Best thing I’ve made in a while

7 Jun

HI! I’m going to go ahead and post my WIAW a little bit early this time around because I’ve got spin class to get to soon. Fingers crossed it goes better than last time! 😉 This WIAW will feature some eats from today, with a couple mixed in from the last few days.

This morning I woke up ready to move and not very hungry so I decided to take Jaci and drive over to a new-to-me trail that I’ve been wanting to try. It was so gorgeous outside and it was away from any streets so it was perfectly quiet and peaceful. Definitely a great start to my morning! Jaci was a tired pup when we got home. 🙂

Getting outdoors is the best way to clear my head!

After, I made myself a yogurt bowl:

001

1 cup plain greek yogurt, 1/2 cup raw oats, peanuts, and fresh fruit.

A great summer breakfast! It’s been a while since I have had greek yogurt since I pretty much cut out dairy for the most part about a month ago. It doesn’t like my tum. :/ I took a food enzyme with this and it seemed to be fine so I’m thinking I will have some every now and then because wearing something off completely only makes me want it more!

Shortly after I was ready for lunch.

002

shredded crockpot salsa chicken and vegan cheese on a sandwich thin with sliced jicima. Also had some dark chocolate dipped in almond butter << best dessert!

Afternoon Snacks:

003

eggwhites, refried beans, and avocado.

005

chocolate protein shake with raw oats mixed in

Dinner:

008

baked lemon chicken, roasted brussels, and tomato risotto x 1,000

I have been wanting to make Angela’s Creamy Tomato Risotto for so long. I am so glad I finally did because it was FANTASTIC. Creamy, cheesey (from the nooch), great texture. It was also very easy, too. This is definitely the best thing I’ve made in a while. I’m planning on making more soon!

Evening Snack:

009

microwave muffin with coconut butter on top (2 eggwhites, 1 tbsp peanut flour, 1 tbsp oatbran, 2 tbsp applesauce, stevia, maple extract)

That was what was photographed for today!

On a non-food related thought…I want to go on a vacation. I keep hearing about everyone’s awesome Summer vacation plans and I’m totally excited for you guys. I just wish I could climb into a suitcase so I could come along! Things have been so focused on COLLEGE around here lately and getting ready for that coming up that there really hasn’t been any talk about going anywhere. Heck with my tuition fees, I don’t know if there is even any money to do anything. Anybody have any affordable vaca ideas/locations? I could really use a getaway!!! In the meantime, I’ll be staring at my screensaver image…

Kristi

21 Responses to “Best thing I’ve made in a while”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 7, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Yummy day of eats! I especially like the egg white, refried bean, avocado combo!
    Hmmm for a quick getaway you could go to a big city near you….like if you live in New York go to NYC or if you live in Illinois go to Chicago! Trips like that are usually pretty cheap!

  2. Alexandra June 7, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I’m over the moon for that breakfast of greek yogurt and goodies!! You’ve just inspired my breakfast for tomorrow, yummmmm 🙂
    Stay-cation wise, what about taking a trip to the zoo or aquarium? You can feel like a little kid again and see snuggly animals all in one trip! 😀

  3. movesnmunchies June 7, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    GO TO THE CARRIBEAN!! BEST PLace ever!!!.. aweseomesauce eats gal!! love the jicama! ive nevr had it!

  4. kat June 7, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    A great mini vacay would be a day spa with your girls 🙂 that’s one of my favorites! Another is a road trip! My bestie and I drive up to my daddys house and then go on adventures up there like river rafting and hikes 🙂

  5. lifttorun June 7, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Good luck with spin. Enjoy it. (:

    I really want to try coconut butter. I just don’t like coconut milk so I don’t know if I’ll like coconut butter.

  6. Jess June 8, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    I think I would loveee the egg white + refried bean + avocado combo..love all the components 😀 Enjoy SPINNING!!

  7. moveovercelery June 8, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    I love yogurt bowls! My tum tum doesn’t do well with dairy either so I like you, have to take a digestive aid with it. So good, though! 🙂 I always eat mine with a spoonful of peanut butter!

    I think it would be fun to get a group of friends together and head to a water park or theme park!

  8. applesnoats June 8, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    like I said before, you are more than welcome to climb in my suitcase:)

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody June 8, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    Looks like some really yummy eats! I’ve had risotto once before, and absolutely loved it! I don’t know why I haven’t had it since, but that’s really got to change 🙂

  10. katie June 8, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    yummmm what does a jicima taste like? and arent raw oats in shakes the BEST?! so good! love yo eats mama!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 8, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      jicima is awesome!! It is a lot like an apple…very crisp and somewhat sweet. try it!

  11. Jenny June 8, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    ugh I am dying to get away for awhile! Hell, I would even settle for a day trip to the lake at this point. I feel like I’ve been locked up inside all summer and I don’t like it one bit. Let’s escape 🙂 ❤

  12. Jenny June 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Omg i would love to go on vacation too lol Miami is nice but sometimes it’s just too overwhelming!! Love that yogurt bowl, so yummy 😀

  13. Tiff June 8, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    Wow! I’m impressed with you healthy eats!

  14. Tori (Fresh Fruition) June 8, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Refried beans, egg whites, and avocado sounds so simple and so delish! Perfect easy to prepare eats 😀

  15. mindrunningwild June 9, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    that vegan cheese looks good. What does it taste like? I’ve been meaning to have a yogurt bowl like that. Do the oats fill you up in raw form? I tend to be a volume eater but I also love raw oats in granola and such so…
    microwave muffins are a fav.
    As for me, I’m going on a nice vacay to be a camp counselor (haha) and then on my junior year abroad to London!!
    Definitely look for stay cation options near where you live though. There might be somewhere local you’ve never checked out.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 9, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      The vegan cheese tastes practically exactly like a slice of regular cheese to me! I found them at Walmart in the product section with the tofu, etc.

      When I do raw oats I make sure to put more filling things with it like lots of nut butter! 🙂 But I definitely like my volume, too. Chia seeds plumps up raw oats pretty well!

  16. jenn @ peas and crayons June 9, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    I always try to vacation within “road trip’ distance to save money =) and scour the internet for hotel deals!

    everything in your WIAW post looks sooooooo good! I seriously want it all!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  17. Science&Bananas June 9, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    I’m allergic to dairy yet find myself wanting to swim in your yogurt bowl 🙂

Leave a Reply

