Your Hour Of POWER!

5 Jun

Hi friends!

Sunday afternoon I decided to give another group class a go. Group Power was on the agenda!

“Group Power is your hour of power! This 60 minute barbell program strengthens all your major muscles in an inspiring, motivating group environment with fantastic music and awesome instructors. With simple, athletic movements such as squats, lunges, presses and curls, Group Power is for all ages and fitness levels. Discover results, discover Group Power!”

I dug it. They do a lot of reps so I used lighter weights…and it was a nice change to my usual heavy lifting. Although I think I prefer my style of heavy lifting, less reps…but like I said, it was nice to change things up and the most important thing was that I had fun! Taking classes is slowly but surely becoming my new favorite addiction. 🙂

Earlier in the day, I celebrated Pancake Sunday!

005

The mix~

  • 1/2 cup oats/oatbran
  • 1/2 cup Silk almond milk
  • splash of liquid egg whites
  • some cooked mashed sweet potato~ a few big spoonfuls
  • cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • splash of vanilla extract

Combine and cook them up! I made a dipping sauce of a serving of protein powder mixed with almond milk and some maple syrup. It was deeeelish. Pancake Sunday = Happy Sunday.

Lunchie:

001

Can I interest you in a homemade bean burger?

002

003

with kale chips, no less!

My grocery store had a new flavor of Kombucha in stock!

006

Loved it! Although I never met a Kombucha I didn’t like.

Post Group Power I had a great snack combo:

009

choco protein shake, banana bread, and a Nuttzo-filled date.

Yep…banana bread!

008

All the credit goes to my lovely friend, April! Her best ever banana bread definitely hit the spot.

Today I’m feeling good because I have gotten a lot accomplished. It didn’t exactly start off that way, seeing as I decided to turn on the tv while I ate my pancakes and got hooked into a movie on TBS called Eurotrip. It was HILARIOUS! It was made back in 2004 but I had never even heard of it. I could not stop laughing…which is just how I like my movies to be, so I couldn’t help but kick back and enjoy it. It was the perfect lazy Sunday morning.

But then I got my booty in gear and got down to business.

To do list…done and done!

  • Clean out closet/get rid of unwanted clothes, shoes, etc. check
  • make banana bread  check
  • go to Group Power workout  check
  • take online math placement exam for Fall semester  check

It feels SO good to get organized!

020

021

Next to come will be a deep Spring Cleaning. It HAS to be done!

What is your favorite group exercise class?

Have you done any Spring cleaning?

After all that good work, I think I deserve a nice dinner and some more relaxation. I hope everyone has a great night!!!

Kristi

25 Responses to “Your Hour Of POWER!”

  1. Amanda June 5, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    I can’t wait to do spring cleaning when I move in two weeks! Although, that technically will be summer cleaning I suppose 🙂

  2. mindrunningwild June 5, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    girl your closet is so organized!! I live above our garage/don’t have a closet- but I’ve always wanted one of those huuuuge ones with compartments for everything 🙂
    I need to do spring cleaning cause I’m going abroad..hm….
    I actually really like zumba. I love dancing and awesome music, so zumba is really fun. This past year our house at college was really lucky to have zumba come to our dining room on monday nights- it was a blast! We don’t belong to a gym so I’m really excited to join one while I’m abroad and try out new things!

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 5, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    That class looks awesome! I love strength classes like that!

    And your closet is SO neat!!!! I love how organized it is! I need to do some spring ( or well Summer) cleaning ASAP!

  4. keepnthefaith June 6, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    Gah I need something for my shoes like that!! Mine are just thrown into my closet, it drives me nuts! I hate when things are unorganized!!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 6, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      my uncle actually made that for me…it definitely helps to keep things neat and tidy!

  5. lifttorun June 6, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    I do a class like that too. I like it a lot, but like you said, I prefer heavier weights.

  6. Alexandra June 6, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    #1 Girl, your foods are always so amazing looking, I swear our fridges must be near identical.
    #2 You’re an organizing queen, nice job! I bet it felt so good to get everything nice and clean 🙂 My room is much less tornado-y too haha!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 6, 2011 at 1:25 am #

      hahaha I thought of you when I began the cleaning madness. Glad you both made it!!

  7. Jess June 6, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Sounds like an awesome class! Is it kind of like Bodypump?
    Nice organizing! I should do that too…..

    • Sweet Cheeks June 6, 2011 at 1:54 am #

      yes it basically is Body Pump..they just call is group power at my gym. they call spin class “group ride”!

  8. moveovercelery June 6, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    Haha, thanks for reminding me that I need to sift through all my clothes and get it organized. I’m a bit late on the spring cleaning!

    I love group fitness classes! That one sounds like an awesome one. I agree- I like less reps with more weights but sometimes it’s nice to switch it up! My all time fave group fitness class is body combat. It’s by the same company that puts out bodypump and it’s seriously the most fun thing ever. You just kick and punch to awesome music. My instructor is pretty smokin’ too. 😉

  9. Katie June 6, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    I just cleaned out and reorganized my closet YESTERDAY, it felt phenomenal – I got rid of all my maternity clothes and threw so much out…now everything is nice and tidy.

    I went through a phase where I took every class my gym had to offer, I loved it. Switching things up keeps my motivation up – glad you liked the new weights class!

  10. Mariah@Applesnoats June 6, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Haha twins I watched eurotrip in the gym thus morning, it was perfect because watching made me want to stay extra long!oh and that banana bread looks incredible!

  11. movesnmunchies June 6, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    wow that calss sounds HARD!! i have never done a group class! besides aqua aerobics! true story.. it was in France.. love!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 6, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      I WISH my gym had aqua aerobics but there is no pool…so I don’t think it would be very successful, LOL.

  12. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope June 6, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Sounds like a great class… definitely a strength-builder! So great that you’re enjoying the group workouts! 🙂

    I love homemade bean burgers! It’s been way to long since I’ve made my own.

  13. Jenny June 6, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    That class looks like a ton of fun. I’ve only done Zumba before and I love it! Definitely work up a sweat 😀

  14. Allison @ Allison's Delicious Life June 7, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Hey Kristi!

    Thanks for commenting on my blog 🙂 I’m so glad you liked the college pantry page. It’s hard being away from home and not having access to everything you’re used to in order to make healthy, fresh meals.

    I love Zumba!!! Dance is so much fun for me and makes exercising seem like a treat rather than a chore.

    You have a cute blog and I’ll definitely be following!

    ❤ Allison

  15. tickledtofu June 7, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    I’ve never done a group class because to be honest it really scares me :/ They do look like fun though! I’d like to try BodyPump and Zumba if i ever work up the courage!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 7, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      they scared me too at first but you’ll be glad if you do it because most of the time everyone is very welcoming!

  16. april June 8, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    That class sounds kinda like bodypump! Have you tried that before? And so glad you liked the bread!!

  17. Katie June 8, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I do body pump now (which is like your power class). I was getting so bored with the heavy lifting. I needed something to switch things up. Plus, I am running more now and the lighter weight is better for my running legs. 🙂

    ps: How did you get this comment system set up???? I need one! I tried to do it myself, but I couldn’t figure it out. Any tips?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Exercise Recap | Sweet Cheeks - June 19, 2011

    […] Group Power (aka Body […]

Leave a Reply

