WIAW: featuring the carob monster

25 May

Happy Wednesday! It’s time for another…

Miss my graduation picture re-cap? Read it HERE! Thanks for all the compliments! It feels amazing and very freeing to be done.

I’ve got a new favorite pre-workout bite!

003

BALLZ. Check out Megan’s recipe. These babies are the perfect pre-workout fuel and the nutritional stats are stellar. They give me the perfect boost and keep me from getting hungry during a workout while at the same time not weighing me down. I used Life’s Basics vegan vanilla protein powder in them.

>Insert an upper body workout including shoulder tri-sets, push-ups, bench triceps dips, and shrugs. Followed with some leisurely elliptical-ing while watching some good ol’ trashy tv…MTV’s finest of course.

Post Workout Fuel:

008

giant shake~1 cup almond milk, 1 serving About Time protein powder, 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder, stevia, maple extract, ice, guar and xanthan gum. Overnight chia oats topped with sliced banana and all natural peach jam.

002

Didn’t hate this protein powder one bit. I also didn’t really notice a huge difference between it and my usual protein powders some True Protein…which happens to be cheaper. So the question becomes, is it really worth the extra money? Well…seeing as they do have a new peanut butter flavor, it could VERY well be worth the extra cha-ching. Money aside, it is a solid choice and I love that it’s sweetened with stevia, instead of other artificial crap. Two thumbs up.

Lunch was in a container, which for whatever reason is my favorite way to eat things. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I will have one less dish to clean?

013

green lentil/quinoa/balsamic combo in the Sabra hummus container topped with silken tofu sauce (blended with Bragg’s liquid aminos, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, parsely)

^^^equation for a massive, beautiful foooood baby.

Lunch part two!

013

I definitely jumped on the blondie bandwagon and these snickerdoodle ones did not disappoint, especially paired with some goat’s milk yogurt. (which by the way my stomach tolerates very well. yippee!) I made the blondies with my homemade maple almond butter. MMMM!

Afternoon Snackage:

004 

wasa rye crackers with a 1/2 cup egg-white puff and salsa on top

009 

peanut flour cake with peanut flour, almond milk, applesauce, stevia, sea salt. topped with pb and cherry jam

Dinner: I was feeling the green power, so I went double or nothing…

001

kale chips (olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, nooch) lean turkey burger with soy cheese, avocado, and tomato

003 (3)

torn spinach massaged with more avocado, lemon juice, and S&P.

Evening Snackage:

006

Deb’s protein muffin made with applesauce, peanut flour, oatbran, carob powder and carob chips in the center. pb on top…duh. Plus many carob chip handfuls…double duh. 😀

Which brings me to my new love…

012 (6)

Carob! I’ve got the chips AND the powder, so watch out…there’s going to be a carob bake-a-thon going down in the kitch pronto. I’ve turned into a carob monster…

Ok, your turn…best thing you ate today? It’s a tie between the snickerdoodle blondies and the carob fest. Deeeelish.

I’m off to play with my new toy…IT came today. *squeals with joy*

 

Kristi

27 Responses to “WIAW: featuring the carob monster”

  1. chocolate katie May 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Aww I’m so honored/excited you made the blondies! 🙂

  2. Megan @vegetarianrhapsody May 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I made Katies cookie dough dip! It was phenomenal!
    I love kale chips- so crispy!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 25, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      I still need to try the dip. I’m sure it will not disappoint!

  3. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen May 25, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Can I please just say that that goat’s milk yogurt is my favorite yogurt of all time? Since it’s more expensive I tend to hoard it and just have a nibble here and there to savor. 🙂

    Does that protein supplement really taste like birthday cake?

    • Sweet Cheeks May 25, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Yes it is expensive unfortunately. I only get it every once in a while, too. The protein powder definitely has a cake-ish flavor and scent!

  4. movesnmunchies May 25, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    DANG! u get up to awesome eats!!! esp ur oats! cuz of course i love em! and those balls look and sound great!!! i do like carob! not LOVE but like!!

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I am a TOTAL carob monster too! I LOVE IT! I have made so many recipes using it and it is literally one of my favorite things to bake with!

  6. applesnoats May 25, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    oh oh oh now that I have peanut flour I really need to make some of your little cakes!
    i’m so excited about the peanut butter flavor..why hasn’t anyone else come up with that flavor yet?crazies!

  7. Katherine May 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Ok, that is it. I am going to have to join the WIAW bandwagon!

  8. Karina May 25, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    im really interested to see what you do with the carob powder….i have a whole bag that ive hardly used bc it tastes so strange but maybe im not using it the right way

  9. teeneatlive May 25, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I just made Katie’s blondies too! They were delicious! That protein powder looks good……did it actually taste like cake? Oh, and congrats on graduating! 😀

    • Sweet Cheeks May 25, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

      It has a bit of a cake flavor, but I wouldn’t say that I actually felt like i was eating cake, if that makes sense! It is definitely good though!

  10. lifttorun May 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I love eating my meals out of a container. I don’t know why, but it is so much more fun.

    Best thing I have had today was a coffee nutrition bar.

  11. lunabites May 25, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    I am such a carob fan ! I cannot wait to see what you do with it , so I can copy-cat ! xox

  12. katshealthcorner May 25, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    I LOVE CAROB!!!! 🙂

    Girl, you have some good eats! YUM!

  13. Jenn @ Peas & Crayons May 26, 2011 at 12:48 am #

    omgggggg your lunch! I need that combo in my life! stat! ❤ I've been eating a lot of things out of their containers lately too! its the blog thing to do eh? =) hehe! Happy WIAW girl!

  14. IHeartVegetables May 26, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    Woahhh nice! I literally JUST tried Deb’s protein muffin today! Except I didn’t add carob chips… but I think I should have! Amazingness 🙂

  15. Katie May 26, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Loving the protein muffin!! Love the wiaw! Love u!!

  16. Megan@eatmybeets May 26, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    Wow thanks sooo much for the shout out!! I’m so happy that you like the protein balls! I’ve actually had that brand (about time whey) open in a tab on my browser “to buy.” I saw it on another blog and I love the small ingredient list and the stevia-sweetened aspect. So you say it’s pretty much what you expected?

    • Sweet Cheeks May 26, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      I love the ingredient list, too. You won’t be disappointed if decide to try it!

  17. Jenny May 26, 2011 at 3:21 am #

    Your WIAW is great, your oats always look so freaking yummy! Love the protein muffin too 🙂

  18. Jess May 26, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    LOVIN’ the eats, as I usually do 😉 Love that meal in a sabra container, very effective!

    Enjoy the rest of your week! It’s my last days of school todayyyy, HOLLA!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Weeeednesday! | Sweet Cheeks - June 1, 2011

    […] <insert pre workout ball! […]

  2. It’s Weeednesday! | Sweet Cheeks - June 1, 2011

    […] <insert pre workout ball!  […]

Leave a Reply

