Protein Love

27 Jul

Hi guys!

Thanks for the support and positive feedback on my post about upping my cals. It is true that every body is unique and has different needs to run properly. It really is all about finding what works for you…and the best way to do that is to experiment! The same goes for not only food, but exercise as well. I feel weak if I do tons of cardio so I scale it back a bit. I felt more strong and energetic when I added strength training into my routine, so that gets more attention now.  Finding balance is a process, but so worth it once you find that sweet spot.

WIAW Time! Just a few tidbits of eats lately. I have not been very good with taking lots of pictures lately!

I went to Body Pump this morning so before I left I downed a protein cookie dough ball and got down to business! When I got back I refueled with this:

002

cinnamony egg white oats with a giant protein shake using a new product…

001

Muscleology Nitro Pro whey isolate protein powder! I ordered this through Muscle and Strength and I’ve got to say…I am SUCH a fan!!!

I was very excited about trying this new-to-me product because of the rave reviews I had read and the fact that it is sweetened with stevia! I see so many with splenda in them and while I do consume it occasionally, I try to limit it and would much rather have stevia. Being 100% whey isolate, it makes for the perfect post-workout drink to get protein to your muscles as fast as possible. The best part? It comes in cookies and cream flavor. (and vanilla and chocolate which I heard were great, too) I am very happy with the nutritional stats, ingredients, and taste/texture (so delicious and no artificial taste) of this product. It basically is everything I could ask for in a post workout supplement and is my new favorite protein powder!

002

egg-rito with 1 egg + 2 egg whites, salsa, and laughing cow cheese spread in a whole wheat tortilla, broccoli with seasonings and smart balance butter

003

protein pancakes with vegan yogurt (aka blended silken tofu) and organic blackberries

001 (5)

falafels with scrambled egg whites and dijon

007

sautéed cabbage bowl, cooked in liquid aminos, with ground turkey and 1/2 an avocado

008

protein pudding in a waning cashew butter jar~ 1 serving protein powder, 1/4 cup blended cottage cheese, 1/4 cup pure pumpkin, splash of almond milk all mixed together.

In other news, there is something growing in our house:

019

Thank God for my mom, who has devoted this corner of her room to my college stuff. Lord knows I don’t do well with clutter…my room is always spick and span!

Dorm bedding:

021

Bed-in-a-bag, courtesy of Bed Bath and Beyond. I’ve got most of the basics covered now for the most part. Bedding, fridge, microwave, Magic Bullet (because where would I be without my protein shakes?), Brita water pitcher, night stand/storage, and bathroom items. This is getting more and more real with each passing day. Ahhh! 

I have a monster of a to-do list to tackle today so I’m off to get to it. My reward for being productive? A 1/2 price massage I just bought off Groupon! Those emails are like Christmas morning for me. And having something to look forward to is such a great way to increase motivation.

How do you reward yourself for accomplishments?

Kristi

35 Responses to “Protein Love”

  1. Sweet and Savvy July 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I have to have tons of protein in my diet too, whether I’m working out a lot or not!!

  2. lactosefreelizzie July 27, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Omg I love your bedding, it’s so cute!
    All of your food looks really good! The falafel balls caught my attention the most tho!! 🙂

  3. keepnthefaith July 27, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Mmm that protein powder sounds good! Your bedding is also adorable!! Your going to love dorm living 🙂 I reward myself usually with a new workout outfit or piece of jewlry 🙂 it makes me feel new and shiny lol

  4. Allie July 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Mmmm great eats! To reward myself I usually purchase a book, buy Starbucks, or give myself free time to do creative things like scrapbooking 🙂

  5. thecookieboss July 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    I reward myself by taking breaks from stuff I’m supposed to do. 🙂

  6. vegan aphrodite July 27, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

    O, massage is the perfect reward! Me and a friend treated ourselfs to a spa day a few weeks back, and it was wonderful (and expencive :S) 🙂
    Your eats looks delicious- so happy that you are finding what works for you! Im working so hard on finding my balance. It takes time 😛

  7. Alexandra July 27, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Oooooh great protein review, I’ve never heard of that kind before so I’m definitely checking into it 🙂
    Oh my word, your college pile is so organized! My college crap pile is SO insane. Imagine an apartment’s worth of stuff (including a couch) in a bedroom…it’s mass chaos haha
    Enjoy the massage girly and happy WIAW!! 😀

  8. Katie July 27, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Loving the dorm room stuff! I bet you are getting excited!!! When do you leave?!

