Bacon me up

2 Aug

Hi guys!

Yesterday was a such a productive day. I knocked out a lot on my college to-buy list and it lifted so much weight off my shoulders. Only a few more things to go and I should be set. I’ve been putting off buying the books because that one’s gonna hurt the pocketbook a bit. Ay yi yi. I also need a planner but neither Walmart nor Target had an hourly one. Really?? So it’s off to Office Max today for that.

Although I’ve been loving taking classes at the gym, my last two workouts have been at home and based off a newly found site that I really love! Jillfit! How have I never known about them before? If you’re looking for some new workouts or exercise/nutrition info, hit them up. They are legit.

Yesterday I did this Upper Body split . Let’s just say my chest is hurting today. I have a love/hate relationship with DOMS but in the end, it means I challenged my body well and had a successful workout. What I do like to drink to help with DOMS is Xtend. I just shake it with some water and I’m good to go.

IMG_2230

Xtend in my new water bottle from Target! The container is actually clear but I was drinking the watermelon flavor, hence the extra pinkness. 😉

I really like to drink Xtend during my workouts as it also gives me a boost of energy so that I can really push myself. Plus, it just plain tastes good! I just saw that they have come out with a new and improved formula so I will be interested to try that out!

This morning, I went for one of Jillfit’s treadmill workouts that I found on this “10 killer treadmill workouts” post. I did the Fartlek one, but modified the speed a tad because i’m scared to go faster than 9 mph on the treadmill, haha. I feel like I’m going to fly right off the end!

I had a couple 3 ingredient power muffins before I completed the workout:

IMG_2231

and followed it with some tropical oats.
IMG_2214

1/2 cup oats cooked in 1 cup water and 1/2 cup liquid egg whites. diced peaches mixed in, topped with blended silken tofu

+ coconut extract.

***

So remember this tilapia I showed last time?

201108021145.jpg

I promised I would share the KEY ingredient that makes it (or anything for that matter) taste amazing:

IMG_2225

Baconnaise!!!

I found this gem at Walmart and was very surprised to find that it had a pretty clean ingredient list and nice nutritional stats.

It’s basically made from canola oil, egg yolks, water, and seasonings:

IMG_2226

The taste is SO. GOOD. It is a great spread for any meat, as I also tried it on chicken last night:

IMG_2227

with sprouted grain toast/hummus/garlic powder, and broccoli with balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, smart balance

I recommend putting it under the broiler, that way it gets this delicious, smoky flavor. Great find at good ol’ Wally World. 😀

Off to Office Max! But first…

What is the fastest you go on the treadmill?

Kristi

21 Responses to “Bacon me up”

  1. Allie August 2, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I am going to Wally world tonight!! I am going to look for that 🙂

    I have gone to a 9 on the treadmill but no faster!

  2. katshealthcorner August 2, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I haven’t been on the treadmill in FOREVER (since my parents cut the gym membership), but this fall my mom is hoping to get a treadmill and hopefulling even an elliptical. Since it has been a long time since I’ve done that, it’s sort of blurry for me, but I think it was an 8.

  3. debbiecutieface August 2, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I wouldn’t recommend buying your books until AFTER the first week of class…some professors never even bother to use the books and they are really expensive!

  4. Christy August 2, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I have had baconnaise before and vegan mayonnaise. I don’t know how to spell that. Haha.

    DOMS hurts so bad, but you know it’s good in the long run. I had a major case of it this weekend.

    How do I make time go by on the treadmill? I run outside. (;

    • Sweet Cheeks August 2, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

      I would too if it wasn’t 110 degrees at 8 o’clock in the morning haha.

  5. Meg August 2, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Wally world, oooh how you never fail to disappoint 😉

    Love ya!

  6. runningonapples August 2, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    Not a hugeee fan of bacon or the treadmill haha- scared I’ll fall off!

  7. Alexandra August 2, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Yay for DOMS and tropical breakfasts! I love that little cherry on top of the oat mountain heehee! 😀 I think once I hit 9.5 on the treadmill when I was feeling like a rebel and it scared the living daylights out of me!! Never again haha

    • Sweet Cheeks August 2, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      you go girl! It makes me think of BIggest Loser…some of them ran on 10 mph. I don’t see how it’s possible!

  8. Sweet and Savvy August 2, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I have to try cooking oats in egg white! Yours always look so fluffy!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 2, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      My oats are fluffy because of the egg whites add in! I never eat oats without it anymore. 😀

  9. movesnmunchies August 2, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    baconaisseE!!?! thats gnarly!

  10. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    I can’t go faster than 8 mph on the treadmill for the same reason as you… I’m just scared that I’m going to fly off the end, of that my stride will get too long and my back foot will just slide off… Eeeee.

  11. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 2, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Those tropical oats look so great! I’ve never topped my oats with blended silken tofu before! What a great idea 🙂 I’m scared of going fast on the treadmill, I worry I will fall off!

  12. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 2, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Woah those eats look delish! I hardly ever go on the treadmille now. Its wayyy to hot and I prefer biking or swimming for my cardio 🙂

  13. Katherine August 2, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    That is the most interesting thing I have ever seen!

  14. thecookieboss August 3, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    Wow! I have never heard of bacon spread!

  15. Jenny August 3, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    I’ve never seen baconnaise before, how interesting! I must go to Wally World asap!

  16. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 3, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    I have got to try those power muffins! Thanks for reminding me about them!

  17. ilovefetacheese August 3, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    hahaha nICE baconaise!!

  18. Diana August 14, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Baconnaise? Err, no thanks. I’m not a huge bacon fan, so I doubt I’ll be trying that anytime soon.

    The fastest I’ve been on a treadmill is 12 mph – when I do HIIT, my sprints are generally between 9 and 11 mph. I’ll do 9mph if I’m sprinting for over a minute, but anything a minute or less is 10mph or faster 🙂

Leave a Reply

