Today’s Favorite: Plyometrics

24 Jun

Happy FRIDAY! Thank you all so much for your comments on the bloggie makeover! I didn’t even mean to do it. I just started playing around and ended up with something I actually really liked. Works for me! 🙂

It’s time for Friday’s Favs…or rather, just one favorite this time around. I wanted to give you guys some info on a new-to-me type of workout that I have been loving:

Plyometrics

The idea of plyometrics is to develop the greatest amount of force in the shortest amount of time. It is one of the BEST ways to increase power, strength, and stamina and can be a very effective workout especially if you want to see results but not be spending hours in the gym.

Benefits of Plyometrics:

  • decrease risk of injury
  • enhanced calorie burning
  • improved muscular endurance
  • great supplement to weight training
  • short workout (but intense)

I put together a little segment of 10 of my favorite plyo moves. However, there are an endless amount of different ones you can do, so there is no chance of you ever getting bored with plyos!

I did this workout all the way through, only taking a short rest to catch my breath between each different exercise. Then I took a longer 1-2 minute rest and completed the whole thing again.

medicine ball squat jump:

lateral bound:

box jump:

alternating plyo pushups:

medicine ball arch chops:

single foot lateral hops:

Single leg lateral hops

zigzag hops:

Zigzag hops

lateral hurdle jumps:

Lateral hurdle jumps

tuck jumps:

Tuck jumps

power skipping:

 

There you go! It’s awesome and I was a sweaty mess after this. Check out HERE and HERE for other awesome moves.

Have you ever done a plyometric workout?

Before I go, two things today:

1. try this workout!!!

2. enter my giveaway! I will be choosing a winner on Sunday.

Have a great day everyone!

Kristi

19 Responses to “Today’s Favorite: Plyometrics”

  1. Shannon June 24, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Cool! Sounds like a great workout! Im going to try it soon =)

  2. keepnthefaith June 24, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I love plyo!!! I did one yesterday and am totally feeling it today. I love how crazy tired my legs feel after I mean seriously what an awesome feeling!!! I can’t wait to do it again 🙂

  3. Tiff June 24, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I love plyo! Well… I don’t love doing it, but I love the results.

  4. janetha @ meals & moves June 24, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I love plyo! Those animated graphics rule.

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 24, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I looove doing plyo moves! They make for the best workouts! Thanks for the tips!

  6. Christy June 24, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    I do plyometric workouts here and there. I mostly do them in classes at my gyms because I can’t seem to just do them by myself.

  7. Jess June 24, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    These moves look FANTASTIC!!

  8. Kris | iheartwellness.com June 25, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    I totally rock the P90X plyo workout once a week with my man! Its hard as heck, but super good!! Love it!

    xxoo

    • Sweet Cheeks June 25, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

      I totally want to try p90x…that and insanity!

  9. Alexandra June 25, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    I love all of the little animations in this, it’s so helpful! Thanks for posting! 😀

  10. debbiecutieface June 25, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    ahhh those exercises look killer hahah

  11. forgottenbeast June 25, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I’ve never done a completely plyo workout, but I like incorporating different moves in with weightlifting and my regular routine. Definitely going to try some of these out!

  12. katshealthcorner June 25, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    That sounds like such a fun workout!! I especially love the power skipping!!! It reminds me of my childhood memories. 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks June 25, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

      Yep, I feel like a little kid again when I do them. LOVE that move!

  13. Jenny June 25, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    These workouts look so fun, I’ve never done plyometrics before but I would most definitely give it a try 😀

  14. Jessica, the_toned_teach June 6, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    Can I just admit that I secretly LOVE powerskipping around my gym? people think I’m nuts, and I thought I was too… till I saw them do it the next week 😉 Got to love being FitFluential!

    • Sweetly Fit June 6, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

      haha that’s awesome! That image of you made my day hehe.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Exercise Recap + Stevia Giveaway Winner « Sweet Cheeks - June 26, 2011

    […] solo weights session w/ some plyo moves + restorative yoga […]

  2. Sweetly Fit - October 3, 2011

    […] To get some cardio in, I like adding a few rounds of Tabata at the end of my lifting sessions, using high-intensity plyo moves. Check out my post on my favorite plyo moves! […]

Leave a Reply

