Time to start living

3 Apr

Every morning, I get  a daily meditation sent to my email. I stumbled upon this site: Meditations for Women a few weeks back and it has since become part of my morning routine to read her daily email. It’s quick: only a small paragraph or two, but it really helps to start my day off with positivity, motivation and hope. I highly suggest you subscribe.

Here was what I read today:

“Stop the world and take in the beauty around you.”

Most of us are so involved with the tasks that must be accomplished by tomorrow, that we miss the beauty of today. Loveliness all around us gets taken for granted. We rarely look up from our daily tasks to appreciate the treasures of our environment.

Take a moment from your hectic schedule, and smell the flowers. Watch the graceful soaring of a kite or even marvel at the stars.

You’ll be surprised by the freedom you feel and the peace that it brings to your soul.

Today’s Affirmation: Each day I take a break to appreciate the beauty of my environment.

I don’t know about you, but this one really hit home for me. I am such a type-A personality and am always go, go, go, rushing to check things off my to-do list. Many times I do forget to just slow down and appreciate the moment that I’m in..the now.

So today I’m going to try and put today’s affirmation to work and just enjoy life. No planning, no to-do lists, just living and taking whatever path God leads me to.

I hope you all can take some time to LIVE today, too!

kristi

14 Responses to “Time to start living”

  1. keepnthefaith April 3, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Amen sista!! Its so easy to get wrapped up in the world. We really need to take the time to focus on what truly matters, which is christ!

  2. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope April 3, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Beautiful post! I’m definitely always on the go and tend to plan out my life to have direction and focus. But I’ve learned to work with who I am and still enjoy each and every moment. I’ll schedule a coffee break with a friend, go for long walks outside every day, or just allow myself a BREAK! We all deserve to enjoy the moment at hand and live for right now. 🙂

  3. Katie April 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Awesome outlook Love! I feel like I live this way every day, or at least try to ; ) Sometimes when you try to plan your life too much, you forget to live, lol! Its true though ; ) glad you are just living for the now ; )

  4. movesnmunchies April 3, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    i SO need this! i try hard to live in the moment but sometimes its hard after 17 years of doing it!!. thank you!

  5. lifttorun April 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Great post. (:

  6. Katie April 3, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    🙂 positive post. I am feeling the same way as you!

  7. moveovercelery April 3, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    This is beautiful! I’m all inspired now. 🙂

  8. Megan @ oatmealwithsprinkles April 4, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I am so type A too, I’m terrible at meditating. I can’t focus because I always feel like I need to be doing something more productive, but meditating is important too! Thanks for the recommendation, I’m totally going to subscribe to that email thing!

    Megan

  9. katshealthcorner April 4, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    You said it girl!!!! 😀

  10. kbwood April 4, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    i am SO glad you posted this.. AMEN! you are so awesome .. keep striving towards the Lord girl! Let Him guide you on an adventure!

  11. snackgirlgoeshealthy April 4, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    mmmm! Amen sister!! I totally need to do this! I just go go go and don’t stop to look what God has created! Thanks for the lovely reminder!

  12. Jenny April 5, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I love the positiveness you bring to the table. I love the quote about taking the time to appreciate the beauty around us, I always forget to do that =/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good things come in Three | Sweet Cheeks - April 18, 2011

    […] the daily email I get to start my day off with positivity? I really liked today’s and I wanted to share […]

  2. Encouragement « Sweet Cheeks - July 15, 2011

    […] morning started off by reading my daily meditation that I get every day through email. It’s funny how the majority of the time, it is just what I need to hear and I can relate to […]

Leave a Reply

