Finally Getting to my “Feel Great” Weight

25 Jul

It’s a good morning…

018

When you get to start it out with that. ^ Costco sized peanut butter jars make for a mean OIAJ.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • scoop of chia seeds
  • maple extract, cinnamon, and ginger
  • cherry jam for topping

After that extremely pleasant start to the new week, I got ready and headed out for my yearly exam at the doctor’s office to make sure I’m in good shape before leaving for college. I don’t love going to the doctor’s office (who does?) however I was somewhat curious to find out how much I weighed. I do not own a scale nor do I really care about that number…but I saw it as a way to track my progress since the beginning of Summer. The main change I have made since then is that I have been eating MORE. My schedule during the school year was super busy and with my bank teller job on top of that, I did not have a lot of time to eat. Now that my schedule has significantly freed up, I have easily been able to increase my calorie intake. I have been eating 6-7 meals a day and not just little nibbles either. Just good, quality, nutrient filled food. What results has this produced?

  • more energy
  • less moodiness
  • able to accomplish harder/longer workouts
  • a strong, lean, and shapely body as apposed to stick thin
  • NO FAT/WEIGHT GAIN

My body had become accustomed to surviving on too little of calories. I wasn’t getting much results from my workouts. I got used to feeling blah and weak…thinking that was normal. Wrong, wrong, wrong. With eating more good fuel, I feel more alive than ever and believe that I have set my metabolism back into “fired up” mode and away from “survival” mode. I love that I don’t just look skinny anymore. I look toned! I look healthy. I feel healthy. And I get to enjoy a ton of delicious food! What more could I ask for?! 

I thought it was so interesting to find out that my weight has stayed pretty much exactly the same since the last time I was there (probably 6 or so months) yet I now eat much more and have more muscle. It is easy to underestimate how much fuel your body really needs, but just think about all the things you do in a day. Even without exercise, I get a good amount of movement in. Just sitting here breathing burns calories! Throw workouts into the mix and it’s no wonder I need to eat a lot.

Guys, our metabolisms are very precious things. Please don’t mess them up by not eating enough for your activity level! As you age, your metabolism decreases, so you want to keep it as high as possible right NOW before that decease starts happening. If not, you’re going to have a miserable time maintaining your weight in your 30’s, 40’s, 50’s and so on. I think I’d much rather bypass that nonsense and make good decisions now!

If you are not sure if you’re taking in enough calories or not, think about how you feel. Are you weak? tired? moody? have a hard time making it through workouts? Try eating more for a while and see how you feel. I’m not talking about gorging or binging. That is a bad path and I am unfortunately speaking from experience on that one. Just use good judgment by slowly adding in more good, quality food. Sure, it can be scary. There are days when I feel like, “wow, I eat SO MUCH. Maybe I should cut back down.” But then I come to my senses and realize that is not the answer and it is just insecurity coming into play. I know I’m making good decisions for my health and feeling great…So I’m going to keep right on going. 🙂

Whew, that felt really good to say. Thank you to anyone who made it through all of that! Need some ideas for food? Gotcha covered!

EATS:

006

eggwhite oats (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water) with 1 tbsp flaxmeal, blended sillken tofu and fresh raspberries and blackberries

003

more egg white oats with bluebrries and Marantha peanut butter

004

baked tuna burgers with ketchup and dijon

001

stirfry with tofu noodles, scallops, and frozen mixed vegetables in a cream sauce. sauce = 2 laughing cows mixed with a dash of almond milk and seasonings

005

stuffed chicken, falafel, and broccoli

007

wild rice mixed with hummus and salsa, roasted zucchini and green beans in coconut oil and garlic salt, and baked tofu

006

roasted broccoli and turnips in coconut oil and seasonings, sesame seed shrimp, and baked sweet potato with black pepper, nutritional yeast, and cinnamon < favorite topper combo for sweet potatoes!

006

carbs! Spelt flakes and kamut puffs

003

evening snack: chocolate casein shake with popcorn

004

favorite thing to drink after a workout during the Summer. Coconut water is so refreshing and hydrating…and has more potassium than a banana!

Do you feel like you fuel yourself properly?

Are you at your “feel great” weight?

Kristi

48 Responses to “Finally Getting to my “Feel Great” Weight”

  1. Cassie July 25, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    this was a great post–for so long i didn’t give my body enough food and ever since i started to i have felt a lot better. btw, your oats look FAB!

  2. SquatLikeALady July 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Your eats all look sooooo good!!! 😀

    And YEAH for eating more! I was so surprised at how long it took me to gain weight when I bulked over the spring — our bodies do need a LTO of fuel!

