Make this banana bread NOW!

17 May

Not to be bossy or anything (who, me?!) but ya’ll really need to get on this recipe asap if you haven’t already…

I decided to give Allie’s Avocado Banana Bread a whirl last weekend and it is seriously phenomenal.

006

Who would have thought that this avocado would be the key to perfect banana bread:

004

Thick, doughy, creamy perfection! I made a few changes to her recipe. Here’s the down low:

Ingredients:

  • 2 extra ripe bananas
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup oat flour (just grind some oats in a food processor)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup protein powder
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • stevia extract, to taste

Directions:

1. mash bananas and avocado together

2. combine all other wet ingredients with banana/avocado.

3. combine dry ingredients, then fold into wet  ingredients.

4. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes, depending on your oven.

Ahhhh I die. So like I said, GO MAKE THIS!!!

It is awesome all on it’s own, but I’ve also been using it as a topping for anything and everything…

Like protein pudding:

009

And oats:

002

This morning’s breakfast of 1/2 cup oats cooked in 1 cup water and 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 tbsp chia seeds, Lifes Basics protein powder, frozen bloobs, cinnamon, and topped with coconut butter and of course the banana bread!

For a workout today I did another round of Fitnessista’s Spring Legs Workout. My legs have been loving it! I was in a rut with leg workouts, doing the same thing over and over again. This was the perfect circuit-style workout to get me out of my funk!

It contains the following:

1. Split squat (12-15 on each side)

2. Jump squats (pyramid style, as demonstrated in the video)

3. Calf raises (15)

4. Bench hip raise (hold a plate to make it more challenging- 15)

5. Jumping lunges (30 seconds)

6. Sumo deadlift (Can use dumbbells instead of the barbell 12-15)

I completed the circuit 3 times through and followed it with a light breezy 20 minute jog.

Refuelll time:

004

A huge post-workout shake consisting of:

1 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup water, 1 serving protein powder, frozen strawberries, ice, 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, a few scoops of dry oats, and a pinch of xanthan and guar gum (for creaminess!)

My new favorite addition to protein shakes is dry oats. It gives the shake a nice nutty flavor and adds great texture. Plus, it provides a great source of healthy carbs that are much needed after a good workout. Win win.

Last night’s dinner was on the vegan side of things. It just randomly threw some stuff together and it turned out to be just what I wanted:

001

Broccoli with smart balance butta, quinoa mango salad, falafel balls, and fresh tomato slices

But my metabolism has been on fire lately and I needed more fuelage. Protein pancakes to the rescue:

043

1/3 cup egg white
1/3 cup lowfat cottage cheese
1/6 cup coconut flour
1/6 cup oat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 scoop vanilla Sun Warrior

And here’s a pic of my nails after my mani-pedi date with my sister last weekend…I went a little on the unusual side:

018 (2)

016

Shimmery gold and one purple on each hand. The lady convinced me that this was “the cool thing to do.” Haha, I was easily convinced. My toenails are that same dark purple color. It was fun to spend an afternoon getting pampered. A girl could get used to that!

The plan for today is to start studying for finals. Today and tomorrow are devoted to that, and then I will go to my very last day of high school on Thursday to take my last tests!

P.S. Thanks for the comments on my Summer Plans post. I’m planning on enjoying every second! 😀

Have a great day!

kristi

22 Responses to “Make this banana bread NOW!”

  1. movesnmunchies May 17, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    ahah i love the nails!! and woah avo in nanner bread?! i for sure wud never try it! sounds amazing tho after u say how good it is!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 17, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      it makes it sooo creamy and rich thanks to avocado’s healthy fats!

  2. keepnthefaith May 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Mmmm that banana bread sounds incredible!! Workout looks great. I love working my legs 🙂

  3. Alexandra May 17, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    When I saw the avocado, I honestly did a double take haha Who would’ve thought!
    That gold nail polish is amazing! I’m such a sucker for sparkly stuff 😀
    Good luck on all of your exams and yay for the end of high school!!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I looove gold nail polish! It’s so great for summer!

  5. julie May 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    you’re totally right about adding oats to smoothies! it gives it such an awesome grainy texture 🙂

    that avacado banana bread sounds and looks DELICIOUS! i’m for sure bookmarking this recipe! i bet it tastes amazing toasted with some chunky peanut butter schmears!

  6. Jenny May 17, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    I’ve never thought to make bread with avocados but I have seen lots of dessert recipes with them. Love the nails, so much glitter! 😀

  7. paoang May 17, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Omg! Avocado in banana bread is GENIUS! I must try that out ASAP!
    And I’m so happy you are almost done with school…two more days and you’re FREE! Didn’t this year fly by?!

    Btw, thank you so much for the post you wrote on change. Everything it says is totally true! I’ve been coping better 🙂
    I love your nails!

    xoxo

    • Sweet Cheeks May 17, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      I’m so glad you read the ‘change’ post!! I thought of you immediately. And yes this year definitely flew by…but now we are both on to bigger and better things! 🙂

  8. applesnoats May 17, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    that banana bread looks fantastic…what flavor protein powder did you use?
    also your nails look purty!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      I used plain protein powder from True Protein this time around, but any flavor would be great. Chocolate would be a fun twist!

  9. Priyanka May 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Love the bread and the surprise addition of avocado is interesting!

  10. Jess May 17, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    ALMOST at the end–YOU CAN DO ITTTTT 😀 Keep pushing on, you’re SO close.

    LOVIN’ those eats–that bread looks DELISH!!

  11. lifttorun May 18, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    I am so doing that workout tomorrow. It looks killer.
    And I love your nails! So pretty. I can’t remember the last time I got mine done.

    • Sweet Cheeks May 18, 2011 at 1:41 am #

      I don’t get mine done very often either but it’s fun every now and then!

  12. Kayla May 18, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    YESS! I made that avocado banana bread a few months ago, it is soooo GOOD! I love Allie’s recipes!

  13. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) May 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    That banana bread sounds really interesting! Who would have ever thought to add avocado?! Sounds neat!

    Love your nails!

  14. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) May 18, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    P.S. I have a giveaway on my blog for NuNaturals products – NuStevia Packets and NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia Liquid – if you or any of your readers are interested. (Giveaway ends today!)

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/?p=15878

    Thanks!

  15. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking May 18, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Oh that bread looks awesome. Looking forward to trying it!

  16. Hungry Dancer May 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Loving the nails!! I think one different color nail is awesome!

  17. katshealthcorner May 23, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    That is absolutely AWESOME!!! Avocados in Banana Bread?!?!?! That is SO COOL! You are such a smartie. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wordless WIAW | Sweet Cheeks - May 18, 2011

    […] Sweet Cheeks Just another WordPress.com weblog Skip to content HomeAboutContactRecipes ← Make this banana bread NOW! […]

Leave a Reply

