Exercise: Week in Review

31 Jul

Sunday. One of my favorite days of the week. There is something about it that is so relaxing and low key. I love that. Plus, Sunday morning means church which never fails to put me in such a great mood.

This morning’s service was especially good! Some of the key points were:

  • It’s not what happens to us that matters, it’s how we handle it.
  • It’s not what we’ve done that matters, it’s what we do now that matters!
  • It’s not who we were that matters, it’s who we are now!

We’ve all made mistakes in the past. Maybe we haven’t been the type of person we would have liked to be. But the good news is that all that can change if you decide to make it happen. There will always be obstacles that stand in our way, but you have to choose to rise above and not let it get you down. It’s all about how we REACT and HANDLE each situation.

“I can do all things though Christ who gives me strength.”

002

squash boat with marinara, sliced tomato, nutritional yeast, tilapia

005

new bar! Tasted like a straight up Snickers bar. It is also HUGE and packs a bigger punch than most bars. The regular detour bars have lots of sugar but these lower sugar ones only have 5 grams. Snickers flavor AND no sugar coma? win. 😉

016

homemade turkey meatballs and marinara over spinach

006

more meatballs, lentils/hummus/balsamic, veggies and hummus

007

broiled tilapia with bacon mayo spread (KEY!! Will show the product in next post!), fresh corn, and steamed broc with smart balance, garlic, salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar

013

banana bread with peanut four paste (peanut flour + salt + water)

Weekly Exercise Review:

Monday: heavy lifting on-my-own session

Tuesday: 1 hour spin class

Wednesday: 1 hour Body Pump

Thursday: REST

Friday: 1 hour vinyasa flow yoga class

Saturday: 1 hour Body Pump

Sunday: light cardio trio: 10 minutes steady state stairmill, 15 minutes interval arc trainer, 15 minutes hills treadmill. (idea from fitnessista!)

Thoughts: I am very happy with this week’s exercise. I got my 3 strength training days in, and had an all around good variety of activities. Variety = Happy Kristi.

My grandpa is coming over for lunch and mom is cooking. Otherwise, relaxing will be in full force for the rest of the day. I kind of like to be lazy if you couldn’t tell. 😉

What was your best workout of the week?

What are you doing on this Sunday?

Kristi

33 Responses to “Exercise: Week in Review”

  1. keepnthefaith July 31, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Aren’t sundays the best? 🙂 my best workout is always my soccer game! It hurts EVERYWHERE and its super fun

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      I love exercise that doesn’t “feel” like exercise! Soccer sounds like a blast!

  2. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes July 31, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    excellent verse 😉 I havent done anything that interesting lately. I am seeing the new Harry Potter in IMAX tonight. Happy SUnday to you too!

  3. Katie July 31, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Hi love!!

    I DID get a new ESSIE! It was on major sale too! Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

    My fave workout this week was yoga on demand, kicked my butt!!

    Have a great night love! xoxo ❤

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      I know you too well don’t I! Can’t wait to see the color!

  4. Alexandra July 31, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    I’m loving the service’s message, what a great way to begin the week! Ahh and can I please steal that squash boat?!?! That looks amazing 😛
    Great exercise variety too! Fave exercise this past week was definitely my back and and lift day, I experienced some major doms the next day and it was oh so sweet haha 🙂

  5. Sable@SquatLikeALady July 31, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I love how at peace you are, as a person 🙂 I know that sounds weird haha but I can’t think how else to phrase it!!

    TONS of variety in your workouts this week 🙂

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      thanks Sable!! I knew what you meant, haha. 🙂

  6. lindsay July 31, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    what a great sermon. Now we just need to apply that to our everyday lives. Write it down and remember. Right?!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

      exactly! That’s why i wanted to blog about it; so I would keep it in my mind!

  7. Christy July 31, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    How did you like the vinyasa flow yoga class?

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      i loved it. i need to do a post on yoga again sometime soon. it is so calming stress relieving for me, plus it stretches out my muscles. i’m definitely going again this week.

  8. vegan aphrodite July 31, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Thay sounds loike such an awesome, well balanced workout-week!
    Ive just been working at the gym all day, and after that I took a walk with a friend- relaxing Sunday 🙂

  9. Amanda @ Running with Spoons July 31, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m a big fan of Sundays too 😀 So relaxing, and so nice to spend some time with family without having to run around like crazy. My best workout this week was probably yesterday’s weight session… I just started stage 2 of the New Rules of Lifting for Women workout plan and ow… my legs are definitely feeling it.

    • Sweet Cheeks July 31, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      you are doing so awesome with NROLFW. I still need to get the book!

  10. allieksmith July 31, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I loved your recap from church! My Sunday has been relaxing as well.. lots of time in my pool reading and heading into church soon 🙂

  11. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 31, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    It sounds like your message was a great one! Thanks for the short form points. I love Sundays too! You really did mix it up with a great variety of exercises. Great job 🙂

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset July 31, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Your workout week looks great! Difficult but also with necessary rest and easier days thrown in there, very nice work 🙂
    I do like Sundays too! I used to hate them when I was in grade school because Mondays just were bummers… but now I have come to enjoy them
    My best workout was a great run and strength combo style I did on Wednesday

  13. Ashlei July 31, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Best workout days are definitely lower body lifting sessions. By far my favorites.

  14. pbbrittany July 31, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    My best exercise this week had to be today- 9 miles 😀 I think I still have a high from it. haha.
    Today I went to go see the Harry Potter movie- exciting stuff! It was really good 🙂

  15. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate July 31, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Great workouts this week 🙂

  16. Brittany August 1, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Awesome messages in the beginning of the post. All of what you stated is so true, sometimes I find myself forgetting these things. Thank you for sharing..annndd way to go with the workouts!!

  17. The Food and Love Diaries August 1, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Thanks for sharing your exercises! Always interesting to see what everyone else is up to. Hope the naner bread was as tasty as it looks 🙂

  18. *Andrea* August 1, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    that banana bread looks yummy!!

  19. danica August 1, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    Great week of workouts! I love the variety =) and sundays are always so great and refreshing. Have an awesome week!

  20. tinkerbelle86 August 1, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    that stuffed squash looks delish!!!

  21. Jenny August 2, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    “Variety is the spice of life” 🙂 sounds like a great week. You go girl!

  22. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 2, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    oh lovely meals! and I love making homemade turkey or beef meatballs!! I go through themin a few days after I make them so I always have some meat on hand in the freezer!

  23. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish August 2, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    I love the sermon messages you shared at the beginning of this post! Isn’t it amazing that we’re constantly given a clean slate? Our past is behind us, and all that matters is what we choose to make of TODAY. Such a freeing and inspiring feeling, isn’t it? 🙂

    Mmm your homemade turkey meatballs look so good! I think you should share the recipe! ❤

  24. katshealthcorner August 2, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    What a beautiful quote! It is so true. Through Christ, the impossible become possible. And that bar sounds amazing! Snickers?! I WANT!

  25. stephanie August 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    yum! you had some good eats this week. I love the squash boat!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bacon me up « Sweet Cheeks - August 2, 2011

    […] remember this tilapia I showed last […]

Leave a Reply

