2011 Summer Plans and Goals

16 May

Happy Monday and welcome to a brand new week!

This week will mark yet another milestone for me, in that it is my final week of high school. I take my finals on Thursday, have graduation practice on Friday, then actual graduation and graduation party on Sunday. Lots of things to do and I’m so excited!

I thought it would be a fitting time to talk about what I would like to accomplish this summer. Since I won’t be spending day in and day out at work anymore, I will have much more time to focus on things that I want to do. You know, the things that you have always thought about doing, but put on the back-burner because you don’t thing you could possibly juggle one more thing. Well here I have this great opportunity to be able to explore whatever it is my heart desires. Here is a list I’ve started to put together of what I would like to see happen:

Summer Plans and Goals 2011

 

Read More. Obviously, I do a lot of reading in regards to blogs and school but I honestly can not remember the last time I have picked up a book to read for fun. I used to be a HUGE reader when I was younger, but life got busy and the books went right out the window. I want to get back to reading for enjoyment.

Yoga/Meditation. A few days ago, I did a yoga dvd and realized how much I need it in my life. I hold onto a lot of stress and anxiety and this just melts it all away. Yoga and meditation will provide me with much needed balance and stress relief to keep me feeling sane even when things get hectic.

Try New Fitness Classes. This is one goal that I have wanted to work on for a long time now. Fitness classes provide a great change of pace to your usual exercise routine and it is a great way to meet new people who have similar health/fitness interests. I am going to get a list of all the class schedules from my gym this week and get my bum in gear!

Do Fun Stuff with the Blog. This blog has become an important part of my life and I hope it continues to thrive as I go along. I am definitely excited to finally be able to devote more to it this Summer, and hopefully help people who want to get healthier. I would love to include more recipes, reviews, giveaways, challenges, etc. I’m up for anything so let me know what you would like to see!

Babysit. Like I said, I won’t be working all the time, but I do have some jobs to keep some moolah flowing in. I have two families that I will be babysitting occasionally but really, that is more fun than work to me!

Work at the Salon. Most of you know what I also work at a hair salon as a receptionist, just a few hours a week since I was 16. It is more like a family there so I would never leave them if I had a choice! Of course, I will be come this fall when I move away for college…but this Summer I will continue to work my few hours a week.

Cook and Bake Up A Storm Before I  Live in the Dorms. Well I don’t need to tell you all how much I LOVE to cook and bake and just be in the kitchen in general…so I’m not exactly thrilled about the whole dorm room situation, but I will try to make the best of it! In the meantime I am going to enjoy my kitchen here at home as much as possible before moving away. Except lots of foodie goodness this Summer!

Grow My Own Kombucha: I like many others, have fallen in love with Kombucha, but NOT the price tag that comes with it.  I know Lindsay and Averie are pros at making their own, and I really want to see if I can work my own Kombucha magic. Let’s hope I don’t make myself sick!

Vacation. I’m really hoping my sister, mom, and I can put together a nice little getaway somewhere this Summer. Currently there is nothing planned, but I’ve got my fingers crossed. 🙂

Friends and Family. This one is especially important since I will be moving out to go to college in August. I’m thrilled that I will have much free time to spend with the people I care about.

I may add things to this list as they come to mind, but I think I’ve got a good start. I’m definitely looking forward to each one!

On the food front…

Things started off nicely here this morning with some OIAJ.

014

1/2 cup oats cooked with 1/2 cup egg whites, almond milk, and water, plus 1 scoop Life’s Basics protein powder and a whole lotta peanut butta lovin’.

004

I’ve also been adding VIA instant coffee packets to my oats. Soooo good and the perfect boost for those early mornings.

001

Cabbage plate! a whole bag of shredded cabbage sauteed in Bragg’s liquid aminos and sesame oil, with baby sea scallops, avocado, kale, and a sauce made from silken tofu, nooch, almond milk, seasonings and sea salt.

003

Saucey.

005

I tried a new recipe, courtesy of Ali, former Biggest Loser winner, for a Mango Quinoa salad. Check it out, it’s good stuff.

001 (2)

pretty plate full of vegan goodness: crumbled homemade bean burger, quinoa mixed with nutritional yeast, and smothered with tomato paste.

003

The typical squash boat. I still eat one of these at least once a week! I ❤ squash. a whole spaghetti squash stuffed with tilapia, whole wheat sweet potato gnocchi, and the same silken tofu cream sauce as mentioned above.

001 (4)

Just a small snack plate consisting of almonds, an orange, and carrots with dessert hummus.

007

I love Deb’s microwave muffins! I like to make mine with applesauce (since I can’t find any more pumpkin cans anywhere!) and for the flour I have been using half peanut flour and half quinoa flour. They are delish.

009

Homemade banana bread crumbled atop some protein pudding~ 1/2 chocolate casein and 1/2 Life’s Basics protein mixed with almond milk.

