Newness

5 Aug

Hi all!

Today started off pretty fabulously with a vinyasa yoga class, which is becoming a Friday morning trend for me. It’s the perfect way to de-stress from the work and start the weekend off on the right foot. (or left foot, if you’re a leftie like me!) I am really beginning to further my yoga practice with the help of an awesome instructor. It’s so rewarding to conquer a new pose. My favorite one right now is head stand. It is the one pose that can really clear my mind and head. I need to start doing that one at home! I finished up with a 15 minute high incline walk on the treadmill and booked it home because I had pancakes waiting for me! I used Janetha’s pancake recipe, which I have made before and really like. This morning’s batch was no different and they were quickly gobbled up. Too quickly for a picture, apparently. Sorry guys!

I’ve tried a few new products over the last couple of days that I have really enjoyed. Two of them being cottage cheeses. I am a little obsessed at the moment, and I hope I don’t get burnt out on it, because that will be a perfect dorm room staple this Fall! I have pretty much said goodbye to yogurt for now. My stomach just does not like it at all. I love it, yes, but why eat something if it makes me feel like crap? Cottage cheese has less lactose so I have been doing pretty good with it thankfully!

First up: Breakstone’s 2% Cottage Cheese, with live and active cultures
IMG_2234

These came in convenient single serving packets of 4 making them a great on-the-go option (again, would be great for college) I liked that they have live and active cultures, with 3 grams of fiber per serving to help with digestion. Clean ingredient list and 90 cals, 2 grams fat, 10 grams protein. These packets had a layer of cream at the top, so once you stir it up, it gets super creamy. It was very good and I would definitely get this brand again!

Horizon Organic Cottage Cheese:

IMG_2240

After Matt mentioned this one, I decided to give it a go. First of all, I like that it’s organic and the ingredients are nice and pure. Stats are good, too: 1/2 cup serving is 100 cals, 2.5 grams fat, 13 grams protein. He was right in saying that this one has no funky taste or texture. It’s just a good neutral cottage cheese. I liked it, too!

Franklin Farms Veggie Burgers:

IMG_2250

these were an impulse buy and I don’t regret it! I’m not a huge fan of highly processed meatless options, like MorningStar Farms products for example. They are higher in sodium they I would like and just taste un-fresh to me. These veggie burgers were quite the opposite. They were dense and chewy and I loved that you could see lots of bits and pieces of veggies throughout the burger.

Stats:

IMG_2251

Not too shabby! Here we have yet another great option for my dorm fridge, woohoo!

Advocare Spark Energy Drink:

IMG_2253

I recently won Lindsay’s giveaway and was able to pick out a Spark package to try. Each powdered packet has 45 calories and is infused with vitamins and amino acids to boost energy and increase mental focus. All you do is mix the packet in with 8 oz water, according to the directions. I didn’t want it quite so sweet so I mixed it with 2 cups of water and it was perfect. The Pink Lemonade flavor tastes great, especially on a hot Summer day. I would say it definitely helped keep my energy high for the day which is pretty awesome. Thanks for the great giveaway Lindsay!!!

And a few other recent eats while we’re at it:
IMG_2239

post-strength training meal of egg white oats with protein frosting on top (muscleology cookies and cream whey + almond milk to thin)

FYI: this tasted like cake. 🙂

IMG_2246

beware of the SWAMP. green monster with protein, along with peanut butter egg white oats

IMG_2236

personal pan pizza a la April, with deli turkey, mushrooms, avocado, and nutritional yeast

IMG_2233

cereal bowl with Fiber One honey squares, kamut puffs, raspberries, and almond milk

*The Fiber One honey squares should have been included in the new products I’ve tried. I LOVE IT! It definitely tastes like the Cinnamon Toast Crunch that I used to eat all the time as a kid. Takes me back to my childhood. delish!

IMG_2232

green bean fries, sweet potato with peanut butter, and turkey meatballs. (will post recipe soon!)  

IMG_2238

Night time sludge! Looks horrid, tasted amazing. (1/2 cup blended cottage cheese, 20 grams Cytosport casein protein powder, 1 tbsp dark choclate cocoa powder, almond milk, Artisana almond butter on top) I stuck it in the freezer for 10 minutes before I ate it. < Good choice.

I can just see the looks from my roommate now… green drinks, protein sludges, giant broccoli bowls? Oh, I’m going to make so many friends… 😉

Today I don’t have much on the agenda, which is just dandy with me. I really want to get back to reading The Hunger Games. For whatever reason, I haven’t read much lately and I want to “pleasure read” as much as I can these next two weeks before it’s off to school and my only source of reading will be out of a textbook. Meh. Oh well, I am there for an education after all. 🙂

Are you reading a book right now? If so, what?

Weekend plans? Fill me in! We have family in town so they will be around periodically and I will be going to Pump in the morning. My gym started the new workouts and music this week and i’m loving it! Can’t wait to rip up those muscle. 😉

Kristi

32 Responses to “Newness”

  1. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 5, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Haha love the swamp pic! I am picking up my older sister from the airport this weekend, she has been gone for 6 months!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 5, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      aww awesome! Hope you guys have a great weekend!

