An unexpected event

20 Jul

Hi guys!

I have been out of the loop for a few days as I have been recovering from a negative reaction caused by a vaccine shot I got Monday morning. I had to get the Meningitis vaccine in order to live in the dorms for college. Thought it would be a quick in and out visit but unfortunately turned out to much more than that. Apparently this particular vaccine is very strong. Yeah, I would say so; I completely passed out after having it. I woke up, laying on a table, not knowing where I was or what I was doing there. Talk about freaky! I have never passed out before and I would prefer never to again. I do not like not having control of my own body. They would not let me leave because my blood pressure was way too low and I couldn’t even hold myself up. Finally 2 hours later, I was wheeled out in a wheel chair with orders to go home and rest. The rest of the day I did not feel like myself and had difficulty breathing. What the heck?! Needless to say I was pretty scared but the nurse assured us I would be fine and just needed time to recover. Thankfully I am feeling back to normal for the most part but am still taking it easy. (my heart still feels kind of racey)

Although I’m taking it easy, I definitely still have enough energy for a little What I ate Wednesday action! This time, I will just show a few eats over the past few days since I was not able to take pics of all of one day’s eats. Enjoy!

001 (6)

yogurt bowl with lactose free organic yogurt, oats, peanuts, banana, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries

004

protein pudding with raw oats and pumpkin muffins

002

homemade baked tuna burgers (recipe to come!)

001

tone it up salad with refried beans, mozzarella rice cheese, and fresh salsa

013 (3)

kashi go lean original, granola, and blueberries (almond milk poured on top)

001

chicken nuggets, sprouted grain toast with hummus and garlic powder, steamed yellow squash with seasonings and smart balance butter

011

protein pancakes with syrup and cashew butter (night time snack!) i make my protein pancakes with oats, cottage cheese, protein powder, coconut flour, and almond milk. Delicious!

That’s all for today! Upcoming posts:

1) My Fridge Staples

2) Baked Tuna Burger recipe

Have you ever had a scary incident at the doctor’s office?

Kristi

26 Responses to “An unexpected event”

  1. Allie July 20, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Oh my gosh girl! That is so so SO crazy and scary! I am glad you are beginning to feel better though!

    I had 4 tubes of blood drawn in 2010 and I passed out lol

  2. keepnthefaith July 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Just saying, this is why I DON’T like vaccines!! That’s so scary! I’m glad you are ok though. Rest up sweet thing!!

  3. Lexi July 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Wow, that sounds freaky! I’m glad your doing better now – at least this means you won’t ever have to deal with the full symptoms of meningitis! Take it easy over the next few days and take good care of yourself, okay? 🙂

  4. Brittany July 20, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Ahh thank goodness you’re OK! That is WHOA freaky! I can’t imagine passing out. I suppose no better place to have that happen then at a hospital though? Your food still looks SOOOSOSO yummy!

  5. Sweet and Savvy July 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Glad to hear you are feeling better. Take it easy for a few 🙂 I totally know what you mean about no control over your body.. it’s the worst feeling in the world. :/

  6. Katie July 20, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    I am happy you are ok, but wow that would be scary : p

    and I love the eats, especially the pancakes!!! i need to try to make pancakes again, I failed at it the other night, lol!

    xoxo ❤

  7. Alexandra July 20, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Holy cow! I’m so glad you’re alright!! That’s oober creepy.
    #1 I love all of your plates and bowls, the colors make me happy heehee
    #2 I’m obsessed with that yogurt mess bowl with all of the blueberries and bananas! YUMMY!!

  8. Christy July 20, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Woahhh. I’m glad you’re okay now. That is crazy scary.

  9. katshealthcorner July 20, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Ohmygosh! I am so sorry that you passed out! I found out just recently that my sister passed out (maybe twice?) when she went up with my dad to help move my grandma up to Utah. It was so scary! i don’t think I have ever passed out, but I’ve come pretty close to it!

    Your Pumpkin muffins look DELICIOUS!

  10. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 20, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    can’t wait for the future recipe/posts 🙂 happy WIAW!

  11. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 20, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Omigosh that’s the scariest thing! I’m glad that you’re doing okay. Vaccines really freak me out. I’ve never completely passed out after getting one (although I did almost faint when getting my blood taken once), but I had to be supervised after getting my meningitis vaccine too because… ahh I can’t even remember why, but it’s not a pleasant feeling for sure.

    • Sweet Cheeks July 21, 2011 at 1:36 am #

      Yeah, they told me beforehand that I would have to stay for 10 minutes or so afterwards just in case. What they didn’t tell me is that it would be more like all morning in my case, ha!

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 20, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    OH my how scary! So glad you are doing better though!
    Your pumpkin muffins look quite tasty, I hope those continue to heal you as well 🙂

  13. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    All your eats look great I’m so excited for your tuna burgers recipe!

    The same thing happened for my meningitis C shot in grade 9. About 5 minutes after getting it I walked over to the school nurse and next thing I know I’m on the ground with a bunch of people around me. Ever since I’ve always been really nervous getting needles!

  14. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 20, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Trust me, you’ll need that shot. The dorms can be disgusting 😉

    I guess that’s why I moved into an apartment after my freshman year…

    • Sweet Cheeks July 21, 2011 at 1:34 am #

      haha yeah I think 1 year in the dorms with be plenty for me, too. 🙂

  15. Naomi(onefitfoodie) July 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    ah im glad you are ok!! super scary!

    meanwhile your food is looking BANGIN!! i need to try that tone it up protein salad and i love the additon of mozz cheese!

  16. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons July 20, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    I’ve been wrecked by vaccines before… gosh — poor thing!!!!! I hope you’re feeling better now! ❤ and you still managed to get a WIAW out? ummm you are super woman! seriously!

    love you!!!!

  17. Katie July 21, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    When I give blood to donate or if I have to do a blood test with large samples, I pass out or get a bit dizzy. It IS scary!

    When I got my navel pierced a few years back, I was cleaning it the morning after and I passed out on the bathroom floor. I had to crawl to the door and unlock it practically blind – all I could see was black! I moaned, “Mommmmm!” and crawled to my bedroom. She was hysterical! I felt pretty crummy the whole day after that, but got back to feeling normal again the next day. It takes a lot out of you!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 21, 2011 at 1:34 am #

      oh wow that is crazy!! I can’t believe you could even move or talk at all. I definitely could NOT.

  18. The Food and Love Diaries July 21, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I want pumpkin muffins!!! Sendddd me some 😛

  19. debbiecutieface July 21, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    I hope you’re feeling better girl! That does sound really scary!

  20. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel July 21, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    HOLY SH*T! that sounds terrifying!!! 😦
    Hopefully everything is okay now tho! eeeeeek!

    btw those pumpkin muffins- exactly what i NEED right now xo

  21. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 21, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    YUM! I love tuna! Can’t wait for that burger recipe!

  22. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin July 21, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    omgosh that’s so scary! sorr to hear about the bad reaction the the shot. I’m always afraid that will happen to me I’m glad you’re feeling a little better.
    All of your eats look delicious! I can’t wait for the burger recipe 😀

  23. lindsay July 22, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    oh that is no fun! I’ve had that happen. EEK! But those meals look like they’ll give lots of good nourishment to get back to your old self.
    😉

Leave a Reply

