Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

17 Jul

First off, thank you all so much for your reassuring words on this post. You guys are the best; end of story. ๐Ÿ˜€

I love Sundays. I just got finished with another round of this workout and now Iโ€™m about to head out to church with the family. I am so excited! Our schedules have been kind of all over the place so we have not been in a while but we all vowed to get back to going regularly again. I really love it there and always leave feeling renewed and refreshed inside.

After church, my mom and sister are taking a little road trip for some school/dorm room shopping. I have a list made out and now itโ€™s time to tackle it! Speaking of whichโ€ฆ

College Students: Any recs on where to buy/rent text books online?

___

Since itโ€™s Sunday, I thought I would post my workouts for the week to review:

Monday: 35 minute interval workout

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 1 hour Body Pump + cool down trail walk

Thursday: Morning trail walk + evening  1hr yoga/pilates class

Friday: steady state cardio: 10 minutes stairmill + 20 minutes high resistance elliptical

Saturday: 1 hr Body Pump 

Sunday: 35 minute interval workout (same as monday)

Thoughts: A little more cardio and less lifting than I would have liked. My schedule this week with some appointments, babysitting, etc kind of threw off my usual workout times/classes so I ended up resorting to the cardio room more than usual. Ideally, I like to get in 3 good strength workouts a week: 2 Body Pump classes, because I have really grown to love it, and 1 heavy lifting session on my own. So that will be my goal for next week!

Some of you might have seen my tweet about my bookstore disappointment yesterday. In the mail I received a late graduation card from my general health doctor and nurse (how sweet is that?!) and scored a giftcard to a local book/movie/game store. Well of course I immediately knew what I wanted to get: New Rules of Lifting for Women! I go in search of it and the store only has the โ€œfor menโ€ and โ€œfor absโ€ books. Booohooo. So I went home empty handedโ€ฆfor now. I will get my hands on that beaut eventually. ๐Ÿ™‚

___

So about that ice creamโ€ฆI got a wee bit creative with two of my current favorite food items by combining them for a winner of a treat. Behold:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

005

Simply combine and stick in the freezer for 15 minutes or so. Pure healthy Heaven.

Other recent eats:

001

cottage cheese and crackers = my new favorite snack combo.

007

sautรฉed zucchini in coconut oil, garlic powder, sea salt, and pepper

008

stuffed chicken, fresh corn, sauteed zucchini, and a single falafel with dijon

003

reverse cake aka (protein) frosting with cake (muffins) on top

the protein frosting is 1 scoop chocolate protein powder mixed with a scoop of almond butter and a splash of almond milk. And muffins were whipped up using this recipe:

  • 80 grams oatbran
  • 40 grams protein powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 350 grams pumpkin
  • 1 cup liquid egg whites
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • dash of stevia and cinnamon

Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30 minutes!

Okay gotta run! Enjoy the last of this beautiful weekend and Iโ€™ll leave you with this quote that Iโ€™m loving today:

"I am your Shield. No buffets of the world can harm you. Practice feeling this shield until nothing has the power to spoil your inner peace." Donโ€™t allow anyone or anything to bring you down. You have to decide for yourself that you want to be happyโ€ฆand then, just DO IT! There will always be things that get in your way, but itโ€™s up to you how you decide to handle it. So lets make the most of the life we were given. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kristi

37 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream”

  1. Meg July 17, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Any tips on masking the flavor of silken tofu? I hate it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That recipe looks SO delicious though and simple as can be! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Make sure you share with us your shopping finds!! Happy shopping, woo!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      I would suggest playing around with sweeteners, extracts, etc. Or blend it with some fruit!!

      • Allison July 18, 2011 at 2:12 am #

        Try vanilla or cocoa stevia extract. I know NuNaturals makes both of those!

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 17, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Those protein muffins look delicious! I am going to try those out ASAP!

  3. Meesh July 17, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    I like seeing your workout in review ๐Ÿ™‚ great idea! So is that ice cream, that’s amazing!

  4. Jenny July 17, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    hmhmhm.. here’s my two cents on book store rentals. I don’t know what your school is like – but mine actually rents out text books at the beginning of the semester and I’ve found that to be way more cost efficient then buying them (especially because most of the books you’ll never look at again and they’ll just end of collecting dust in your basement) If the books are required for any of your MAJOR classes though then I would actually buy them because chances are you’ll need them again as a resource. I.E. as an English major I’ve kept all of my anthologies, chapter books, writing handbooks, etc.

    Thanks for the quote, my love. Today I choose to be happy :)! โค love you!

  5. Alexandra July 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Ooh hope you have a fun day with family and shopping!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m in love with that quote, just what I needed to hear to start my week off right! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Katie July 17, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Go to amazon for books. I got some of mine last year for like 75 cents! Halfpricebooks.com is great too! Whatever you do, DON’T buy them at the bookstores on campus, not even used ones. They are wayyyy too pricey and you can get better deals online. Just make sure you match up the ISBN numbers so that you are ordering the right edition.

