The Importance of Rest

29 May

Happy Sunday!

It is a gorgeous day outside. Warm and sunny. I hope to get out in it soon! Speaking of weather, I have been feeling a bit under the weather lately. I took a break from exercise yesterday and am thinking today may just be another one, too. No worrying here though…our bodies need proper rest! Although, with it being Summer time and me having much more free-time to workout, it has been harder for me to take proper rest days because exercise is one of my favorite parts of the day! I don’t workout because I think I “have to.” It is something that I enjoy and makes me feel good, and it provides a much needed outlet to relieve stress. In fact, I think I workout more for the mental benefits than the physical ones. Don’t get me wrong, I am proud of my toned HEALTHY body, but nothing beats the mental boost and clarity I get from a good sweat sesh. Thank you endorphins!!!

So when rest days come around, I tend to get antsy. I am not the kind of person who can just lay around all day. I like to be up and around, hands on, doing things. No way, no how will I ever be a 9-5 desk job person. I would last maybe 2 days! (That’s being optimistic.)

Rest days are important. And I will definitely make myself take 1-2 per week. But just because it’s a rest day doesn’t mean you have sit on your booty and do absolutely nothing! I like to take a nice leisurely walk outside with Jaci.

dog pics (11)

Maybe do some light yoga or meditation, which would fit perfectly into my Summer Goals list.

Rest days are also my favorite day to play in the kitchen and prepare up some healthy meals and snacks!

It’s important to realize that those days off from the gym are actually where all the magic happens. Especially with weight training, your muscles are being torn down. During rest days is when the muscles build back up…and get stronger! If you just keeping going, going, going, then your body never gets a chance reap the hard-earned benefits of your workouts.

Okay enough preaching for today…let’s eat!

002

Shake and Crunch!

Shake: 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup water, 1/4 cup oats, 1 scoop True Protein whey, frozen bloobs, 1 tsp spirulina powder, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, ice, the gums. Lots and lots of kamut puffs.

005 (4)

OIAJ…Whud up.

oats made with almond milk and egg whites. banana on top. 1 cup almond lovin’. 😀

005

Meg’s pancakes. Looooved them! I used chickpea flour instead of brown rice, and Life’s Basics protein powder. These are great for post workout. I actually made them the night before and snapped this picture then. In the morning I smothered them in peanut butter and syrup and was too excited to wait to take another pic! They rocked.

006 (2)

Salad Beasty~

spinach, chicken, tomato, asparagus, hummus, almond cheddar, white beans

003

Chinese bowl~

Spelt pasta, shiritaki noodles, baby sea scallops, and spinach. mixed with a pad thai-like sauce. I didn’t really measure but it contained miso paste, peanut butter, vinegar, soy sauce, minced garlic, and a bit of water to thin.

025

turkey meatloaf + broc + apple

WATCH OUT FOR THE WORMS!!!!

030

AKA black bean noodles. 😀

20 grams of protein, what what!!

027

Love these things! I had some with tomato sauce and an egg puff with Garlic Gold crunchies. < forgot I had those!

044

easy feta chicken, grilled asparagus, and sweet tater fries (in coconut oil and cumin powder)

001

RANDOM snack plate!!

chicken and pb, hard boiled eggs, leftover purple cauli, roasted beets and sweet tater fries, spelt toast with avocado and pb.

007

Averie’s banana oat cakes make a great snack!

I’m going to go enjoy this beautiful weather and hopefully get myself to feeling better. Have a great relaxing Sunday everyone!

Do you take rest days?

What’s your favorite thing to do on a rest day?

kristi

15 Responses to “The Importance of Rest”

  1. Katherine May 29, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Rest days are amazing 🙂 I like to just chill out and read or watch Gilmore Girls.

    P.S. I love your eating out of the almond butter jar 🙂

  2. Jess May 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

    I needed this. a lot! You’re the best!!

    Where do you buy that black bean noodles?!

    • Sweet Cheeks May 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      I bought them at my local health food store!

  3. movesnmunchies May 29, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    yeah baby!! i take usually 1 a week! and i walk my dog almost everyday so of course i do it on rest days too! i cant just sit still all day! except today I was SO tired so i pretty much did that after my workout ahah! great post!! rest days are for FUN! 🙂

  4. lifttorun May 29, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    All your meals look good. Those black noodles frightened me at first. Hahah.

    I take rest days once a month, if that. I’d rather cross train then rest unless my body is telling me differently. I noticed when I take a rest day, the next day my body feels terrible.

  5. Meg May 29, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    Yess amen to rest days! I just had to take about 5 of them 😀 and LOVED it. I did take a walk or two and shopping (retail cardio and retail therapy FTW!)

    SO many people could benefit so much from rest days, I wish they knew!

  6. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody May 29, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    I get really ansy on rest days too, so I try and keep myself really busy. I usually go for a nice stroll if the weather is nice, and try to run as many errands as possible.

    I’ve really want to try these black bean noodles, they look amazing! I love sheritaki noodles, and I love topping my smoothies with puffed kamut 🙂

  7. Luna Bites Blog May 29, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I love rest days , but I do have to some form of movement or I cant sleep at night. I usually take the puppies for walk on the beach 🙂 those oat cakes look delishhh ! xo

    • Sweet Cheeks May 30, 2011 at 12:54 am #

      Yep that’s another reason i’m not too fond of them. I sleep so much better on exercise days!

  8. Katie May 30, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    rest days are SO important! I need to have rest days! Very much needed! Everyone should!

    LOVING the pancakes, I like that you used chickpea flour!

    Love ya girl! xoxo

  9. katshealthcorner May 30, 2011 at 3:35 am #

    Oh my gosh. Those black noodles are really freaking me out right now.

  10. Jenny May 30, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    as someone who’s probably going to be taking a month long “rest”, I love this post! I used to NEVER give myself a day off and know that my workouts were lacking because of it. I love how strong I feel (er, felt) during my workout the day after rest!

    yayyyyyy black been s’ghetti. I LOVE IT!

  11. keepnthefaith May 30, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I took a rest day yesterday 🙂 I usually try to rest Sunday since I am busy with church and spending time with family. I usually never completely rest though, sometimes I’ll do a 45 minute treadmill incline walk or some easy yoga. Very rarely will I just sit on the couch all day!

  12. Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner) May 30, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    YES girl awesome post!! Rest days are SO important and I had one today!! Not gonna lie, I had the urge to have just a little weights workout or something, but I know my body needs the break! Plus, I ALWAYS spend my rest days in the kitchen baking up a treat, and it’s AWESOME! 😀

Leave a Reply