  3. keepnthefaith July 25, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    So happy for you girl 🙂 I’m working hard at not only eating more but eating RIGHT. I want my body to be nourished, not just full!! 🙂 I’m not at that weight yet, but I know ill get there. Just got to keep working hard!!

  4. Alexandra July 25, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Oh my word I want all of your eats in my belly now. Be my personal chef for life? 😀
    Woop woop for upping the cals! I know exactly how you feel, whenever I don’t get enough I turn into a cranky, sluggish diva…it’s not pretty at all haha. It feels so good to be able to eat delicious fuel and knowing it’s going to heal your body and mind! Having more calories=having more nut butters= VERY happy Alexandra haha 😉

  5. Katherine July 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I am working on learning to fuel myself properly!

  6. dolly July 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    i love you! and this post! 🙂
    I am in this “dont eat all day, eat at night” kind of rut… ii eat very little in the day… but more at night, and it makes me feel terrible…
    I am tired, moody, and pissed of in general.. I finally get to start seeing a dietian on Wed…
    your eats always look amazing!
    xxoxox

    • Sweet Cheeks July 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      i hope things go well with your dietitian. You are so worth getting healthy and feeling great. I know you can do it, Devan!

  7. Lexi July 25, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    This is a great post! We definitely need to eat enough to fuel our bodies.

    For a very long time I restricted my intake and was moody, depressed, tired, and frustrated. Definitely not a happy time. Eating more has made such a difference! I have so much more energy, I’m happy and more at peace with my surroundings and myself. Lately I’ve been kind of restricting, but I’m trying to get back on track. This post came at the perfect time – I definitely feel more motivated now, thank you 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks July 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      I am so glad I could provide motivation for you. Just think about how much better you will feel!!

  8. Allie July 25, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Great post! Your casein shake looks SO good 🙂

  9. Sweet and Savvy July 25, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    This is really a great post, thanks so much for sharing this information! Very information!

  10. stephanie July 25, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    great post about your weight and the way you feel. It’s so important to be healthy and not preoccupied with a number. You are so awesome.

  11. movesnmunchies July 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    I LOVE THIS POST1!!!!

  12. Jess July 25, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    ADORED this post, girl!! I have been eating more this summer and it feels AMAZING!! I’m still working on it, but I already feel better. Just this afternoon, I was looking at a powerbar and was like, I don’t need it all…then I was like, UM, YES I DO!! so i ate it. yummmmmmmm!!

  13. devyn July 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I just feel frustrated by this. I am so happy that this works for you and others, but i have basically been doing this for the past school year since last summer (eating more HEALTHY food) and I did gain about 6lbs. And I hate how I look with these extra pounds. Maybe I am healthy, but I am unhappy. I would rather be happy! Life is too short.

    • devyn July 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      I am just saying, after continuing to think about this, that different things work for everyone. My body gains fat easily and I am only 5 feet tall so I NEED to eat less than everyone else. If i thrive on eating one meal a day then I do.

      • Sweet Cheeks July 25, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

        I do agree that each body is unique and what works for one may not work for another. I wanted to address my personal experience and let people take it with a grain on salt. Myself, as well as many of my readers are very active and I feel that is a good reminder for everyone to make sure you are fueling adequately. Fueling adequately will most definitely be different for each person.

      • devyn July 25, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

        I emailed you 🙂

  14. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    GAHH I love this post. It is something I am definitely struggling with at the moment… well all of the time actually. I know my “feel great” weight is not wear I currently am at, yet I am petrified of gaining weight. Gosh I feel like I say the same darn thing all of the time… I know how much happier I could be, yet am still fighting against myself

  15. Katie July 25, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Girl you rock! I am glad you are happy, comfortable, and love your body! So refreshing to hear! I know its so hard to be a girl today in this world, and we judge ourselves way too much or compare, when we should just love ourselves and take care of our body!

    Love you!!!

  16. The Food and Love Diaries July 25, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    What a great post!! Love everything you said. Food is fuel. Seriously… and it feels good to feel good 🙂

  17. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 25, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Yay! Glad you are feeling strong and healthy 🙂

  18. debbiecutieface July 25, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    ahh, been there done that with messing up my metabolism. Your body really does need fuel!

    and by the way…OIAJ = favorite thing ever.

  19. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 25, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    great post! I am glad your feeling strong 🙂 great eats too btw!

  20. katshealthcorner July 25, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I LOVE this post!!! Boo-yah! 😀 When you don’t eat enough, you body goes into starvation mode and lowers it’s metabolism. But I am so glad that you have found that balance with yourself and food! I know it can be hard (believe me, I know), but I am so proud of you. Everyone needs to read this post.

  21. Pink Runner July 26, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    I have one of those Coconut Waters in my pantry and I haven’t tried it yet! I need to try it soon!

