Weekly Exercise Recap

19 Jun

Happy Sunday and Father’s Day! I’m about to head out for lunch with the daddyo but first I wanted to get this post up…I have been meaning to start recapping my exercises on Sundays for the longest time and I’m finally going to start TODAY! I recently opened up a Daily Mile account, to help me keep track and it has been a really awesome tool! I definitely recommend that site…it’s fun!

Monday: Trail Run~5k

Tuesday: Spin Class

Wednesday: Group Power (aka Body Pump)

Thursday: Spin Class

Friday: Vinyasa flow yoga class and upper body lifting 

Saturday: REST

Sunday: Group Power

My thoughts? My first thought is that I’m doing a great job of changing things up. If I was keeping track of my workouts a month ago, it would be a lot of the same ol’ thing. I was definitely getting in a rut. I would either lift weights or hop on a treadmill/elliptical for a quick cardio session. And I was getting so bored with that! Now I’m getting outside, trying new classes, and discovering new exercises that I really like! Another thing I noted was that I have added more cardio than I was doing about a month ago. Before, I was mainly lifting with a tiny bit of cardio…which was perfectly fine. Adding more cardio wasn’t really intentional. It has more to do with the fact that I’m loving classes like SPIN! So all in all, there’s some good stuff happening and as long as I’m being active and having fun, then it’s all good! Oh, and moral of the story is: SWITCH THINGS UP! There are about a million different ways to exercise, so why limit yourself to just 1 or 2?

Now the other part of the equation…FOOD!

004

breakfast cookie (1/2 cup oats, 1 banana 1 scoop Sun Warrior protein, almond milk, cinnamon, almond butter) protein shake with Life’s Basics vegan protein, almond milk, instant coffee crystals, ice, guar gum

004

egg white oats with peanut flour paste and chopped dates

016

CREAMY oats with egg whites, almond milk, cottage cheese, protein powder. topped with peanut flour paste

005

lunchie bowl~ refried beans, chicken, broccoli, mushrooms, and avocado

001

salad with egg whites, sweet potato, refried beans, pizza hummus, nooch, spinach. more sweet potato with peanut butter and nooch on the side

006

blended silken tofu with kamut puffs and almonds

005

more tofu, this time mixed with chocolate Amazing Grass and topped with cereal/granola

003

return of the spaghetti squash boats!!! I love these little guys, especially filled with tofu nooch sauce (silken tofu, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper, garlic, parsley, almond milk) and meatless meatballs

009

giant sauteed cabbage bowl with chicken, feta, avocado, dijon mustard, sweet potato and cottage cheese < how you make a food baby.

001

the best tomato risotto ever, broccoli, chicken with homemade BBQ sauce

010

grapes, naner with pb

015

chocolate protein cake with maple almond butter…based off this recipe, only added lots of cocoa powder!

That’s it for now! Hope you all enjoy the rest of the weekend and enjoy some time with all the special dads out there. 🙂

What was your favorite workout this week?

kristi

15 Responses to “Weekly Exercise Recap”

  1. movesnmunchies June 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    AGREED! switichin things up is the way to go! idid that this week too!.. love ur avo that u always have 🙂

  2. kaila @ healthy helper! June 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    My fave workouts this week were my runs! I always feel so happy after getting through one of them!

    All your eats look fabulous! I love the sweet potato cottage cheese combo!

  3. Jenny June 19, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    amen to that! right now I’m only “allowed” to do yoga but I know my body responds best when I switch it up between strength training/stretching/and now my new favorite – barre training! Have you ever tried it?!?! It’s essentially high reps/low weight moves but seriously…it BURNS! plus, I am a workout dvd hoe bag and can’t afford a gym membership 🙂

  4. debbiecutieface June 19, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    ugh I get myself into ruts ALLLLL the time! Luckily there’s spin to spice things up, huh? 😉 It’s great you’ve been trying out so many classes! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with doing a lot of cardio as long as you truly enjoy it and are eating enough to refuel properly 🙂

  5. Alexandra June 19, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Wow I’m lovin all of your exercise variation! It looks like a blast! I get so bored, so fast when I get in a workout rut haha
    And ummm your oats creations and that lunch bowl with the beans, chicken and avocado?? –two words: HOLY COW. So yummy! You’ve just inspired my next oat-tastic breakfast and lunchie salad beast! 🙂
    Hope you have fun with your dad today!

  6. lifttorun June 19, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Do you enjoy Vinyasa flow yoga class? I really want to take a class.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      YES. It felt sooo good and really is a good way to give your body a break from cardio and strength training. I feel so relaxed and destressed afterwards!

  7. Katie June 19, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    I totally agree with you! I was so stuck in a rut with lifting constantly. I missed my cardio. Cardio is a stress reliever for me, and I get stressed easily, so I needed it back. I am now doing lots of running, spinning, some Body Flow (like yoga), and doing Body Pump about 3 times a week to keep my strength up. I like this a lot better. I just do what I feel like doing and I don’t have a set plan like I did with lifting. I do have a training schedule for my half marathon, but on the days when i don’t run i get to pick and choose what I want to do, so it’s fun!

  8. Katherine June 20, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    What is spinning exactly?

    Also, do you eat Greek yogurt? I JUST added it back into my diet, see blog post, but I need some easy ways to eat it.

    • Sweet Cheeks June 20, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      I occasionally eat greek yogurt, but lately it’s been goat’s milk yogurt as it seems to be easier on my stomach. Fun ways to eat yogurt:
      1. make a parfait with whatever you like such as fruit, ground flax, nuts, granola, etc.
      2. mix in some protein powder…makes it creamy and flavorful!
      3. mix in defrosted frozen fruit
      4. add it to shakes/smoothies
      5. mix in raw oats and let set in the fridge for a while = doughy bowl of deliciousness!

      Hope that helps!

  9. katshealthcorner June 20, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    I love cardio SO much! It gives me that boost that really starts my day off right. 🙂

    YUM! I love all of the oatmeal!

  10. Jess June 20, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Switching it up is AWESOME!! I recently started a new workout plan/program because my body was TIRED of the same old, same old. And I tried a real PILATES class tonight!! WOO HOO!

  11. lindsay June 20, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    variety is the spice of life, right? good workouts and fun too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Wednesday! « Sweet Cheeks - June 22, 2011

    […] dessert […]

  2. Weekly Exercise Recap + Stevia Giveaway Winner « Sweet Cheeks - June 26, 2011

    […] it’s time for another round of my Weekly Exercise Recap. It really helped me last week to post out the week’s workouts so I can review things and see […]

Leave a Reply

