Dreadmill workout and Nitrean Protein Review!

8 Jul

HAPPY FRIDAY!

The weekend is already off to a great start, as I sit here drinking some iced coffee. I can’t get enough of it lately! It’s the perfect summer time drink.

Rewind to yesterday, where I did a great cardio workout on the DREADMILL. It doesn’t happen very often, and actually I had planned on going to spin class, my preferred method of cardio, later that night. But I didn’t have much going on, and I was getting antsy…I needed to move. So I switched plans and ended up with an awesome sweat sesh!

It was basically a combination of high incline speed walking and low incline jogging, switching back and worth every 5 minutes. Here is what it looked like:

minute incline mph
0…5 5 3.5
5…10 2 6
10…15 12 4
15…20 2 6
20…25 12 4
25…30 2 6
30…35 2 3.5

It was yet another great way to change things up in the exercise department. Those high inclines burn so good. 🙂

Post workout, I had the opportunity to try a new-to-me protein powder that I recently received:

010

Chris at At Large Nutrition was kind enough to send me a tub to try after being curious about it for a while now. I got the Nitrean original protein blend in vanilla. Here are the highlights:

  • blend of whey, casein, and egg
  • 22 grams of protein per serving
  • comes in vanilla, chocolate, or strawberry, and also a Nitrean+ version: containing more whey isolate and amino acid Leucine which helps promote protein synthesis for intense training

I loved that the protein had a blend of three very beneficial sources, making this a good choice for an all-around any time of the day protein. It can be be used pre/post workout, at bedtime, or whenever desired. This would be a huge plus for somebody that wanted to buy only one protein powder. Also, the blend of whey, casein, and egg made for a fairly thick and creamy shake! I could tell that they used high quality protein because it digested very well for me and I was very happy to not have any stomach troubles, as I tend to do with many of the ones I have tried in the past. The taste was pretty good, too. I thought it made a nice base for other things to be added to (frozen fruit, nut butters, etc). All in all, I don’t have any complaints about Nitrean protein powder and would definitely recommend it!

***

Food has still been very summery over here lately. Lots of fresh stuff!

003

egg white pumpkin oats with blended silken tofu, cantaloupe, and strawberries

004

salad beasts with mozzarella rice cheeze, hummus, balsamic, and seasonings (this was a side to a meal)

005

lots of shakes and smoothies

007

fruit cups and egg casserole

009

high protein eggplant lasagna with roasted turnips and broccoli cooked in coconut oil and seasonings

010

chocolate protein ice cream with vegan dark chocolate coconut snowballs

My protein ice cream is made simply by blending up 1 scoop protein powder (I use Cytosport Casein) 1 cup almond milk, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, ice, pinches of xanthan and guar gums. Basically the same way I make my basic protein shakes, except I add more of the gums to get the thickness factor!

That all for now, hope you guys have a great Friday!

Kristi

24 Responses to “Dreadmill workout and Nitrean Protein Review!”

  1. keepnthefaith July 8, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    That’s the ONLY way I do treadmill work!! I love changing the incline or my pace. I hate running as it is, but when I’m working hard I don’t even notice 🙂
    I’ve also been downing iced coffee like its my job. I make a pot each night and in 2 days that baby is gone 🙂

  2. Alexandra July 8, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Ooh I’ve never heard of that protein before, but it sounds like a really quality product. Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    I’ve got to buy me a cantaloupe asap, we just ran out and I almost died seeing that oaty eggy combo yummmm!!

  3. Cassie July 8, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Funny! I make the exact same “ice cream” for desert, same way too! I knew I liked you haha. That lasagna looks amazing too 🙂

  4. movesnmunchies July 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    i lovee that workout! love the new blog layout too!!

  5. Meg July 8, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Dreadmill FOR REAL haha 😉 I hate the treadmill and I cannot remember the last time I was on it. Bless your soul, Kristi.

    I love seeing new protein shenanigans! And her egg casserole looks to die for…must.make.soon.

    Aka now.

    Love you!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 8, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      every once in a blue moon i actually enjoy them! Crazy? Perhaps. 🙂

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 8, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    That lasagna looks delish and I don’t even like lasagna ussually!!! Haha I guess you just make it look yummy! 🙂

  7. allieksmith July 8, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Haaaapppyy Friday! Yay for switching things up in the exercise dept! I love doing that 🙂

  8. Christy July 8, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    You are brave for taking on the treadmill.

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 8, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Looks like an awesome treadmill workout! I don’t use the treadmill often so I’m not used to those incline, I think it would be super hardcore! I’m loving the summer foods 🙂

  10. Jenny July 8, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    my dad just came inside as I was reading your post and he saw the last picture of the protein ice cream with coconut balls and he said it looked like Mickey Mouse. Ha! It totally does!!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      haha that is all I can picture now when I look at it!

  11. paoang July 9, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    Blended silken tofu on top of oats…intrigued! 😀
    That protein powder looks great btw! I think I might have to start buying protein powders for sure XD

    • Sweet Cheeks July 11, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      Silken tofu is SO GOOD on top of oats. I pretty much use it any way I would yogurt. It’s super creamy!

  12. moveovercelery July 9, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    The treadmill IS the dreadmill…because of my attention span, I can barely stay five minutes on that thing. Sounds like a sweaty workout for sure!

    Loving your new layout!

  13. Lauren July 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I am totally craving light and summery food…I want hot oats but they’re just tooooooo much heat for the weather 😦 I am loving smoothies though!

  14. Stephanie July 9, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Yum, I love that idea for ice cream, and those chocolate snowballs look delicious!

  15. SquatLikeALady July 10, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I’ve never heard of Nitrean!! Sounds interesting though — hubby ordered just straight egg white protein powder from trueprotein.com once and it tasted like uncooked eggwhite (salty is the best way to describe it) covered with a chocolate flavor. Needless to say we still have 10lb of that just sitting in the corner LOL. I bet a blend like Nitrean’s would be better.

    • Sweet Cheeks July 11, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Yeah you have to be really careful with true protein! It’s so easy to choose a mix that sounds great in theory but ends up tasting like garbage. I think you would like Nitrean!

  16. Jess July 10, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    Mmm, protein ice cream–PERFECT for summer!!

    i did Bodypump today–thought of you!! i’m SUPER sore. 😀

  17. kbwood July 10, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    hahahah i hate the dreadmill! Blahhh
    love your meals, as always!! thanks for the pea protein suggestions love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream « Sweet Cheeks - July 17, 2011

    […] love Sundays. I just got finished with another round of this workout and now I’m about to head out to church with the family. I am so excited! Our schedules have been […]

Leave a Reply

