Just for kicks

31 May

Morning!

How was everyone’s weekend? Mine was pretty chill for the most part. Family that’s still in town from the wedding have been coming and going. I’m feeling a bit better but still pretty drained and am looking forward to a quiet house!

I did have enough energy to make another round of homemade nut butter though!

007

My maple almond butter is all gone and I needed to fix that problem stat. This time I used a trio of peanuts, almonds, and sunflower seeds.

006

I dry roasted them for about 15 minutes and then let them wirl, adding in some vanilla extract, cinnamon, and sea salt towards the end. The result was thick and luscious goodness!

008

I actually like my nut butter more on the drippy side, like my homemade maple almond butter came out, but this one was definitely thicker…I’m thinking it was because I dry roasted them instead coating in maple syrup like I did last time. Oh well, I still won’t have a problem downing this in no time…no trouble here seeing I’m on a nut butter kick! Not like that’s new news or anything. :p

Psstt…

013

Notice my new nail color? Slick Slate by Sally Hansen. This is the insta-dri series and I absolutely am a fan because usually I can never sit still long enough for my nails to dry. This polish pairs perfectly with my antsy impatient-ness. 😀

Today is Leg Day. I used to not be too fond of working my lower body, but for whatever reason it is currently one of my favorites! I have been doing a routine out of Oxygen Magazine for the past couple weeks that I am really enjoying.

It consists of 5 moves and every week you change the order and reps in order to keep your body guessing, before making sure your body never becomes accustomed to the workout and allowing your muscles to be pushed past their comfort levels.

Here are the 5 moves and the order/reps I did today:

Rear-foot elevated split squat: 12 reps each leg

in and out squat with dumbbells/barbell: 12 reps

body weight step-downs: 12 reps each leg

deadlift: 15 reps

hip extension: 15 reps each leg

Perform each move with little to no rest in between. Rest 1 minute between sets. Perform circuit 2-3 times though.

I followed the circuit with a little cool-down jaunt on the treadmill:

5 min @ 4.0 mph, 2.0 incline

5 min @ 4.0 mph, 10.0 incline

5 min @ 4.0 mph, 2.0 incline

Twas a great little sweat sesh. 😀

And you all know what comes next…my personal favorite part. Foooood!

004

overnight cooked oats with 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, 1/2 cup egg whites, chia seeds, almond milk, banana, Nature’s Path granola, and vegan cream~aka blended silken tofu

I am on a major toast kick! remember this pb avocado combo?

008 (8)

still loving it!

But my peanut butter made friends with someone else, too…

005

pb + spicy brown mustard toast!

Another kick i’m on lately?

010 (7)

BANANAS….B-a-n-a-n-a-s! obviously they are amaze with nut butters such as Nuttzo and peanut butter.

016

but they’re also fab with protein frosting! (protein powder + cocoa powder + almond milk)

009

mixed greens, egg whites, white beans, hummus, salsa

011

sauteed cabbage mix with shiritaki noodles, dijon mustard, almond cheddar, and tilapia. sweet potato with 1/2 almond cheddar 1/2 pb

***AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS DESSERT ALERT***

003

Ohhhh my. I took my usual protein pudding mixture (a mix of OP chocolate casein and Life’s Basics protein) and mixed it with water, then I swirled in a big scoop of peanut butter and stuck it in the fridge for 30-45 minutes. Chocolate peanut butter ice cream anyone?!? I ate this with a smile plastered on my face the entire time.

I have a fun afternoon planned including getting my first Hot Stone massage! Anybody had one before? I am pretty stoked. 😀

Happy Tuesday and see ya tomorrow for WIAW!

Kristi

22 Responses to “Just for kicks”

  1. Meg May 31, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Holy ishhh I need to try that avo + PB combo! Maybe on eggs, too…sounds wierd but strangely good, haha! I’m totally on a SMOOTHIE kick 😀

    Mmm that faux ice cream looks amazing, anything with peanut butter is right up my alley.

    Love you!

  2. Jess May 31, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Mmmm, everything looks SO good!! Thanks for sharing that workout–PHEW, looks like a great one 😀

  3. Katherine May 31, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Gah I want to try the avocado and PB thing!

    In case you don’t see, you won the giveaway: http://divinelyvegan.wordpress.com/2011/05/30/giveaway-winners-packing-insanity/

  4. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! May 31, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Woah PB and mustard!?!?! You are daring, girl!!! And I absolutely looooove nuttzo….dare I say best nut butter ever?!?!?! 🙂

  5. movesnmunchies May 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    OMGOMGOMGOGMOGM LOVE ALL THE NUT BUTTER AND BANANAS!! u make me SO DARN proud!! love the nail color too!! such a great color!

  6. katshealthcorner May 31, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    OH MY GOSH!!!! I love all of your nanners and PBs!! 😀 I adore how you used three different nuts in your nut butter!! SMARTIE ALERT! 😉

  7. Katie May 31, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    There is just so much banana and pb loving! Love it!

    I love the nail color too! That is one thing , I am so impatient when it comes to my nails drying : p

    Love the casein combo, I have that casein every night! I mix it with peanut flour paste sometimes and kamut puffs for crunch!

    Love u!!!

  8. lifttorun May 31, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Oxygen mag never lets me down.

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody May 31, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    That looks like a magic bullet cup you made your nutbutter in… I have the same one! I love that color of nail polish. I’ve never heard of anyone else ever having pb and mustard, but if it rocks your socks go for it because I’ve got some pretty strange combos too 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      Yep, thats my magic bullet cup, good eye! and haha, I’m all about strange combos!

  10. Jenny May 31, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Wow your eats look incredible. Love that you made your own nut butter, I’ve only done that once but it was a very plain mix. 🙂

  11. Luna Bites Blog May 31, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Wow I love that nail colour, I can never wait long enough to get my nails properly dry either ! I always think that theyre done and then I manage to smudge them on the first thing I touch !
    Your protein frosting looks amazing – I am definitely going to try it ! I would each cupcake frosting all day if I could ( and if it had that much protein !)
    x

  12. kbwood June 1, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    your eats are OUT OF CONTROL! i love your nails- they look awesome! Do you really like that casein? I need to find one that is naturally sweetened!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 1, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

      Yes i do like it but I would love to try a naturally sweetened one as well…OP does make one but I have heard it doesn’t taste as good. Could be worth a shot though! Let me know if you find anything good!

  13. moveovercelery June 1, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    I’m dying to try your protein frosting. It’s pure genius…and sounds like pure heaven!

  14. Megan @ oatmealwithsprinkles June 1, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    I just bought that same quick dry nail polish but in a different color! I am definitely also impatient when it comes to drying nails!

    Oh goodness that nut butter looks so good! I’ve been wanting to make my own for a while now! Do you think it would work if I used a blender and not a food processor?

    • Sweet Cheeks June 2, 2011 at 2:05 am #

      It may work if your blender is powerful enough. I know people can make nut butter in Vitamixes but if you have a cheap one from Walmart like me (lol) it may not.

  15. tricia June 1, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I’m thinking i need to try that pb and avacado combination..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Weeednesday! | Sweet Cheeks - June 1, 2011

    […] snack. peanut butter chocolate protein ice cream. I can’t think of a better way to end my […]

  2. Relaxation Station | Sweet Cheeks - June 4, 2011

    […] Obviously, I’m also on a PB and J kick! […]

Leave a Reply

