Maybe he needs a protein shake

25 Jun

That is what I was thinking this morning after noticing how not-so-perky my tomato plant is currently looking:

008 

Poor guy. I’ve had him only a few months (grad present!) and some of the leaves are already wilting! I water him enough so I don’t know what in the world I’m doing wrong…or if that is just normal. I’m crossing my fingers that he’ll make it through because I’m ready for some big juicy tomaters!!!

If a protein shake is in fact what he needs, I would definitely be able to hook him up. Here are two recently bought ones that I am currently enjoying:

002

Olympian Labs vanilla pea protein and Cytosport chocolate casein

These were bought off Vitacost last week in an attempt to find some more tummy-friendly options.

Pea protein = 100% dairy-free

Cytosport casein = lactose and gluten free (unlike Optimum Nutrition’s)

So far I am very pleased with both of them. They are delicious and didn’t bother my stomach one bit which is pretty impressive. Dare I say I like this casein better than OP? I do! In shake-form. Don’t try making a protein pudding/sludge out of it because it will turn into a gummy goopy mess. I tried that last night and dumped it right into the trash. Then I went for attempt #2 with the pea protein and had muuuuch better success.  Other than that, I give both of them two thumbs up!

Last night, I kicked off the weekend with quite possibly one of my favorite things to make: Stuffed Peppers!

007

First off, I boil the pepper in hot water for about 5 minutes to get it soft. Then I stuffed it with a mixture of:

  • lean ground turkey, lightly cooked
  • kidney beans
  • wild rice
  • chopped onion
  • tomato paste
  • salsa
  • garlic powder, basil, oregano, black pepper

Bake at 350* for around 30 minutes. Perfecto.

I also had some savory cookies:

004

That is what I call Katelyn’s baked falafel balls. They are so cute! Almost too cute to eat…”almost” being the operative word here.

I finished things out with some dessert action a little while later, because what meal is complete without a little chocolate?

008

chocolate chia protein pudding with soynut butter and carob chips

The pudding was a recipe in Oxygen Mag and is super duper easy.

Chocolate Chia Protein Pudding:

  • 1 cup protein powder
  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 4 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 12 oz water
  • 1/4 cup flaxmeal
  • packet of stevia
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

Combine everything and let chill in the fridge. This is full of Omega goodness and it very thick and decedent. A winner in my book for sure. 

This morning I was up completely bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 6 a.m. I don’t know who I am anymore. But I was glad to be up because that meant I could catch the 7:30 Saturday morning spin class. I downed some water and a ball of deliciousness and was on my way. What a wonderful way to start the day! I love the instructor that taught. She always has the best playlists. And I think music makes all the difference in spin. I was in the zone the entire time. Can you say Spinner’s High?! Ahhhh. 🙂

When I got back home I had breakfast waiting for me in the fridge:

010

I made a bowl of pumpkin egg white oats last night and this morning I topped it with sliced banana,  soynut butter, and chocolate chia protein pudding. Clearly, I was feelin’ the combo from last night’s dessert. 😀

I’ve since already my errands for the day and am currently relaxing with some tennis. Anyone else watching the Wimbledon championship? I ❤ Nadal…my favorite Spaniard man!

What are YOU doing today?

P.S. last chance for the stevia giveaway!

kristi

13 Responses to “Maybe he needs a protein shake”

  1. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Aww your poor tomato plant! I wish I could tell you if you were doing something wrong, but I’m a plant killer myself, so my advice probably isn’t worth much 😉

    And I wake up ridiculously early even on weekends – I think I was up at 5 today. But it’s kinda nice because then the day feels so much longer and more productive 😀

  2. katshealthcorner June 25, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Your Chocolate Chia Protein Pudding looks AMAZING!!!!!!!!!

    I’m so sorry about your Tomato Plant! I hope he gets better soon. 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks June 25, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      thanks, I’ll send the get well soon wishes his way. 😉

  3. Jess June 25, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    I’d love to wake up to that delicious bowl of oats 😀

    I’ve heard GREAT things about pea protein!!

  4. Christy June 25, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I went to spin class this morning also. It was killer!

    Ahhhh. We are twins with the pea protein.

  5. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 25, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Today I drove home from being away and am TRYING to catch up on everyones posts! My inbox is filled to the brim!! Haha!

  6. thefitacademic June 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    awww, I have a perpetual black thumb!! I’m always killing whatever plants I’m trying to nurture!!! So I have no tips – but I hope the plant picks up for ya! : )

  7. Alexandra June 26, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Oh my word, my poor tomato plant has the EXACT SAME issue! I water him, keep him out of the insane sun–everything a good plant mommy should do? It drives me crazy, our neighbors have tomato plants and they’re overflowing with gorgeous tomatoes…guess I’m just not cut out to be a farmer haha 😀 Maybe I should give my plant some of that wicked cool casein you got 😉

  8. stephanie June 26, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    You rock for getting up for spin class! And yum, I love stuffed peppers!! Your dessert AND breakfast look yummy too!

  9. Jenny June 26, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    my body just won’t give me a break! despite how late I go to bed I always naturally wake up around 7 without fail. I’m going to really regret not talking advantage of being able to sleep in when I’m old and working a real job!

    p.s. feel free to email me if you have any questions about P57!

  10. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody June 26, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    That chocolate chia pudding looks really great and I love that you topped it on your breakfast! It must have been a great breakfast topper.

    Good luck with your tomato plant! Mine really need more sun, otherwise I think they are going to remain un fruitful children forever 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Faves: Food Edition « Sweet Cheeks - July 1, 2011

    […] Chocolate Chia Protein Pudding with lots of shredded coconut and carob chips […]

Leave a Reply

