Friday Favs!

17 Jun

It’s FRIDAY! YAY! Time to whip out the party pants and celebrate with some Friday Faves. Shall we?

1. Refreshing Summer Snacks

003

Hello there frozen grapes. You rock my socks off. This is by far my favorite snack to eat in the Summer! It is nice and cold and of course delicious. I like pairing it with some nuts and then I have myself a perfectly balanced snack. Speaking of nuts, look at this giant sack of walnuts we got at Sam’s Club:

002

We also got a matching bag of raw almonds. I don’t think I will be having a nut shortage any time soon…or will I?

2. A Safe Tan

I am a big advocate for being smart about the sun and protecting your skin. Each year 80,000 people die from Melanoma cancer…it can happen to any one of us. I know this can be a touchy subject, but it really saddens me when people feel the need to put their money towards laying in tanning beds or spending hours suffocating out in the sun. Don’t get me wrong; I love being outside and have been enjoying the Summer and sunshine plenty…but I don’t over-do it and it is done in a safe manner…read: SUNSCREEN. It saves lives people!!! Now I know many people say, “But I look so much better with a tan!” And that my friends is where sunless tanners come into play! My favorite product this season?

001

Nivea Sun-Kissed Radiant Skin gradual tanner. You can get it at most Walmarts, drugstores, etc, but I have found the best deal to be on Amazon if you select the subscribe and save option > gives you 15% off and free 2-day shipping and they will continually send your order out on your preferred time schedule: 1 time a month, every 3 months, every 6 months, etc. But you can also cancel the subscription at ANY time, very easily. I definitely recommend it! Anyways, this is my favorite tanner. I just apply a few times a week after showering and I have a nice natural color.

3. Kick-Butt Group Workouts

As you guys have seen, I have been loving experimenting with the fitness classes that my gym offers. So far I have taken: Spin Class, Body Pump, Vinyasa yoga, and Body Centergy (a faster paced yoga/pilates infusion performed with upbeat music) There are still so many that I want to try and I’m so glad that I have lots of free time right now to be able to do them! Next one on the list? BOOTCAMP.

4. Summer Reads

I am almost done with Something Borrowed (love!)

and now I’m ready to tackle more. Here are a few that are on my list to read:

Water for Elephants, The Help, My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler, Skinny Bitch, plus MANY more!

5. Anything to do with Pizza

From making my own pizza,

012

(flatout wrap with tomato sauce, mushrooms, spinach, almond cheddar, and lean ground turkey)

to creating a pizza hummus recipe, you could say I’m on a bit of kick!

023

 I just got home from a vinyasa yoga class and now I’m thinking that I will take Jaci for a trail walk while it’s not too hot outside yet. Hope you all have a great Friday!

What are you loving today?

Kristi

14 Responses to “Friday Favs!”

  1. movesnmunchies June 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    omg agreed with EVERYTHING! iloveeeee self tan lotion!! and umm frozen grapes are awesome! thanks for reminding me to eat more of them! and I LOVE WALNUTs!

  2. keepnthefaith June 17, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Mmmmm frozen grapes!! So wonderful during summer 🙂 right now I’m loving life!! Seriously I’m so blessed and just loving the life God has given me 🙂

  3. Alexandra June 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I’m crazy for frozen grapes, too!!! 😛 I always love sticking toothpicks in them, sometimes dipping them in a nut butter or melted chocolate, and then freezing them to make mini popsicles heehee I totally agree, they’re an awesome summer snack for those sweltering days! 🙂
    Hope you have a great weekend!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Love this!!! I need to renew my gym membership so I can start taking some awesome classes like that!

    And I LOVE frozen grapes! They are seriously like candy!

  5. lifttorun June 17, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Your gym sounds better than mine. We need more classes.

    Can’t wait for you to read some Chelsea Handler! If you like raunchy, you’ll like her books.

  6. Jenny June 17, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    I need that self tanning lotion! I’m starting to feel pretty white haha

  7. Jess June 18, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Frozen grapes are SO good!! I loved eating them at half-time during soccer games 😀

  8. thequirkykitchen June 18, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    i’m loving spending the day with phil, lazing around and watching movies 🙂

  9. Jenny June 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    woo! I am all about sunless tanner. It’s so much safer and, really? I just hate sitting out in the sun. Have you ever tried Jergen’s daily glow? It’s a gradual tanner and is the most “natural looking” one I’ve used. Trust me, i’ve tried ’em all!

    Let me know how that book is! I was thinking about reading it but I may just be lame and see the movie instead.

    Happy Friday (er.. saturday 🙂 😉 )

  10. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) June 18, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Frozen grapes are the best! Such a good snack during summer!

    The pizza looks awesome! Love all the toppings!

  11. paoang June 18, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Frozen grapes! That sounds so good! And gotta love Sam’s…food in bulk?! YES PLEASE!
    I’ve been enjoying reading during summer too…I love it!

  12. Alicia F. June 22, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I love your upcoming book list! Those are all on my summer reading list as well. I’m currently on The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks! (love him!!) 😀

    I can’t wait to start Something Borrowed 🙂 I’m determined to read the book before the movie! ( same with Water for Elephants & The Help)

    • Sweet Cheeks June 22, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

      i read the last song earlier this year and really liked it! Books that have a movie out always motivate me to read them more, LOL.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Encouragement « Sweet Cheeks - July 15, 2011

    […] walnuts and frozen grapes. This the perfect Summer time snack, after […]

Leave a Reply

