I want to swim in it.

20 May

Now there was some kind of important news that I had to share with you all today. What could that be? Ohhh yeah, I finished high school yesterday. No big deal or anything…:D Finals are taken, graduation practice done this morning, and now I just have to show up on Sunday to get my diploma. Sweeeeet!

Upon getting home from school, I felt the need to treat myself for all my hard work I put in this school year…So this happened…

A Kindle!!! In my defense, it does go right along with one of my Summer Goals.  I’m going to be readin’ up a storm! Anybody else have one??

Yesterday I had some free time in the afternoon so I decided that it was time to finally concur making homemade almond butter. I have tried several times in the past but it never got to be that silky creaminess that I desired. Maybe I gave up too soon, I’m not sure. But with plenty of time on my hands this time around I was not giving in!

First of all, the secret is roasting the nuts beforehand. It makes them break apart so much easier in the food processor! So took 2 cups of raw almonds and spread them out on a baking sheet and covered them with a bit of molasses and pure maple syrup…probably a tbsp or two total. Then I stirred them around real good and stuck them in the oven at 375 for about 15-20 minutes, stirring every 5-10 minutes to make sure they don’t burn.

Let them cool, then plop them in the food processor…

017

And be PATIENT! I know..It’s hard. All together mine probably took about 20-ish minutes. I had to just walk away several times. Scrape down the sides occasionally and just keep waiting…until out of nowhere something magical happens and you get THIS:

018

The silky, creamy dream that you ever-so-badly desired. I’m not gonna lie; it was a proud moment. I wanted to swim in it.

019

Plop it in your own container and you’re good to go! After copious dips straight out of them jar, make a snack with it:

009

But also include some peanut butter because you are extremely indecisive and also because you don’t want any of your nut butters to feel left out.  And lastly plan out 1,694,383 different flavor combos for your next nut butter making attempts.

I’m hooked. 🙂 And now I’m off to devour this Lunch Plate

006

fresh green beans, baby carrots, hummus/salsa dipping sauce, sliced apple, crockpot shredded chicken, and spelt toast with peanut butter

And this Lunch Dessert

003

microwave muffin: 2 egg whites, 1 tbsp peanut flour, 1 tbsp quinoa flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup applesauce, dash of stevia, maple extract, cinnamon, and dark chocolate in the middle

And later on after my strength workout, try About Time Protein Powder that I received in the mail:

008

Flavors: Birthday Cake and Cinnamon Swirl…and a sample of their protein bar!

So now that high school is officially over, I’ve got a college-related question to end with: What are your thoughts on Sororities? I’ve been going back and worth on whether I want to attend Rush Week and meet all the different ones. Many people have told me it is a great way to meet people and make friends but I’m not sure if it’s for me. Thoughts? Experiences?

Have a great Friday!!!

Kristi

24 Responses to “I want to swim in it.”

  1. applesnoats May 20, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    ahh I just got my about time in too …they are already gone haha!
    congrats on graduation

  2. movesnmunchies May 20, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    i LOVE sororities i wna go to one so bad!! im SO Jealous u r done with highschool! GAH i have ONE MORE YEAR!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 20, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      I didn’t know that Carrie! I thought you were a senior! Ah well, senior year is fun, you will enjoy it. 😀

  3. Katherine May 20, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    NomNomNom! Send me some? K, thanks 😀

    (FYI I am holding a Stevivia giveaway on my blog if you want to get in on it 😀 )

  4. Alexandra May 20, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I would want to swim in it too haha It looks so yummy! 😛
    Congrats on finally being done, woohoo! You’ll definitely have to do some major celebrating this weekend! I always wanted to try out a kindle since I’m a book-loving freak haha, I’ve heard great stuff about it. You’ll have to give us a review in the future!

  5. lindsay May 20, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    happy friday indeed! i want a kindle, very useful!

  6. Jess May 20, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    I was Greek for my first three semesters of college! School picked up and I needed serious study time with my major- there were events every day/ night and we got fined for them if we didn’t show up! Trust me, you will NOT want to go to every single frat party/swap/philanthropy event past your first semester! It gets really old (especially if you aren’t a partier, I wasn’t and i hated going out all the time), and college is wayyy more difficult & time consuming! But that being said, I have a great bond with all my sisters, and oh my gosh, all the closets to choose from! I never had to repeat an outfit : ) definitely go through Rush, it is THE best way to meet new girls, especially the group that you go to each house with (usually alphabetical by last name, we called them Rho Chi groups). Such a good experience! Congrats on graduation!