  22. Jenny July 26, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I really really really hope this post gets a lot of readers because you’re sending off an incredibly positive message that EVERYONE needs to remember. What’s the point of living on minuscule calories when you can eat 5x’s as much, be stronger, healthier, and look better? It’s a win win.

  23. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 26, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    What an excellent post! That’s great that your at your ‘feel great’ weight and that your energy is high! Most days I feel nice and energized, but there are definitely other days that I could do better. Thanks for a great reminder 🙂

  24. lindsay July 26, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    i love this post kristi. It is so honest and out there and INSPIRING! feeling empowered with health!

  25. runningonapples July 26, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    Nope, I honestly don’t think I fuel properly. I can really tell based on my mood and energy, but i need this kind of
    Post to motivate myself!

  26. lactosefreelizzie July 26, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Since im a vegan, i try to fit in as many healthy fats as possible in my meals 🙂
    mehh im at an alright weight! i have my up and down days but i’m so glad your at your happy weight! 🙂

  27. elizabethlikesbutter July 26, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Balance is key. Being healthy is the most important. Better to be healthy than sick – it’s common sense. And your meals look really good! Healthy and nutrient filled, real food. Keep it up!

  28. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 26, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    Great post, girl! I love reading about women taking care of their bodies and fuelling themselves properly. It breaks my heart to see girls exercising for hours a day and coming home to eat like birds 😦 Like you said, that’s the perfect way to have no energy, be moody, irritable, depressed, and just over all feel blah. I went through that kind of thing when I started weight training. I figured I didn’t need to change my diet since I was cutting back on cardio and replacing it with weights, but I started experiencing all those symptoms and figured that I must be undereating. After I started eating more, they all went away, and I’m noticing myself getting a lot leaner and just looking/feeling better over all. Food is fantastic 😀 Love it.

  29. Laura July 26, 2011 at 5:11 am #

    Congrats on getting to your feel great weight.I’m working towards it, although unfortunatley it is taking a long time. I really need to get on this proper fueling band-wagon for good!

  30. Kayla July 26, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    Thank you so much for this post. I really think your attitude and way of thinking is very admirable. More young women nowadays need to have such a healthy attitude towards eating like you have. You can be proud of yourself because you are not starving yourself or abusing your body. Keep it up! And thanks for being so inspirational 🙂 PS: Your recipes are crazy delicious!!!! 🙂

  31. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! July 26, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    This is so awesome Kristi! Good for you girl!

  32. moveovercelery July 26, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    You’re awesome. 🙂 I love that you’re catering to your body’s needs and really tuning into to what it really wants! love you, girlfriend!

  33. Allison @ PickyEatingRD July 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Isn’t it funny how once we grow comfortable with ourselves and our food choices our body sort of finds its way?!?!! I always find it so so interesting that when we concentrate less on our looks and more on just feeling good about ourselves that things naturally happen!

  34. thecookieboss July 26, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Sometimes I feel I “fuel-up” too much. 🙂 But a lot of girls do too, and I’m no where near overweight or anything like that.

  35. Christy July 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Loved this post. You are so inspirational.

  36. april July 26, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Awesome job on increasing the cals!!!

    And they make naturally more at your costco??? NO FAIR!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 26, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

      Check Sam’s Club I have seen them there!!

  37. haleyy0806 July 27, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Love this post! I recently decided to try to start eating more because I was always tired and wayyy too moody, and wasn’t increasing the amount I ate with the amount I worked out. I still fear eating more, because I don’t want to go back to bingeing either, but the days that I make a conscious decision to eat more are really the best days! This was such a good reminder that food shouldn’t be feared 🙂

  38. Abby July 30, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    I love, love, love this post. I am not at my “feel great” weight yet, as I have recently begun my recovery from anorexia nervosa. However, I’m on my way there. 🙂 And I do feel like I am fueling myself properly now. I am learning not to fear food because it fuels your body, and it’s not my enemy. I really believe that one day I’ll feel balanced and comfortable around food.

    On a side note – mmm, those baked tuna burgers look SO yummy!

  39. paoang August 1, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    GREAT post indeed! Loved reading every word. You are so right; fueling the right way is the only way to go! Sometimes I feel like I eat so much too, but it’s what my body needs. Thanks for the reassurance.

    AWESOME eats btw! Love all the creative goodness in here! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week Off From Liftin’ « One Chaturanga At A Time - July 26, 2011

    […] for my body, my workouts, and my life. Kristi recently had an AWESOME post on fueling yourself, HERE. GIRLS, listen […]

  2. Protein Love « Sweet Cheeks - July 27, 2011

    […] for the support and positive feedback on my post about upping my cals. It is true that every body is unique and has different needs to run properly. It really is all […]

Leave a Reply

