Meat vs Meatless

29 Jun

Hi guys! Happy Hump Day!

Today is a relaxation day. I am wiped! I had a bit of a shopping fest yesterday and I’m sure we all can agree that shopping is most definitely exercise. I was out and about for most of the day and scored some awesome deals. By the time I got home, I fixed an easy dinner and promptly plopped down on the couch for the rest of the evening. I watched two of my current favorite shows: Master Chef…and a new one called Combat Hospital. Anybody fans?

Although today is being declared a relaxation day, I couldn’t resist going to get my Body Pump on this morning. It burned so good. 🙂

Then I came home and made my newest favorite recovery shake. It is pure bliss and I look forward to it every time!

011

Yes, I put it in an empty Starbucks container…I love drinking out of them!

Chocolate Sweet Potato Protein Shake:

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein (I used Muscle Gauge Nutrition whey isolate)
  • 1 cooked and frozen sweet potato, skin taken off and cut into chunks
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup water
  • ice

Simple, delicious, and a great source of protein and carbs to recover from a tough workout. But I mostly drink it because it tastes like dessert. 😉 Another thing I love about adding the frozen sweet potato is that it really thickens up the shake a lot and I don’t even need to use any xanthan/guar gum to make it creamy.

This morning I also found an awesome article on vegetarian meals…

Check out these 11 vegetarian meals to blast belly fat. I want to make them all!!! The tofu peanut noodles and portobello roasted red pepper burger sound amazing.

Or how about a 4 veggie pizza?

pasta with walnut basil pesto?

Get in my belly.

Obviously, vegetarian does NOT = being deprived/limited. It just means being creative! I love experimenting with vegetarian fare and try to incorporate at least 1-2 veggie-fied dinners a week.

Ironically enough, I’m planning on having steak for dinner tonight. LOL. Sorry to my veggies out there. Every once in a while I will crave it..and I make sure to honor my cravings and have what I want! Plus, it’s a good iron boost..aka ENERGY!

Well there you have it…I have officially managed to promote vegetarianism and hardcore meat-eating in the same post. I think I’ve done enough for today. I guess you could say that just like with my exercise, I like my foods to be high in variety as well. Gotta keep things interesting!

Time to get back to that “relaxing day” I have planned. There will hopefully be some Kindle reading, outdoor lounging, and Wimbledon tennis watching going on over here…with plenty of good food, too of course.

What is your favorite vegetarian meal? Favorite meat meal?

For vegetarian, I love stirfrys with tofu. Or stuffed peppers with beans, quinoa, and tomato sauce. For meat-eaters meal, I’d say I currently am a big fan of chicken nuggets a la Kalyn…homemade with almond meal coating!

Kristi

26 Responses to “Meat vs Meatless”

  1. Cassie June 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    That pizza looks wayyyyy too good–need it now! Maybe I’ll make pizza for lunch with meatless meatballs? Wanna come over for lunch? lol. That sweet potato instead of xan. gum sounds so good, I need to try it–my stash is getting low anyway (is xantham gum expensive everywhere or is my Whole Foods $13 bag wayyy overpriced?) Have an awesome day relaxing, girl!

    • Sweet Cheeks June 29, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      I will definitely come over for lunch is you’re making pizza! 😀 And xanthan is expensive but I’ve seen it for around 10-11 bucks most places. Why does Whole Foods think they can always jack up the prices a few bucks?! Grr!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! June 29, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Favorite veggie meal is either loaded vegan baked potatoes or sweet potato lentil chili! Favorite meat meal is anything with fish!

  3. Allison @ PickyEatingRD June 29, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Quinoa is a fav of mine when cooking veggie. It is a complete protein!

  4. Alexandra June 29, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Ooh I’m loving the smoothie! I love love love putting taters in my shakes, but I never thought of freezing the sweet potato before, I HAVE to try that! 😀

  5. Jess June 29, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I LOVE grilled chicken, but for a veggie-meal I LOVE a roasted spaghetti squash. 😀

  6. Allie June 29, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    My favorite vegetarian meal is a sweet potato lentil stew with corn bread!

  7. Tessa @ Amazing Asset June 29, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    I have never even though of putting potatoes in my smoothie! Yes, I may or may not live under a box… Thank you for the idea!
    I love roast chicken for a meat dish and anything where the main ingredient is a sweet potato wins my heart for a veggie meal 🙂

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody June 29, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    I love how you put your recovery drink in a startbucks container! My favorite veggies meal is tofu stirfry with seeds!

  9. Amanda @ Running with Spoons June 29, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Frozen sweet potato in a shake? Genius! Omigosh I’ve GOT to try that… when it actually cools down and I can turn on the oven to bake a sweet potato without having to worry about melting.

    My fave vegi meals are definitely tofu stir fries, but I love a good mexican dish with beans, veggies, salsa, and guac 😀

  10. Christy June 29, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I need to get chocolate protein powder. I’m all out!

    Yay for vegetarians! You can eat so much when you are vegetarian. There are hardly any limits.

  11. katshealthcorner June 29, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG! 😀

  12. Katherine June 30, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    I don’t eat meat, but I think my favorite meal is anything with some baked sweet potato 😀

  13. Jenny June 30, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    That veggie pizza looks incredible and I am so intrigued by that sweet tatter shake. I’ve never seen that before!

  14. debbiecutieface June 30, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    I love vegetarian meals, but I LOVE me a big juicy piece of meat (that’s what she said)…mmm

  15. Jenny June 30, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    you know me and my love for meat! I say, eat steak when you want.. eat portabella mushroom burgers when you want… just as long as you’re eating! 🙂

  16. paoang June 30, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Shopping is DEFINITELY exercise, haha! And I love it ♥
    I loved the protein shake with the frozen sweet potato btw, that’s so ingenious! And now I’m craving some 🙂
    My fave vegetarian dish would definitely be anything that has quinoa, beans, peanut butter, or sweet potatoes in it. Not together though…wait, maybe the combo would rock! :O And for meat, I LOVE salmon. Nothing could ever separate us ♥

  17. juliegolean June 30, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    amen to that protein smoothie! i have been obsessed with frozen sweet potato in smoothies lately and today i just popped some canned pumpkin in ice cube trays!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 1, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      How could I not think of pumpkin!?! Too bad its not readily available at my local grocery store anymore, boo!

  18. Stephanie July 1, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    Those dishes look good and…sweet potato shake, I must make one of those, such a brilliant idea

    I make vegetarian meals because sometimes theyre easier, but I sure am a meat eater (mostly just white meat). My favorite veggie meal is probably just making tacos without meat, but cooking the veggies in taco seasoning.simple and tasty

  19. ilovefetacheese July 1, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    those chicken nuggets are soo goooddd. also, that veggie sandwich is epic!!

  20. The Candid RD July 1, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    I love adding sweet potatoes to my smoothie…I’m glad I’m not the only one! People look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them I do that.
    Favorite vegetarian meal? Has to be a bean burger or tempeh sloppy joes!

  21. Lindsey @ Why Just Eat July 3, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Never in a million (or two million) years would I think to put a sweet potato in a shake. I’m so going to try that!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gormet Dorm Room? « Sweet Cheeks - July 11, 2011

    […] Sweet potato protein shake […]

Leave a Reply

