Friday Faves

27 May

Haaaappy Friday!!!

Lots going on this weekend as my cousin is getting married tomorrow! Our whole family is flying in for the big sha-bang.

I’m kind of “iffy” about weddings. On one hand, they are beautiful and sentimental…on the other hand, they have a way of highlighting the fact that I’m single in every possible angle. Might as well plaster it on my forehead. Meh. But lets keep things positive here…I am very happy for these two and hope that their day is very special tomorrow!

 

Friday Favs:

Iced Coffee

006

Averie and I had the same thing on our minds today. I go through phases with coffee, but right now we are lovers. My favorite combo for the Spring/Summer couldn’t be any easier: 1 tbsp instant coffee crystals dissolved in a cup of hot water. Pour into a large mug filled with ice cubes. Stir in 1 packet of stevia.

A Workout That Leaves You Shakin’

Back Biceps Abs Day!

  • Mid Row
  • Low Row
  • Lat Pulldowns
  • Preacher Curls
  • Barbell Curls
  • Captain’s Chair Leg Raises
  • Oblique Side Bends

With HEAVY weights of course. 🙂

refuel time:

004

The Shake and Oat combo is back in full force!

Shake: 1 scoop Life’s Basics protein, 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup water, spinach, ice, maple extract, cocoa powder, guar and xanthan gum, pinch of stevia.

Oats: 1/2 cup made with water and cinnamon and topped with mapley goodness!

Peanut Buttery Bread

013

This loaf doesn’t have a chance against my belly. Enough said.

Brightly Colored VEG!

017 

I spotted purple cauliflower at the grocery and couldn’t resist. It’s so pretty!

New Snacks

008

spelt toast + peanut butter + avocado = creamy, crunchy bliss! Don’t knock it ‘til you try it.

Plant Lovin’

001 (4)

Behold the coolest graduation gift I got last weekend…a tomato plant! I was not embarrassed one bit about how excited I got when my aunt rolled this baby out. She knows me well. 😀 Let’s hope I can keep it alive!

Electronic Reading

Via my new Kindle. The verdict? I love it! I need some good book recs though! Hook a sister up with some ideas…pretty please?!

 ~Friday Questions~

Weddings. Yay or Nay?

Any good book recs?

What are some of your Friday Favs?

Off to seize the day. Have a great LONG weekend!!!!!

Kristi

22 Responses to “Friday Faves”

  1. keepnthefaith May 27, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I love love, so naturally I love weddings. I just find everything about them so beautiful 🙂 you’ll get one one day girl, Gods just preparing your man for you right now 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks May 27, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      You’re right…I just need to have a little faith. thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  2. movesnmunchies May 27, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    ur toast creation ROCKS!!! oh and i loveworkouts that leave u shakin! weights always do that to me! even though I cnt lift heavy like you!!!!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      One thing I’ve learned is that ‘heavy’ is completely individual! I’m not lifting the heaviest in the weights room but I’m lifting whats heavy to me..and that’s all that matters!

  3. Alexandra May 27, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Aww I love your tomato plant, it’s so cute!! You should name it! 🙂 Jimmy (my tomato plant) has turned into a giant but no tomatoes yet sadly haha
    I’ve never thought to combine avocado and pb, it actually looks really yummy!! 😀

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! May 27, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    That bread still looks so delicious! I need to make some stat! And I love the avocado pb combo….that is probably so rich and creamy! Gotta try that! Salty things pair great with avocado so I’m sure thats delish!

  5. Jess May 27, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    There is some GORGEOUS guy out there that God is going to bring your way. Have hope!! 🙂 I’m sure you are such a catch, too 😉 Awesome workout!

  6. Mariah@Apples"N"Oats May 27, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    haha so funny that we get excited about stuff like this..I saw a blueberry plant the other day and I almost died!

  7. Jenny May 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I have never tried pb with avocado before but I’m convinced nothing with pb could be bad! Looks delish. And I love iced coffee too but I never make any =/

  8. tickledtofu May 27, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Peanut butter + avocado= heaven.
    I love running, but am really scared to do weight training :/ I’m afraid I’ll strain a muscle or something and won’t be able to run! I’m such a wimp!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 28, 2011 at 1:49 am #

      weight training will actually help you run better! Your body will be stronger will added muscle, and take you further on your runs. Plus, muscle mass protects ligaments and prevents injury. Don’t fear the weights! 😀

  9. Luna Bites Blog May 27, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    wow I had a tomato plant once and it totally went rogue – the vines spread all up the side of our shed ! It was super tasty though 🙂 good luck with yours. xx

  10. Katherine May 28, 2011 at 3:11 am #

    Love that toast!!!

  11. lifttorun May 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Anything good you have been reading on your Kindle?

  12. Katie May 28, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    LOVE that toast combo! I think that would taste really good!

    I am so glad you love the kindle! Have you read ‘The Help” ? awesome read!

    Love your faves! A great workout and yummy eats are faves for me too!!

    xoxo ❤

    • Sweet Cheeks May 28, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

      I have the help on my wish list…thanks for the rec!!

  13. mindrunningwild May 28, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    weddings yay I think. Gives me weird feelings about it coming up in my life though. haha
    and I feel single in every possible angle as well. and I’m 21 and never have had a sig. other. Don’t feel bad- the PERFECT man will be and is out there for us 🙂
    favs….oats, nut butters- just found out I’m not allergic!! SO FUN!

  14. moveovercelery May 29, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I want to try that toast! Yum yum yum!

    WATER FOR ELEPHANTS! I just finished it and I’m in complete awe! I read that book in two days flat. I hardly left my room! 😛

    • Sweet Cheeks May 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      ohhh thanks!!! I will get that one for sure. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just for kicks | Sweet Cheeks - May 31, 2011

    […] everyone’s weekend? Mine was pretty chill for the most part. Family that’s still in town from the wedding have been coming and going. I’m feeling a bit better but still pretty drained and am looking […]

  2. Maybe he needs a protein shake « Sweet Cheeks - June 25, 2011

    […] guy. I’ve had him only a few months (grad present!) and some of the leaves are already wilting! I water him enough so I don’t know what in the […]

Leave a Reply