  7. paoang May 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    CONGRATS ON FINISHING HIGH SCHOOL!!!!
    I’M SO GLAD SUMMER IS FINALLY HERE FOR YOU!

    And the Kindle rocks! My friends has one and she’s hooked! And I agree- homemade nut butter is time consuming indeed. But yours looks amazing ♥

  8. Jenny May 20, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Congrats on graduating!!! Time flies girl. Enjoy your summer vacation 🙂

  9. Katie May 20, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    CONGRATS love!!!

    I love my kindle!!! U will love yours!!!!!

    Muah! Happy Weekend beautiful!!!

  10. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) May 21, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Congrats on finishing high school! Have fun reading books on the Kindle! Great present!

    The homemade almond butter looks amazing!

  11. lifttorun May 21, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    I want to try About Time Protein Powder so badly. It looks so good. I need some.

  12. Jess May 21, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    CONGRATS!!!

    I’ve heard that protein powder is fantastic.. 😀

  13. whitney May 21, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    I was in a sorority(ZTA). it took up a lot of my time. I loved it though and would do it all again.

  14. kbwood May 21, 2011 at 5:33 am #

    congrats my love!!!!!!! i think u should def rush and pray/seek about what to do! there may be some AWESOME/solid/uplifting girls in a sorority that you need to join. on the other hand, be careful! you can get sweeped up into the “sorority girl” scene very fast. some girls are SUCH innocent girls before they join a sorority and then go to the frat parties and make irreversible bad decisions and then it becomes a habit/lifestyle for them and turns into a vicious cycle. im NOT saying that sororities are bad!!!!!!!! i have some BEST friends in some! just make sure its the right thing for YOU and that you have uplifting girls surrounding you!

  15. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 21, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Why does homemade nut butter always looks so much more delicious!?! Yours looks super drippy and yummy! AAAH I really want to make some now! And I love that snacky lunch plate you made…I make stuff like that all the time!

  16. teeneatlive May 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    Congrats on finishing high school! I still have 3 years to go 😦 I always have snacky lunch plates like you!

  17. Kayla May 22, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    I know you posted this a few days ago, but I just came across your blog! I just finished my freshman year of college and was having the SAME debate you are a year ago! I ended up rushing, and absolutely LOVE it. It definitely keeps you busy, but you really can be as involved as you want to. For me, I HATE being inactive and the thought of sitting in a tiny dorm room all day just killed me! And it REALLY doesn’t take up that much time…I was able to balance Kappa Delta along with working at a frozen yogurt place (can i just say we got FREE froyo every shift?!) and classes. For my school, the University of Arkansas, it is SO GREEK and rush week was before school started, so we were able to get used to the campus and make friends early so that, on the first day of classes, we weren’t struggling trying to find someone to sit by! The girls really do become your sisters and my funnest memories from this year come from different functions we had and sisterhood events (just shopping or movies or WHATEVER). Id really really recommend it. It makes homesickness disappear and gives you sisters you can truly count on!

    Just some food for thought 🙂

  18. The Teenage Taste May 22, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I’m totally jealous of you for being finished with finals, graduation, and high school already! I still have a month of school left, finals, and I’m only a freshman! Haha.
    Have a great weekend! 😀

  19. Katherine May 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    NomNomNom! I have been killing the nananers and PB!

    I know that this might not be proper, but I am very desperate and I just am needing to reach out to the blogging community. Please read this blog-the second issue addressed-to understand. http://divinelyvegan.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/very-important-post-help-needed/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW: featuring the carob monster | Sweet Cheeks - May 25, 2011

    […] milk yogurt. (which by the way my stomach tolerates very well. yippee!) I made the blondies with my homemade maple almond butter. […]

  2. Friday Faves | Sweet Cheeks - May 27, 2011

    […] Via my new Kindle. The verdict? I love it! I need some good book recs though! Hook a sister up with some ideas…pretty please?! […]

  3. Just for kicks | Sweet Cheeks - May 31, 2011

    […] did have enough energy to make another round of homemade nut butter […]

Leave a Reply

