keep us posted, take pics of the one you pick to if you can! So exciting! What color are you going for?!!

    xoxo ❤

  2. Katie April 2, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Is it only greek yogurt that messes with your stomach, or does cottage cheese and other dairy, like milk, do it too? I notice more discomfort with greek yogurt than anything else, but the others do cause a little bit of bloating. I think I might try a lactase enzyme, but first I am just going to ditch the dairy for a week and see what happens. I don’t want to give it up completely though! 😦

    • Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      I am the same way. Greek yogurt is mainly what causes the problems for me. I don’t want to give up my dairy either so I’m going to try the pills and just see what happens!

  3. lifttorun April 2, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Falafel balls are the best, aren’t they? I haven’t had any in months. It’s about time I go get some.

  4. keepnthefaith April 2, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    Wooo prom dress!!! Make sure you show us pictures 🙂

  5. Jess April 2, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    Enjoy your weekend, love ❤

    All your eats look superb!!

  6. The Teenage Taste April 2, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    Sounds like a great day! Your “lunch dessert” looks delicious. I love yogurt messes!
    Good luck with the prom dress shopping! Have a great weekend! 😀

  7. kbwood April 2, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    AHHH i remember the PROM DAYS! so fun.. and makes me feel old! have a blast and GOOD LUCK with the dress! love those protein balls, how do you make em!? 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      1 cup protein powder
      1 cup peanut butter
      1/4 cup peanut flour
      1/4 cup maple syrup

      roll into balls and stick in fridge! 😀

  8. paijery April 2, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Ahh so jealous of the fage!! And I still need to make that dessert hummus!!!
    Good luck prom dress shopping!! Can’t wait to see what you get 😀

  9. Carlee April 2, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Wait chica!!! How old are you? I thought you were in your twenties! But now that I think of it your only 18- right, right? You look so much older in your side pic though! haha.

    Yes, I take lactaid pills. THEY WORK SO DARN GOOD! I question of I’m lactose intolerant when I have them ( I checked. I am 😉 )! They work so darn amazing! Seriously! Just pop one of those bad boys before you eat dairy and your set!

    • Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

      hehe yep..I will turn 19 in August and start college around the same time. 🙂

      Thanks for the lataid info. I will definitely give them a go!

  10. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope April 2, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    That casserole dish definitely looks fantastic! Have fun getting a dress… I can’t wait to see it! 🙂

  11. movesnmunchies April 2, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    oo yaya for prom!! i LOVE your snackies!! for real.. they are AWESOME! and your meals are so balanced – love it girl!

  12. Coffee&Claptrap April 2, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Your eats are delish!

    I can’t have greek yog since I’m lactose intolerant but I miss it so much! I’d take forever to eat a pot because it’s so darn yum! Really wish I could eat cottage cheese too 😦

    Falafel and humous I have to say is one of my fave combos ever. 😀

  13. Megan @ Oatmeal With Sprinkles April 2, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I get that whole tempting to skip Fridays thing. I’ve avoided senioritis so far! 🙂

    I love yogurt bowls! Yum!

    I need to get a prom dress soon too! I love being a senior!

    Megan

  14. Courtney April 2, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Dairy messes with my tummy too 😦 Try Lactaid pills before you eat it, they work pretty well. And dont you just love prom dress shopping? It’s so fun! 😀

  15. Jenny April 2, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Yummy yogurt bowl and those pb protein balls are calling my name 😉
    Very impressive on your pull ups!! I’ve been trying but they are way tough

    • Sweet Cheeks April 3, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      well they are assisted ones, but hey..I’ll take it!!

  16. katshealthcorner April 3, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Haha, now you have that song in my head!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