    Ooooo. I have NROL4W and I want to sell it. Would you be interested in buying it from me? It would be about 6 dollars + shipping. What do you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Julia July 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Thanks for the quote-really needed it today. Those muffins look delicious!

  8. Christy July 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Look online for the book if anything. It’s amazon for cheap.

  9. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 17, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Amazon, and half.com are great places to look.
    And yummy recipe! Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Awwr that’s too bad about not being able to score NROLFW! I hope you find it soon… but you’ve got a good strength routine going anyways, so a little more time without it shouldn’t hurt ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m really loving strength myself. Actually, I keep cutting back my cardio in favor of more strength training… I just find it gives me more of the results that I want… and I love feeling strong ๐Ÿ˜€

    And thanks for sharing the recipe! I’ve been using silken tofu in smoothies lately, but making cookie dough ice cream seems so much more appealing. I’m going to be trying this out for sure ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 17, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I love going to church with the family, always a great way to feel refreshed at the same time as bonding with your loved ones.

    That chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Cassie July 17, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I love that you take 2 rest days…I’m starting to do rest days now. It was so hard for me to do it before but now I find myself enjoying the time off. And the zucchini picture is making me crave zucchini for lunch…I had it for dinner last night (ohh veggies ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Katie July 17, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Have fun shopping for dorm stuff today! I saw really cute stuff at target that they had for dorm rooms! Loving the cookie dough ice cream!

    Have a great day love!

  14. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Just got back from church with the fam too ๐Ÿ™‚ haha that ice cream looks interesting! I have never tried silken tofu!

  15. The Food and Love Diaries July 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    That ice cream looks so tasty! And all your eats look great as well ๐Ÿ™‚ As far as college texts, I’d say amazon is always safe. I’m sure there are less expensive options, but it’s what I always used ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Katherine July 17, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    That corn looks AMAZING!

  17. teeneatlive July 17, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Oooo definitely trying that “ice cream” recipe! And are those 34 degree crackers?…. My absolute favorite! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Sweet Cheeks July 17, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      why yes, they are. They are pretty tasty!

  18. Lisa July 17, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    OMG, those recipes look so good! Especially-the oat bran muffins with the frosting!!

  19. Alexandra (Veggin' Out in the Kitchen) July 17, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Cookie dough ice cream?! YUM!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I think I’ll have to try adding some stevia and vanilla extract to the tofu though – don’t really like it plain, but I really want to try blending it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And grilled zucchini is the BEST!!

    โค

  20. cucumbersincollege July 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Hey amazon is seriously the BEST place to get books. you usually get a good deal, you can be an amazon prime member for a year for free if youre a student (meaning you get free 2 day shipping!!) aaand they make it crazy easy for you to sell your books back to them..even paying for the shipping ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sweet Cheeks July 17, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      oh wow that sounds awesome! thanks for letting me know!!!

  21. allieksmith July 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    For college books I recommend Half.com or Amazon.com ORRR if you want to rent try chegg.com

  22. Jenny July 17, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Oh man that tofu ice cream looks delicious! I usually get my books from half.com or Cheggs is good to rent books ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Jess July 18, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    Amazon is the BOMB DOT COM!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Mmmm, that ice cream looks dreamyyyyy.

  24. IHeartVegetables July 18, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Does the tofu really taste like ice cream?! For some reason I can’t imagine it!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 18, 2011 at 3:52 am #

      well, it’s creamy and delicious…so I like it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  25. katshealthcorner July 18, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    Oh my goodness gracious! Tofu as ice cream! Girl, you are so amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 18, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I am a total sucker for cookie dough!

  27. cheerfulfeast July 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Awesome quote! Try half.com for textbooks, I’ve found some great deals there!

  28. Julia @ Watermelon Smiles July 19, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I usually just do Amazon for textbooks and I’ve always been happy with it. My first semester I bought my books from the student store and it was WAYY too expensive.

    Yum your cookie dough ice cream looks delicious!

  29. onefitfoodie(naomi) July 19, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    you and you’re meals are super impressive, girl!!

  30. healthycollegegirl July 20, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    yummm! i’ve been wanting to make cookie dough ice cream. i’ll have to try this ๐Ÿ™‚
    as far as textbooks go, i always check amazon first because they’re fairly cheap most of the time. but lots of times i end up renting textbooks from websites like Chegg.com or cheap-textbooks.com. Why buy if you can borrow?? ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An unexpected event « Sweet Cheeks - July 20, 2011

    […] protein pudding with raw oats and pumpkin muffins […]

  2. My Fridge Staples « Sweet Cheeks - July 22, 2011

    […] pumpkin muffins […]

Leave a Reply