  2. Alexandra August 5, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    That is the tastiest swamp I’ve ever seen and those veggie burgres sound great! 🙂
    My first college roommate had never even heard of protein powder before…not only did she look at me crazy when she saw me carrying in a 5 lb tub of this mystery stuff, but she was introduced to my cottage cheese sludge obsession on a daily basis haha she learned about my addiction fast 😀
    All I know is, girl if I were your roommate, I sure wouldn’t mind sharing a fridge! 😛

    • Sweet Cheeks August 5, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      LOL! I can only imagine…oh well, I’m going to eat what I want to eat and who cares what anyone else thinks! We should definitely be roommates though. Come to Kansas girl! 😉

  3. janetha @ meals & moves August 5, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I need to try April’s pizza! Lots of blogger lovin’ in this post–thanks for the holler. Have a great weekend, doll! xo

  4. debbiecutieface August 5, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I love cottage cheese! Perfect dorm room staple, definitely – as long as you don’t let it go bad!

  5. Julia August 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Breakstones cottage cheese is so good..but the Horizon has that cute cow on it… =)
    I kept those in my fridge all the time-single serving is soo convenient at school!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 5, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Yeah, Horizon wins because of the cow face. 🙂

  6. Lexi August 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Loving all the new products! I have to try those veggieburgers! 14g of protein in one pattie?! Yes please!

    And I know what you mean about accomplishing a pose – it feels great! I would love to be able to do a head stand… It looks so cool!

    Are you reading a book right now? If so, what?
    I’m reading “Leaving the World” by Douglas Kennedy. It’s actually really good – I think I’m going to read some more after I finish my comment, actually! 🙂

    Weekend plans? Fill me in!
    Going to my treatment center’s alumni group this afternoon, yoga-ing tomorrow morning, baking, running… the usual!

  7. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 5, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    I am loving all of your new products! That’s great that those veggie burgers have so much protein, I will be on the look out for them.
    I am rather impressed at your yoga skills- I can’t even touch my toes.. quite inflexible ha
    I am reading yet another Kristin Hannah book and Love Story 🙂

  8. Katie August 5, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    ha! Your roommates might be scared of the green or nightly sludge, but who cares! Hey you might even have them intrigued ; )

    Loving the new stuff, I love those veggie burgers but never find them anymore!

    Have a great weekend love! xoxo ❤

  9. SquatLikeALady August 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Have fun with the faaaaaaam! 🙂

    Those burgers sound good! I will have to scour the shelves around here 😉

  10. The Food and Love Diaries August 5, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Everything looks so delish!! I don’t even know which one I’d want to eat first

  11. allieksmith August 5, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    I am currently reading Lunch in Paris and it is pretty good. I actually have to read The Hunger Games for school .. It is good?!

  12. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 5, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    I LOVE COTTAGE CHEESE<3 Try Friendship brand if you can find it. It's so amazing. I haven't tried horizon yet. I've only seen it a few times. everything else looks really amazing too 🙂 Love all your eats.
    Have fun at pump! I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding this weekend so it will be full of wedding festivities

  13. lactosefreelizzie August 5, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Haha my friends think my food is weird and they don’t mind too much so don’t worry! I’m reading “what happened to goodbye” by sarah dessen. It’s awesomeeeeeeee!!

  14. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 5, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I love cottage cheese, especially when they come in cute individualized packages! That protein sludge sounds tasty, I love things that look weird 🙂

  15. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 5, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I’m kind of obsessed with cottage cheese at the moment too… and adding things like cocoa and protein powder to it 😀 Bliss. And The Hunger Games was a great series, so you should definitely give it a go. I’m reading The Shadow of the Wind right now, and I’m really enjoying it. Some other good reads lately have been Room, The Help, The Art of Racing in the Rain, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and The Kite Runner.

  16. nutritionforarunner August 6, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    I am so happy I found your blog! I will deffinitely be trying the portabella burgers:)

  17. paoang August 6, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    GAAAH so many delish eats on here…the turkey meatballs look SO good! And so does that cereal bowl 😀
    And btw, I can totally relate to the whole roommate thing haha. Mine’s gonna be so weirded out XD

  18. Sweet and Savvy August 6, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    Those individual cottage cheeses look so so good!! And I love Franklin’s veggie burgers 🙂

  19. stephanie August 6, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    ive never seen veggie burgers that werent already frozen, yum! haha your roommate will get used to it, and maybe learn a little along the way 😉

  20. katshealthcorner August 6, 2011 at 4:54 am #

    Those Portobelo Veggie Burgers sound delicious! I love all of the protein in them!

  21. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 6, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    I LOVE TURKEY MEATBALLS! Can’t wait for that recipe!!!

  22. Jen@jensdaily August 6, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to like cottage cheese, but the texture gets me every time!!! I’ll try one of the brands you mentioned…maybe there is hope for me yet!

  23. Christy August 6, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    I love cottage cheese. It tastes great with bananas. (;

  24. In Sweetness and In Health August 6, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Yay I’m so glad you got your Spark!!! And that you love it :). Hope you have a fab weekend!

  25. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 7, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I’m reading Patterson’s Beach Road – it’s really good! I love JP 🙂

  26. livinglearningeating August 7, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Looks good!

    I recommend YouBar snacks for school, I just tried them and they’re delicious – and healthy?! (http://livinglearningeating.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/youbar-product-review/)

    I need to try Nooch on pizza, ASAP…my stomach can’t handle the normal kind (too much lactose) but it *can* handle yogurt (and I make it suck it up, as far as ice cream goes 😛 )

    I *love* reading. Right now, I’m reading ‘Wreck the Halls,’ because it was the only book that I could find lying around. I want a really fun book, though! Now 😛

    • Sweet Cheeks August 7, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

      those bars are awesome!! Too bad they aren’t more affordable though, especially for a college student, haha.

Leave a Reply