    I rewarded myself with a mani pedi yesterday, enjoy the massage girl!! xoxo ❤

  9. Christy July 27, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Groupon is the bomb.com!

  10. runningonapples July 27, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    That new protein powder looks so intimidating haha.
    I have a similar pile of college crap in my basement….
    I reward myself with some “me” time =)

  11. Jenny July 27, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    What an adorable bedding and your eats all looks so yummy!

  12. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 27, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Seeing all your college stuff is getting me excited for next year! I can’t wait to have my own college stock pile!!!

  13. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 27, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Eeee isn’t it exciting looking at your growing stash of college stuff? I’ll be moving soon, too, and thinking about packing is making me all giddy. And buying stuff for your new place is even more fun 😀

  14. moveovercelery July 27, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    I’m so excited for your first year of college! You’re gonna live it up. Love your bedding, very very cute! My sister said the magic bullet saved her life her first year of college!

    A massage sounds SO nice. I’m so sore from doing Insanity that I should look into getting an all over sports massage!

  15. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers July 27, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    That cabbage bowl looks pretty good. Thanks for the protein review. I’m always interested in what other protein supplements others use. I have a new kind at home now I hope to try next week – I hope it’s good!

  16. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 27, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Your bedding is so so cute! You are going to love college, I truly believe that 🙂 I am returning to school on August 21st for my last year…. boy does it go by fast!
    And thank you for the protein review my dear, I am looking for new ways to get protein in. It is rather essential after all

  17. Lauri (RedHeadRecipes.com) July 27, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by the blog!!

    I’m not a fan of protein shakes anymore, I use to drink them in college though (before I realized that we get plenty of protein from our diets). I work with bariatric patients, so I do recommend them to that patient group. I personally like greek yogurt as a post-workout snack…

    I love groupon.

    And I love your bedding too!

  18. elizabethlikesbutter July 27, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    i’ve been wanting to make fiber one protein pancakes with applesauce and cinnamon – i found this great recipe online! and as for the cashew butter, i’ve been SOOOO wanting to try it lately – cashews are my favorite nuts, along with pine nuts. mmm!

  19. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 27, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Great eats, pics and sheets haha! I reward me by allowing myself to be lazy 🙂

  20. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 27, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    That protein powder looks so great! I try to only buy protein powders sweetened with stevia, although they are always more expensive then the splenda sweetened ones (I shouldn’t be surprised).

    P.S – You’ve got some awesome college stuff!

  21. Katherine July 27, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I know you are getting excited!
    I know when I was buying things for boarding school, the more the list came together, the more excited I got.

  22. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 27, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    I think having a balance of everything in my diet works for me. I actually feel better on a higher fat and carb diet. The body doesn’t need massive amounts of protein.

  23. healthycollegegirl July 27, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    holy crap all of your food looks sooo good!! and yay for dorm room stuff!! 🙂 i reward myself with treats 🙂

  24. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons July 28, 2011 at 1:19 am #

    ahhhh so exciting! I remember my first bedding and dorm and all the essentials being bought — so fun! =) Happy wiaw love!

  25. Jess July 28, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    okay, that’s it.

    please come be my personal cheffffff. 😀

    love bodypump!! i am always sore–especially in my legs!!

  26. Katie July 28, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    I am buying silken tofu friday so I can make that yogurt! 😀

    • Sweet Cheeks July 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

      I hope you like it!! I just blend it with a splash of almond milk usually but remember that if you don’t like the taste, you can always add some sweetener or fruit to blend in with it!

  27. The Food and Love Diaries July 28, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    Falafels are one of my FAVORITE foods! !!!! YAYYY

    • Sweet Cheeks July 28, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      mine, too! They are so tasty…i love making my own!

  28. Errign July 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    It depends on what I accomplish, but if it’s like a monster to do list with lots of hard things on it, then something good, like a new camera 🙂 Delicious eats!

  29. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen} July 29, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    So exciting – getting ready for the dorms! I remember it so clearly, even though it was an embarrassing amount of years ago (I’m old…..).

    I’m rewarding myself with a Groupon facial next weekend. I’m not sure what the reward is for, I’m thinking maybe that I made it through a hot July with two restless kids at home everyday. 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks July 29, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      you definitely deserve a facial!! Enjoy it, I love them!!

  30. Abby July 30, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Your eats look so delicious!! 🙂 I love protein. And carbs. And healthy fats. Okay, I pretty much love all food in general. 😉

Leave a Reply

