Good things come in Three

18 Apr

Hello!

Remember the daily email I get to start my day off with positivity? I really liked today’s and I wanted to share it:

Enjoy What REALLY Matters.

“Slow down and enjoy the things that really matter.”

Is your Outbox being squeezed shut by all the “to-dos” in your Inbox? Do you feel like there is not enough time in the day to get everything done? If so, it’s time to simplify your life.

When you do, you have more time for the things that are important to you, like reading, traveling, entertaining, exercising, visiting with friends, etc.

Look for ways to simplify your daily chores. It can be done through better organization, changing some old habits, simply saying, “No,” or, even asking for help.

Slowing down is something you need to do, for your physical, mental and emotional health. So, take it slow – and enjoy!

Today’s Affirmation: I’m taking care of my physical, mental and emotional health.

I think it’s a great reminder for all of us!

 

Lately I have felt like I’ve gotten into a bit of a rut with my strength training. I have been doing the same things over and over again and it’s time to switch things up and keep my muscles guessing. Well, thanks to Oxygen Mag, I tried out a new method: Tri-Sets.

Tri-sets are similar to supersets except you do three different exercises back to back to back without any rest in between. Oxygen had two great shoulder trios and I did the first one yesterday:

Workout #1

Front Dumbbell Raise:

Arnold Dumbbell Press:

Lateral Dumbbell Raise

Perform each tri-set 3-4 times through. I did 4 sets and my arms were successfully jelly upon finishing.

Workout #2

Upright Dumbbell Row:

Front Overhead Dumbbell Press:

Shoulder Dumbbell

Reverse Dumbbell Fly:

The article claims the following benefits of Tri-sets:

  • By saving the rest period for the end of each tri-set, you will add efficiency to your workout by reducing your training time.
  • You will break through plateaus by confusing your muscles with constant force and angle adjustments.
  • Speedy sets will result in more calories burned, and will also bring your deltoids close to a failure state for strength and size increases.
  • You will increase muscular endurance by forcing the target muscles to perform for longer periods of time.

I really like this method! I’m excited to try the second workout and also plan on making up my own tri-set versions for other body parts.

EATS:

004

blueberry chocolate protein oats. (1/2 cup oatbran cooked cooked in 1 cup water and 1/2 cup egg whites. sun warrior protein cream on top and bloobs mixed in)

002

strawberry shake (1 cup Silk unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 cup strawberries, 1 scoop protein powder, ice, xanthan gum)

003

Stirfy: (frozen veggie stirfry mix, asparagus, onion, edamame, beans, sweet potato and seitan. sauce made of peanut butter, liquid aminos, water, garlic, and sesame seed oil)

002

egg white omelet with laughing cow cheese and jam, spelt toast with my favorite hummus, and veg plus brown mustard.

004 (6)

cottage cheese with carob chips and peanut butter.

005

I got this huge case of medjool dates at Sam’s last weekend. I am in love!! These are the perfect thing to cure any sweet tooth. I highly recommend stuffing them with nut butter…it ups the delicious factor by a billion!

What is your favorite way to use dates?

Have you tried a new workout method lately?

Lets make it a great week! I’ll be back on Wednesday to join in on the fun and participate in WIAW (What I ate Wednesday.)

Kristi

16 Responses to “Good things come in Three”

  1. Katie April 18, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Hi love!!! I love all these moves! I just got new weights for our fitness room , so I was rocking out some of these moves yesterday! I love the arnold presses ; )

    I know dates are good for making yummy things, I just don’t know what! lol!

    Happy Monday!!!

    xoxo ❤

  2. applesnoats April 18, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    fav way: homemade larabars!
    I have been trying to mix up my strength training by doing three sets of 5 excercises with HITT treadmill intervals in between each set….i feel so exhausted by the end so hopefully it’s doing something

    • Sweet Cheeks April 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      I want to try that workout method soon. Sounds challenging!

  3. keepnthefaith April 18, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I love arm workouts!! Probably my favorite body part to work 🙂 I will most definitely be giving this a go this week!! Thanks for sharing love 🙂

  4. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope April 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    That stir fry looks so good! Love all the veggies! And medjool dates are awesome chopped up in oats, or sliced open and stuffed with almond butter like you mentioned. Happy Monday! 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks April 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      why didn’t I think of oats?! Will be doing that soon!

  5. katshealthcorner April 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I love all of those trisets!!! They are AWESOME! 😀

  6. movesnmunchies April 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    oo trisets sound great!! kind of how jillian does things- NO REST, which i LOVE!!! oo i rarely have dates but ive sen the almond butter filled dates with choc chips everywhere!

  7. Jess April 18, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I need to buy some dates!! I’ve heard they’re BOMB w/ nut butter in between.

  8. Jenny April 18, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    I’ve never had dates before 😦 I love working my arms with bent over rows and now I’m really trying to work on my pull ups. Gotta get strong 😉 Those oats look delish 😀

  9. lifttorun April 19, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    I rarely eat dates. I don’t like them that much.

    Lately I have just been upping my weights in my lifting instead of doing a new workout.

  10. Jen@jensdaily April 19, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I love all of those moves, and I do them all with the workout program I use. The reverse flys get me every.single.time!

  11. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! April 20, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    That tri set thing is so interesting! I have definitely got to try that! Can’t wait till WIAW….I think I’m gonna participate this week too! Should be fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You know you’re a health nut when… | Sweet Cheeks - April 22, 2011

    […] I had a really great workout, including workout #2 of tri-sets, and a 30 minute incline walk/run on the treadmill. This morning I planned out a circuit but my […]

  2. Ice Cream for Breakfast | Sweet Cheeks - May 12, 2011

    […]  Tri-set shoulder workout #2 from this post, 4 sets […]

  3. WIAW: featuring the carob monster | Sweet Cheeks - May 25, 2011

    […] an upper body workout including shoulder tri-sets, push-ups, bench triceps dips, and shrugs. Followed with some leisurely elliptical-ing while […]

Leave a Reply