I made the best banana bread to date. I will recap that amazing-ness in my next post!

008

probiotic lovin’. The middle one is a new one I saw at the health food store and decided to give it a go. It is mixed with coconut water so I had a hunch I just may love it. Well, I was right. 😀 It tasted like a tropical dream. I will definitely be purchasing again!

I’ve got school knocked out of the way with for today and I’m going to try to find a dress for graduation next weekend. I’ve been on the hunt, but no such luck yet. Keep your fingers crossed that I find something today!

What are your plans this Summer?

What is your favorite vacation spot?

 

Kristi

24 Responses to “2011 Summer Plans and Goals”

  1. movesnmunchies May 16, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    i frekin love ur goals and i KNOW you will accomplish them! i need to read more too… eep! AHHH so exciting this is your last weeK!

  2. Lisa (I'm an Okie) May 16, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I’m always amazed when I hear that you are still in highschool (well, not anymore) because you seem so on your game. I was nowhere near this figured out or healthy when I was that age. You rock! 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks May 16, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      I guess thats just where my type A personality comes into play! Thanks Lisa!

  3. kaila @ healthy helper! May 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I love ALL of this!!! I pretty much want to do all of this this summer to! I definitely want to do some fun stuff with my blog! I never have time during the year but I can’t wait to spend some time on it once school is over! Congrats on graduating super soon!!!

  4. Jenny May 16, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    I love how you have so many awesome goals, I don’t remember the last time I picked up a book either! I would love to get into meditation, I think it’s so great for the body and mind 🙂

  5. Coffee&Claptrap May 16, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    When I have oats I add coffee granules to it, it’s like a yummy coffee pudding and leaves me buzzing like a bee 😀

    Plans this Summer are a girls holiday to Greece, uh ohhhh.

  6. Priyanka May 17, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I don’t have any plans this summer, I am just going to work hard so I can graduate from grad school as soon as possible.

    Favorite vacation destination: Hawaii. I would like to go to New Zealand or Bahamas.

  7. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) May 17, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Wow, you’re gonna be graduating so soon! Enjoy your last week of high school!
    Love all your goals!

  8. Jess May 17, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    One of my goals is to try new fitness classes too!! I also need a job..hehe.

    I LOVE your eats. Seriously. come cook for me.
    I MUST get a spaghetti squash. I have some chicken sausages that would be perfect paired with some red sauce in the “boat!”

    • Sweet Cheeks May 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      chicken sausage tastes fabulous in squash boats! You will love it.

  9. applesnoats May 17, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    love your goals….i really want to make kombucha also!!!
    and your eats are flippin incredible….sghetti boat+salad+banana bread=dreamy

  10. lifttorun May 17, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    I’ll be glad to eat that squash for you. Hahaa.

    I don’t really have a favorite vacation spot since I never go on vacations. I want to go to California though.

  11. teeneatlive May 17, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Thanks for stoppin by my blog earlier! Your goals look fabulous! I cant believe you get out of school so soon….im in until late June…ugh 😦 i feel a little weird asking this but is kombucha good? ive seen it EVERYWHERE and i cant bring myself to try it yet…

    • Sweet Cheeks May 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      Kombucha is definitely an aquired taste but I LOVE it!

  12. mindrunningwild May 17, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    This summer I’m a camp counselor!! I’m so psyched!!
    and you’re right to cook up a storm before college- you’ll miss it like whoa.
    favorite vacay spot = definiately Europe!
    I LOVE spaghetti squash so much. and making sauce out of tofu. I recently made something with it and I’d forgotten how much I love the stuff.

  13. Jenna May 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    What a great list! I’m gonna make myself one now too! Hehe

  14. katshealthcorner May 23, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I love babysitting!! 🙂

    I’m like you — I really need to start reading BOOKS more!!

  15. Julia May 27, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    Hi, I’m a new reader, and I love your blog! I just moved out of the dorms, and it really was hard work to eat healthy in the cafeteria. Make sure to stock up on lots of healthy snacks to keep in your room!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make this banana bread NOW! | Sweet Cheeks - May 17, 2011

    […] Sweet Cheeks Just another WordPress.com weblog Skip to content HomeAboutContactRecipes ← 2011 Summer Plans and Goals […]

  2. Wordless WIAW | Sweet Cheeks - May 18, 2011

    […] bowl: spinach, mmm sauce, balsamic, quinoa mango salad, falafel balls, almond cheddar […]

  3. I want to swim in it. | Sweet Cheeks - May 20, 2011

    […] Kindle!!! In my defense, it does go right along with one of my Summer Goals.  I’m going to be readin’ up a storm! Anybody else have […]

  4. The Importance of Rest | Sweet Cheeks - May 29, 2011

    […] do some light yoga or meditation, which would fit perfectly into my Summer Goals […]

Leave a Reply

