At Home Upper Body Burn

27 Jun

Welcome to a new week!

Here was my finished mexican dinner from last night:

002

fajita chicken with onion and zucchini strips, wild rice, kidney beans, spinach, and avocado

So good! It reminded me a lot of Chipotle, one of my favorite places to eat!

And this morning, I decided to make up for missing Pancake Sunday yesterday. (I rolled with oats instead.)

003

Pumpkin Pancakes:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • pinches of cinnamon, vanilla extract, baking powder
  • peanut butter and maple syrup for dipping

I put my pb in another little container because I like to dip, just like with my syrup. That way, every bite gets covered in the good stuff. πŸ˜€

I also had some iced cof with stevia drops:

006

Yesterday I made up my own strength training circuit to do this morning. The name fits it well as I was definitely burnin’ after completing it!

At Home Upper Body Burn!

bench dips (with weight)

pushups on exercise ball

chest flies on exercise ball

military shoulder press

shrugs

upright row

triceps kickbacks

lateral raises

perform 8-12 reps of each move before immediately moving on to the next. Rest for 1 minute then perform circuit another 1-2 times for a total of 3 rounds.

Now I’m headed out on a walk with Jaci before going to babysit for the afternoon. 4 kids should keep me pretty busy and probably qualify as workout #2 of the day, ha! Wish me luck!

I’m also hoping to have some time to read because I started a new book! It’s called The Poison Study:

Very interesting so far!

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday! Who’s watching the Bachelorette tonight? Hopefully this will be the last episode I’ll have to hear about BENTLEY.

Kristi

 

23 Responses to “At Home Upper Body Burn”

  1. Shannon June 27, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Thanks for the pumkin pancake recipe! I’ve been lookin for one for a while =)

  2. Alexandra June 27, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Ooh nice upper body routine!! That prolly got the sweat going! Good luck babysitting later, hope they won’t wear you out too bad haha! πŸ™‚

  3. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Those pancakes look yummy!!! Do you grind up the oats before making that pancakes or just leave them whole???

    • Sweet Cheeks June 27, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      oops, I forgot to say that I do blend everything up just a little before I plop them on the griddle. I like a little texture!

  4. katshealthcorner June 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I LOVE PUMPKIN!! πŸ˜€ Thank you for the best recipe EVER! πŸ˜€

  5. Angie @ The Fitness Apple June 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    I did a post yesterday asking about bentley too! I wonder what kinda drama is going to happen with his return. Ashley was seriously obsessed with him when she only knew him for less than a 3 weeks LOL. Thats a little crazy if you ask me!. P.s. Chipotle is one of the best places ever! You got me craving mexican now! πŸ™‚ Great blog by the way, can’t wait to return tmrw πŸ™‚

    • sweet cheeks June 27, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      If only she really knew what all he said about her, eekk!

      thanks for the blog compliment Angie! πŸ™‚

  6. Angie @ The Fitness Apple June 27, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    p.s. adding you to my blog roll!

  7. debbiecutieface June 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    CHYEAHH I’m watching The Bachelorette (not tonight, though, tomorrow on Hulu because my TV really confuses me haha!)

    although if I hear “Bentley” one more time I might smash my computer screen

  8. Samantha June 27, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Hi Kristi, thank you for the sweet comment on my blog! I’m so impressed with all the yummy recipes and killer workouts you’ve got on yours! I’ll totally keep checking back (:

  9. Tessa at Amazing Asset June 27, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Great workout! I always am looking for new upper body workouts, and this one would fit nicely into my schedule, thanks lady!

    And I will also be watching tonight but if I hear that damn name… well everyone better clear out around me πŸ˜‰

  10. allieksmith June 27, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Babysitting always tuckers me out as well! I need to check out that book.. what is it about?!

  11. Jenny June 27, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Love the pancakes! And what a great upper body workout. Upright rows are my favorite πŸ˜€

  12. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody June 27, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    That pancake recipe is one of a kind. I love that it uses oats instead of flour and I love that it’s got cottage cheese in it!

  13. Christy June 27, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    Nice workout. Killa.

    What’s the The Poison Study about?

  14. cyanik June 28, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    Great upper body exercises! I could feel the burn… I also love pumpkin so thanks for posting the pumpkin pancake recipe.

  15. Jess June 28, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    BURN BABY BURNNNNN!! You go girl. That workout looks like a doozey. (that’s not how you spell it…)

    watching the BACHELORETTE HECKKK YES.

  16. Katherine June 28, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Sounds like one awesome workout!

  17. teeneatlive June 28, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I went to my first Body Pump class yesterday….I am SORE today. GAH! Felt good though πŸ˜€

  18. forgottenbeast June 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Well that Mexican dinner is just plain ol’ gorgeous. Yum! And I read Sea Glass by Maria Snyder and was a huge un-fan, but I haven’t tried any other series by her. You’ll have to post a finished review!

  19. Jenny June 29, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    can you believe I’ve never been to a chipotle!? awful, right? I think i’d rather just come to la casa de sweet cheeks anyway though πŸ˜‰

  20. attemptedhealthyandhappy May 24, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Dinner looks so good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Guys Are SO AMAZING! « katshealthcorner - June 28, 2011

    […] Sweet Cheeks […]

Leave a Reply

