Spin baby Spin + A Vega Bar review

9 Jun

It finally happened…I did spin class!!

And this time it DID in fact last more than 5 minutes. win. I loooooved it! Besides the fact that my booty and crotch were hurting like a bitznich, I loved the class atmosphere, with the lights turned low, the music playing loud, and the instructor motivating you to “make it over this hill!” I had a blast and will definitely be going back.

This morning I went for the more chilllaxed route and take a 60 minute vinyasa yoga class. Felt good, oh yes it did. Before I went, I had some chocolate chip cookie dough balls:

Dare I say better than the real thing? mmmhmmm.

Then after yoga this giant tub was consumed:

011

millet porridge with chocolate sun warrior mixed in, fage plain greek yogurt, topped with peanut butter and later some boysenberry jam.

Then I went to wonder around Target in search of some new workout clothes since I had a giftcard to use from graduation. Target never lets me down! I found a pair of shorts and a pair of capri workout pants. These capris are uber comfy fyi!

I came home to fix myself a salad beast which was just I wanted:

012

organic mixed greens, leftover baked chicken, hard boiled eggwhites, sweet potato, refried beans, avocado, balsamic, and hummus.

Perfect on a plate right there people!

013

Dessert came soon after when I decided to whip up an old favorite a la Averie:

014

vegan dark chocolate coconut snowballs! These are hands down the best way to satisfy a chocolate craving. And it definitely won’t last long…this I know from experience.

I was pretty excited a little while later when I got to try out some of the Vega bars that I received in the mail!

004

Vega is all about achieving optimal health through clean natural ingredients and lots of superfoods. From the website:

Vega whole food energy bars offer unparalleled nourishment in a convenient, delicious form and provide constant, enduring energy through nourishment, not stimulation. Each Vega bar features:

  • 10g of complete raw protein for easy digestion
  • 6g of both soluble and insoluble dietary fiber
  • 6g of sprouts, rich in enzymes and phytonutrients
  • 4.5g of omega 3 & 6 essential fatty acids

Unlike traditional cooked and processed bars, Vega bars are 100% raw, alkaline and enzymatically alive, requiring less energy to digest and providing a greater net energy gain. An ideal snack for people on the go, Vega bars provide high quality convenient nutrition without compromises.

Things I loved about the bars:

  • No refined sugars
  • No questionable ingredients
  • Completely raw and vegan
  • infused with a good dose of greens
  • Contains protein, making them more satisfying than Larabars and the like
  • provides a great source of steady source of energy; makes for a great pick-me-up

They are a bit higher in sugar than I usually go for but again, they are from natural sources such as dates. They have a great texture and chew to them that I really enjoyed, especially with the pieces of nuts throughout the bar. I definitely did not taste any of the greens thanks to the natural sweetness from the dates. All in all, I would buy these again for sure. They really are top of the line when it comes to a quality bar. Too many bars out on the market today are just filled with crap ingredients. Vega is quite the opposite, going above and beyond to make these as healthy as possible while tasting awesome. Way to go Vega

***

Now I must go because the I need to tend to the delicious smell that is filling the entire house..

018

Homemade BBQ sauce. I don’t think I’ll ever use store-bought again!!!

What is your favorite bar? Vega bars are on the top of my list now but I also really like making my own bars! If I need to pick something up though, I do like Larabars, Purebars, and Raw Revolution bars…like I said before, too many other ones are filled with crap!

Have a great Thursday!!!

Kristi

20 Responses to “Spin baby Spin + A Vega Bar review”

  1. Meg June 9, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Mmm those bars look legit! A bit sugary, yes, but all naturaleeee oh la la bebe! 🙂 I love Perfect Food Bars – MY FAVE is the original peanut butta kind! They are ridiculously good and I can only order ’em online but it’s SO WORTH IT!

    I’m so glad you loved spinning (minus the crotchety pain…ow?!) 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks June 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      I keep meaning to try the Perfect Foods bars! Thanks for the reminder Meg!

  2. Jess June 9, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    YAY for spinning!! I think I’m going tomorrow. But I hear ya on the crotch pain–i think it gets better after several classes?!! Haha.

    That salad looks PERFECTTTTT.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      I’ve heard the pain gets less intense after the first couple times, too…I sure hope so! 🙂

  3. keepnthefaith June 9, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Homemade bbq sauce? Totally need to try that!! BBQ sauce is my favorite sauce pretty much, but it obviously isnt that great for you!! Id love to make a healthier at home version

  4. Alexandra June 9, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Those bars look so good, I gotta try them! 🙂 Every time I go into Target, I think I die a little on the inside, I LOVE IT!! 😀 (especially the dollar aisle haha)

  5. SquatLikeALady June 9, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I want to try Vega bars (and their protein powder) sooo bad! Back when I ate dairy I loved Zone protein bars. The fudge graham cracker one was sooo amazing.

  6. Katie June 9, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Megan should be the spokesmodel for pure bars! She is always pimping them out! haha! love her!!

    Yay for spinning, I have done it a couple times too! I hope to again!

    Your photos have been awesome lately, the lighting is good or something : )

    love u!!

  7. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 9, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Hey girl! I’ve been eyeing those bars for a while, and it’s awesome that you liked them! I can’t eat a lot of store-bought bars because of my allergies, but I love making my own. Anything with dates, almonds, oatmleal, and chocolate, and I’m a happy camper 😀

  8. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! June 9, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Larabars are my fave but gnu and raw crunch bars are right up there too! I want to make Angelas BBQ sauce SO bad…..I just have to go pick up the ingredients! Looks delish though! Glad you liked spin…..I just can’t get into it, but I wanna try it again just to make sure!

  9. teeneatlive June 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    That BBQ sauce looks great! Perfect for summer 😀

  10. Katie June 9, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Yay! I LOVE spin and yoga. 🙂 Good choices, lady.

    About the comment system…when you replied it sent it to my email!!!! I think this is a new wordpress feature. I want to see if someone replies to my blog comment on my blog and it turns up in my email. That’s so freaking convenient if it does!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      Oh that is cool! I will comment so you can reply and I’ll see if it emails me!

  11. jenn @ peas and crayons June 10, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    you loved it!? yayyayyyayay!!!!!!! i’m so excited! we’re spinning buddies from afar now!

  12. katie June 10, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    oh girl i LOVE spin- so glad you loved it! your crotch may be sore tomorrow! hahaha. but seriously- mine was really sore.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

      Yes I was sore the next day! Thankfully it has gone away…until next time at least, LOL. 🙂

  13. lifttorun June 11, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    That porridge looks so gooooood.

    I love Nugo Bars and Luna bars.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rulking It + a protein review and giveaway! | Sweet Cheeks - June 13, 2011

    […] more ballz before I left. […]

  2. Wha Wha What I…Wednesday | Sweet Cheeks - June 14, 2011

    […] went to an awesome spin class this morning and it was a different instructor than the last time I went. He switched things up and it was really challenging…but of course I LOVED it! We did a lot of […]

  3. Weekly Exercise Recap | Sweet Cheeks - June 19, 2011

    […] Tuesday: Spin Class […]

Leave a Reply

