Spinach Quinoa Egg Bake with Feta

28 Jul

Hi all! I am currently typing this post from my brand spanking new Macbook Pro that came in the mail today!!! Excited? Oh yes. Now I will be rolling into college in style. πŸ˜‰

I have always typed my posts through Windows Live Writer with my old laptop, but now that I have a Mac, I’m not sure how I will be blogging. This one is just being typed straight through WordPress but I don’t know that I like it very much. Do you type your posts through WordPress or use a different tool?

Anywho, I’ve got a pretty tasty dinner own my hands and new recipe to share with you today. This recipe is based off an idea I got from Iowa Girl Eats, when she made quinoa spinach bars. I decided to do a spin off and make it into an egg casserole of sorts.

Spinach Quinoa Egg Bake with Feta

006

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked quinoa (about 1/2 cup uncooked)

1 cup cottage cheese

1 egg

1 cup liquid egg whites

1/2 cup  feta cheese crumbles

several handfuls torn spinach

1/2 onion, chopped

desired seasonings: I used unmeasured amounts of red pepper flakes, black pepper, rosemary, and garlic powder

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. After dicing your onion, you can either saute it on the stove with some olive oil or take the super easy short cut of sticking it in the microwave for a minute or two. Then just combine everything together in a mixing bowl and pour into a baking dish. Bake for about 50 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

This has a really nice, earthy taste to it that I love. It’s a nice vegetarian option that will definitely be added to my recipe page!

***

Today is my rest day. I took that as a chance to read this morning…The Hunger Games! I’m liking it so far! This afternoon I worked at the hair salon and tonight I have some major vegging out on the agenda. So You Think You Can Dance is on as well as Big Brother. Come on, fess up…who’s watching?

Whatever you’re doing, have a great night!

Kristi

32 Responses to “Spinach Quinoa Egg Bake with Feta”

  1. Katie July 28, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Today was supposed to be my rest day but I did Yoga sculpt on demand and it KICKED my butt : p it was a awesome workout!

    This looks so good, love that it has quinoa!

    Have a good night love! xoxo

    • Kristi @ Sweet Cheeks July 28, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      I haven’t done a Demand workout in a long time! They used to be my go-to in a pinch!

  2. sarah (onedayiwillseethesun) July 28, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    that cooks so nice willd efintly fit my cheesy cravings

  3. Jess July 28, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I’m learning to LOVE rest days now πŸ˜€ I need as many as I can get–our muscles love it, too πŸ˜€

    mmm, i love fetaaaa!!

  4. Katherine July 28, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    My rest day is tomorrow. So excited for it lol πŸ™‚

  5. Jenny July 29, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    ah you got a Mac baby!? Welcome to the dark side πŸ˜‰ I promise you’ll never go back to a PC again!!

    The past 3 weeks have been “rest days” for me and seriously? my body feels GREAT! That’s not to say I’m not itching to get back to working out, but I’m trying to enjoy it while I can.

  6. lactosefreelizzie July 29, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    if i ate eggs,id totally make this recipe! it sounds like a great source of protein!!

  7. Alexandra July 29, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Yesterday was my rest day and boy I LOOOVEEDD every second of it πŸ™‚ This recipe sounds incredible! Now I just need to buy some quinoa haha
    Enjoy your shows tonight!

  8. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 29, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    I use a mac, and I just type write through wordpress. It’s what I’m used too, so I don’t mind it πŸ™‚

  9. Allie July 29, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    I just blog through wordpress πŸ™‚

    rest days= awesome!

    I hope you like your new mac! I will be getting one in August and I am so afraid to use it.

  10. haleyy0806 July 29, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    That looks so good! And I have all the ingredients waiting to be cooked in my fridge-perfection. Thanks for the idea!!

  11. debbiecutieface July 29, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I write my posts straight through WordPress and I honestly really like it that way. Congrats on your new Mac! I promise you you’ll grow to LOVE it.

  12. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! July 29, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    This looks fabulous! I love putting feta in my eggs!

  13. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 29, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    Woo! Grats on the Macbook, girl! I’ve got one too, and I flippin’ adore it! I write my posts straight in WP, and don’t find it too bad. I think it just takes some getting used to. Oh, and the quinoa dish? Looks delicious!

  14. megpinkgiggles July 29, 2011 at 3:28 am #

    OMG i need to make this asap. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog today πŸ™‚

  15. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 29, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    this looks great! I have never had egg and quinoa together πŸ™‚

  16. Katie July 29, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Use Ecto! You do write up posts without being on the internet and uploading pics is wayyyy faster!

  17. lovetotrain July 29, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    this looks SO GOOD. i love quinoa… at any time of the day. today is my rest day.. i love it! i feel like i can feel my muscles getting stronger. And the workout after rest day is always the best!

  18. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin July 29, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Girl, I love love love my macbook. It’s my baby. Okay maybe not but I treat it like one. Yesterday was my rest day as well. I loved every minute of it. err except for the part where I started reading for the next semester. bleh

  19. keepnthefaith July 29, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Delicious!!! I am totally going to give this one a try. I love anything and everything with quinoa!

  20. thecookieboss July 29, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    That looks good! I always type my posts with wordpress.

  21. Jenny July 29, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Omg I want a Macbook!!! Lol they are so freaking amazing, I am way jelly πŸ˜€

  22. Sarah July 29, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Rest days are wonderful, Sunday is mine and I can’t wait! That egg bake sounds amazing, love the spinach/egg combo!

  23. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers July 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Yay for Macbook! I usually type right into WordPress, but I’m lame like that.

  24. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Yum the egg bake is looking fabulous πŸ™‚
    Rest days are something I am struggling with… I know they are necessary but I feel that dreaded guilt about not exercising, urghh

  25. Errign July 30, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Yum, I love egg bakes. I use WLW, but that doesn’t help you much πŸ™‚

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 2:57 am #

      that is what I used with my old laptop. I miss it already!

  26. Abby July 30, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I need to show my mom this because she loves eggs, feta cheese, and spinach… we have yet to try quinoa though, but it looks good!

  27. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 30, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    This looks amazing πŸ™‚

    I use Ecto on my Mac. It can be temperamental, but it’s better than blogging in WP!

  28. katie July 31, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    YUMMMMM! another AWESOME recipe! you rock girl, your blog is ma fav! please email me if you ever have any questions or wana chat about college! love you!

Leave a Reply

