Weekly Exercise Recap + Stevia Giveaway Winner

26 Jun

Happy Sunday to you all!

Thank you to everyone who entered the Stevia giveaway. I’m really glad that Ron at Nunaturals allowed me to pick 4 winners…WAY better than just 1! With the help of random.org number generator, the winners are…                          *insert drum roll please*

#3…AnAppleADay

#6…Kat

#23…Karina

#24…Katie

Congrats ladies!!! Please email me your shipping info to: sweetcheeks131ATgmailDOTcom

Now it’s time for another round of my Weekly Exercise Recap. It really helped me last week to post out the week’s workouts so I can review things and see where I need to make changes, etc. 

Here is what went down this week:

Monday: light trail run/walk. 3 miles

Tuesday: REST

Wednesday: Body Pump

Thursday: faster trail run/walk. 3 miles

Friday: Body Pump

Saturday: Spin Class

Sunday: solo weights session w/ some plyo moves + restorative yoga class

So obviously I am still loving taking classes. They are such a fun change of pace. I seriously used to do the majority of my workouts AT HOME, but now that I’ve gotten a taste of what else is out there, I wonder how I didn’t get so bored before! There are still some more classes I want to try, hot yoga and boot camp mainly. I am kind of intimated to try hot yoga though. It’s a 90 minute class…and I don’t know if I will be able to handle the heat. But I’ll never know unless I try!

On the food front, I just made a batch of Christina’s fajita chicken:

004

plus zucchini and onion: (didn’t have any bell pepper!)

006

Want to know what my new favorite kitchen gadget is?

005

A tenderizer!

It is THE secret to amazing chicken…that and making sure not to overcook it. Chicken can be so boring and meh until you find out the keys to cooking it just right. Then it is the best thing ever. For real.

I’m planning on having this tonight with some beans and wild rice. I LOVE MEXICAN. Just goes to show you how easy it is to make any cuisine healthified. 😀

Today I will leave you with a great email I got today…from my daily meditation:

Requirement For Healthy Self-Esteem: “It’s always uncomfortable to grow.”

Many of the things that are required to build and maintain healthy self-esteem can be uncomfortable, but the truth is they are essential. The good news is, with practice, uneasiness subsides and they become part of who you are.

Saying “No,” and asserting yourself, asking for what you want, expressing your true feelings, saying positive things about yourself, letting someone love and nurture you…these may all be things that are uncomfortable. But, only at first.

One sure way to conquer discomfort is to simply do what is uncomfortable. Step away from complacency and dare to grow and develop yourself today. Start by choosing something that you have been putting off. Then, just do it!

I can really relate to this because I will admit it; I don’t like to be out of my comfort zone. It is something that is hard for me to do. When I am faced with a challenge, the thought to run in the opposite direction always seems to enter my mind. But guess what? I am about to be put WAY out of my comfort zone in just two short months when I move away from home and start college. So I had better get used to it now. I am ready to do this. I know it may not be easy, but it will most definitely be WORTH IT.

So I challenge you all to take a step out of your comfort zones and just see what happens. I bet ya you will feel amazing. 🙂

Kristi

19 Responses to “Weekly Exercise Recap + Stevia Giveaway Winner”

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 26, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Your workouts look awesome! Way to stay active girl!

  2. Jenny June 26, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I love how versatile your workout regime is! seriously, I just don’t understand how some people can just run countless miles…ever day. It seems so monotonous, right? Ah well — to each her own!

    I’ve never one hot yoga myself but do NOT have a good relationship with heat. I tend to get really weak and light headed. I prefer my flows air conditioned 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks June 26, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      I would not be happy or content running mile after mile day in and day out. Variety is the spice of life!

  3. emma June 26, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I tried hot yoga a couple of months ago and I’m not gonna lie, it was hard because of the heat. The next day I did it again and it was more tolerable because I knew how to handle it – DEEEEP breathing! I’d like to do it regularly but I’m afraid there are no classes near where I live. Try it tho – I can imagine that it’s addictive and you feel so great afterwards! I’m glad I found your blog 🙂

  4. In Sweetness and In Health June 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I like that quote! Totally true, and I need to do more of it 🙂

  5. pumpedforpumpkin June 26, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I love how versatile your workouts are! I used to do body pump all the time until I injured my back but I’m slowly working my way to get back into the classes again! Spinning was by far my favorite to take. I’ve also been looking for a hot yoga class but can’t seem to find any around me!

  6. Cait @ Beyond Bananas June 26, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Awesome workouts! You really mix it up! I wish my gym offered body pump – there are so many bloggers how have SUCH awesome things to say about it.. I want in!

  7. Christy June 27, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    I’m nervous to take hot yoga too. Besides, my mom freaks out whenever I mention hot yoga. I don’t get it.

  8. debbiecutieface June 27, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    I totally agree – stepping out of your comfort zone is absolutely ESSENTIAL to living a full, healthy and happy life.

    I’m not a yoga person, but my sister is, and she is ALL about the hot yoga! I think if you love yoga anyway then you might like that class!

  9. Alexandra June 27, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    That zucchini onion mix, oh heavens it’s making me foam at the mouth!! Yummy!! Your week’s exercise looks like it was a blast, I am just crazy for all of the variety! 🙂

  10. Tessa at Amazing Asset June 27, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    I’m glad you shared that email! I always need a reminder and a good kick in the pants to step out of my comfort zone. I realize it makes such a positive difference and allows you to take a chance, rather than hiding from your fears… which is what I tend to do!

  11. ilovefetacheese June 27, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    yummy yummy i hope you liked it!! ❤ congrats to all the winners!

  12. Jess June 27, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    That chicken looks SO good..love healthified Mexican 😀

  13. stephanie June 27, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    awesome! Where did you find that tenderizer?

    • Sweet Cheeks June 27, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      It’s just an old one that my family has had FOREVER, haha. You can get them pretty much anywhere though..Walmart, Target, etc. 🙂

  14. IHeartVegetables June 27, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    I love mexican too!!! I’m a bean fanatic and I love spice, so mexican is one of my favorites!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. At Home Upper Body Burn « Sweet Cheeks - June 27, 2011

    […] Here was my finished mexican dinner from last night: […]

  2. Shop til’ you drop « Sweet Cheeks - June 29, 2011

    […] meat-eating in the same post. I think I’ve done enough for today. I guess you could say that just like with my exercise, I like my foods to be high in variety as well. Gotta keep things […]

Leave a Reply

