The easiest muffins you will ever make

5 Jul

Happy Monday…err Tuesday. Anyone else thrown off by the long weekend? My morning started off pretty wonky when I headed to the gym for spin class at the WRONG time. As I was walking into the spin room, I was thinking wow, it must be a slow day for classes. Um, no Kristi, everyone else is just going to actually be there at the scheduled time. Ah well, you win some you lose some. But all was not lost. I headed to the cardio room to create my own workout. I really wanted to LIFT but I’m saving it for Body Pump tomorrow morning, that is, if I can get the time right! :p

I kept things pretty simple with a stairmill + rising incline treadmill combo. These are my two favorite pairings when I use the cardio room (which isn’t often anymore, except for sometimes a warm-up or cool-down) because they build up your legs and booty! And this girl wouldn’t mind a little extra booty. 🙂 Anways, the stairmill is pretty self-explanatory, which I did for about 10 minutes, but for the rising incline treadmill portion I just increased my incline by 1% every minute all the way up to 15% incline and followed with a an easy non-incline cool down for 5 minutes. Next time I want to just do the treadmill and work my way up to the 15% incline and all the way back down. I can feel my my legs burning already!

So lets talk food. I haven’t done a big food post for a while so I figured today it should happen…starting with a recipe that could not be ANY easier, yet tastes great! They are all natural, very clean, and make an excellent snack especially for pre or post workout.

3 Ingredient Blueberry Power Muffins

(From Oxygen Magazine)

009

Ingredients:

  • liquid egg whites
  • blueberries (I used frozen)
  • oats

Spray silicon muffin tins with cooking spray and add a tbsp of oats and a tbsp of blueberries into each tin. Then pour the liquid egg whites in, one by one, until tins are filled 3/4 of the way. Baked at 400 for approximately 20-25 minutes.

No sweeteners added, yet these babies have flavor all on their own. You can really taste the sweetness of the blueberries and the nutty-ness of the oats. I just love them! I like to make a big batch in advance and store them in the fridge for grab-and-go.

Other recent eats:

008

egg white oatbran with banana, maple syrup, and homemade almond/sunflower nut butter

006

cabbage and broccoli saute with nitrate free chicken sausage and gauc (avocado, lemon, olive oil, salt, pepper)

015

KALE CHIPS. Love these crunchy fellas! with nooch, garlic powder, salt, pepper

002

Amanda’s Blissful Banana Bread, which really is pure bliss. Best banana bread ever, anyone?! Come on over!

001 

crackers + cottage cheese = salty snack winner.

012

my newest favorite bread, sprouted grain bread from French Meadow Bakery. which tastes amaze with some peanut butter, or even all by itself!

001

wild rice mixed with hummus, sauteed cabbage, salsa, chicken, almond cheddar, dijon mustard, and liquid aminos.

003

protein pudding with coconut butter on top

And I just realized tomorrow is What I ate Wednesday, so I’ll be be back for another food-filled post tomorrow!

Have a great not-Monday! 😉

Kristi

30 Responses to “The easiest muffins you will ever make”

  1. keepnthefaith July 5, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Those muffins are SO simple!! I bet they’d be even better with some cinnamon in there 🙂
    Cinnamon and oats are my go to combo when I make my oatmeal granola or bars!!

  2. Alexandra July 5, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Thanks for the awesome muffin recipe! I’m so lazy with cooking, so that’s a gift from God! 😀 That sprouted bread also looks really tasty with that slab of PB, I need to hunt that down asap.
    I’m SO messed up from the 4 day week too–even during summer vacation I get insanely thrown off haha!

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 5, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    All your eats look delicious, and I’m so glad you liked the banana bread 😀 I get thrown off by long weekends too… I spent half the day thinking yesterday was Sunday. I’m sorry that you missed your class, but it still sounds like you got an awesome workout in, so all’s good, right? 😀

    Hope you’re having a wonderful Tuesday 😉

  4. Christy July 5, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Yum! I need to buy some blueberries myself. I ate them all in like two days and we even got a huge bucket full.

    • Sweet Cheeks July 5, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      They don’t last very long over here either!!

  5. Sweet and Savvy July 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Great muffin recipe! 🙂 I’ll have to give it a try!

    How do you make your protein pudding?

    • Sweet Cheeks July 5, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      I just mix a serving of protein powder with almond milk or water to thin. easy peasy!

  6. Erika July 5, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I’m excited to try this muffin recipe! I love finding simple things and I have loads of blueberries in my fridge 🙂

  7. Er July 5, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    wow, that is an easy recipe. How did it taste?

    • Sweet Cheeks July 5, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      I thought they tasted good! It’s not your typical fluffy muffin, but they were good in their own way. 🙂

  8. karinacocina17 July 5, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    muffin recipe=bookmarked!!! sounds so good and easy! ill try it using egg beaters since thats all i have so they will probably be yellow haha

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 6, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    All your eats look so scrumptious! That 3 ingredient recipe is awesome, I bet it would be really easy to clean up after making them 🙂

  10. Jess July 6, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I hate when classes get cancelled/wrong time and I don’t know. Or changed. That’s happened to me, BOOOO!!

    but gotta love a good sweat session 😉

  11. Katie July 6, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    I need to buy some cabbage now! Those stir frys look good! Plus, cabbage is cheap!

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 6, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    Wow those are simple! Thank you for providing this easy peezy recipe 😀

  13. katshealthcorner July 6, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Those muffins sound INCREDIBLE! I love how easy they are!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  14. Katherine July 6, 2011 at 3:18 am #

    Looks like some yummy food!

  15. ilovefetacheese July 6, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    ahhh your food always looks so good!!

  16. Megeg July 6, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I read that recipe and was like…where are the rest of the ingredients?! HA no joke they’re so easy!! That’s awesome 🙂 I should make em too!

    I am SO thrown off by the long weekend too, I feel ya love!

    🙂

  17. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 6, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Wow those muffins are simple! I’m curious about how they taste…so I think I’ll try them out! There so east anyways….might as well!

  18. allieksmith July 6, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I subscribe to Oxygen and I saw that recipe… I was wondering if they were any good and it is cool that you posted about em! Woot!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 6, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      I love Oxygen. I get so many great ideas from them!

  19. Molly August 15, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Wow, three ingredients- that’s crazy! Bookmarked 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIAW + WIWW « Sweet Cheeks - July 6, 2011

    […] almond milk, ice, pinch of the gums, almond extract. Open faced turkey sandwich on my new favorite sprouted grain bread with some spinach, sprouts, and […]

  2. Bacon me up « Sweet Cheeks - August 2, 2011

    […] had a couple 3 ingredient power muffins before I completed the […]

  3. Saturday Night Fever « - August 14, 2011

    […] 3 Ingredient Blueberry Power Muffins from Kristi: 3 ingredients!? I am ALL over that!!!! […]

  4. WIAW: round…who knows « Sweet Cheeks - August 17, 2011

    […] 3 ingredient muffins […]

  5. batheart - August 22, 2011

    […] got blueberries and I’m really tempted to make these 3 ingredient blueberry muffins  I found when stalking blogs yesterday :3 I might have them for breakfast tomorrow and then […]

  6. noface « batheart - August 27, 2011

    […] days ago I finally managed to try these muffins. and they where good ! so easy and quick to make too 🐱 I'm a huge muffin and […]

Leave a Reply

