Time for a getaway

8 Aug

Welcome to another new week!

These last few weeks of Summer are flying right by. In less than 2 weeks now, I will be moving away and into my first dorm room. A huge change is right up ahead. I think it’s going to be a bit of system shock because I’ve been in such a routine here at home for so long. But I know that this NEEDS to happen. I want it happen. It’s time that I get out in the real world and start living life on m own. It will be process, that’s for sure; but I have a strong sense that amazing things are going to come out of it!

In other news: My mom, sister, and I are getting ready to take a mini vacation! We aren’t going far; but it’s a getaway nonetheless and I couldn’t be more ready for some R&R and FUN! And my extreme excitement just *might* have something to do with the fact that both Trader Joes and Whole Foods are minutes from our hotel. Can you guess who made the travel arrangements? 😉

On the exercise front, here is my workout recap from last week:

Monday: Jillfit upper body strength workout

Tuesday: Speed intervals based off a fartlek treadmill workout (I missed spin class, boo!)

Wednesday: 1 hour Body Pump class

Thursday: Leisurely 2 mile morning trail walk

Friday: 1 hour vinyasa flow yoga class

Saturday: 1 hour Body Pump + 10 minutes high incline walking

Sunday: Leisurely 2 mile trail walk

Thoughts: I got in my three strength training workouts and that is my main goal currently. I love feeling strong and seeing results and that my friends, is what lifting does for you…heavy weights that is; don’t let me catch any of you with 2 pounders in your hands. (I’m looking at you, MOM!) My cardio came mostly from walking, because that is what I *felt* like doing. So in true “listen to your body” fashion, I obliged. Anything that you enjoy and gets you moving is great exercise in my book.

FOOD: As most of you know, I don’t photograph everything I eat, and looking over these pics it looks like a lot of my carbs have escaped the camera’s eye. I really don’t know why, haha! But with my dinners below, I pair it with a sweet potato, bread or toast, corn on the cob, etc. Just an FYI. 🙂

IMG_2266

A healthy oatmeal version of zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting…will post soon. 😀

IMG_2254

cottage cheese and peaches

IMG_2260

coffee protein shake! ~ 1 scoop protein, 1 cup almond milk, 1 cup chilled coffee, ice, xanthan and guar gum pinches.

IMG_2257

avocado and lemon juice massaged kale (with salt and pepper), chicken, and a hummus laughing cow cheese wrap with spinach.

IMG_2261

cantaloupe, snap peas, and hard boiled egg whites with salsa.

IMG_2262

sauteed cabbage bowl with broccoli, mushrooms, steak, and avocado (sauteed in liquid aminos, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and black pepper)

IMG_2264

same sauteed cabbage bowl only this time with baconnaise broiled tilapia and mustard.

IMG_2265

the usual nightly sludge of amazingness: cottage cheese, protein powder, dark chocolate cocoa powder, almond milk, and coconut butter.

***

Today I will be:

  • doing a chest and back lifting workout
  • babysitting (taking the kids to see the Smurfs!)
  • packing for said mini vaca
  • watching the season premiere of Bachelor Pad…don’t act like you won’t be watching it, too. 😉

Did you go on a vacation this Summer?

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Kristi


31 Responses to “Time for a getaway”

  1. allieksmith August 8, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Have a great mini vacation! I can’t wait to see pictures from your adventures 🙂 I went on a cruise in June for vacation 😀

  2. runningonapples August 8, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Vacation sounds so good right now! I need to prep for school too.came so fast!

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 8, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Have a wonderful mini vacation! All of your eats are lookin mighty tasty 🙂

  4. Christy August 8, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Have fun with your little vacation!

  5. keepnthefaith August 8, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    Have a wonderful mini vacay!! Can’t wait for the zucchini oats! Sounds so delicious 🙂

  6. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 8, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Have fun on your vacation! I love that you put the salsa in the egg white holes what a great idea!!! Too bad I just ate mine (literally) plain. I wish I would have seen this post before I took my last bite

  7. Katie August 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Have a blast on your vacation with your mom and sis! LOVE that your hotel is near two foodie heavens ; )

    Have a great day love! xoxo ❤

  8. Haley Q August 8, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    All of that food looks so so good!
    I went to Italy this summer, but really you don’t have to go anywhere special to have a GREAT vacation filled with memories. Have fun with your mom and sister!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 8, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      exactly! Just being able to get away at all makes it so nice!

  9. Alexandra August 8, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Ahh girl have fun on your vacay!! 😀 Sounds like oober fun before college. This summer, we went to Mississippi and my mom and I went to Florida, I just love travel with family 🙂
    By the way, your egg white salsa idea is awesome! Must try that asap 🙂

  10. SquatLikeALady August 8, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    aw how fun! Have a blasty during your getaway!

  11. thecookieboss August 8, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Vacation sure sounds fun! I didn’t go on one this summer though. Last year I went to a couple of places though.

  12. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 8, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Hope you have a great vacation, girlie! I was gonna go for a trip this summer, but then I bought a new condo so I scrapped the vacation plans to save some money for the new place. I’ll be moving out soon, too, and I totally know what you mean about it being exciting and scary at the same time. It’ll be awesome though 😀

  13. lactosefreelizzie August 8, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Zucchini cake oats? thats awesome!!!

  14. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 8, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Woah! I love carrot cake oats, but need to try these zucchini ones! cool. I wish I could have a vacation this summer. I am working sooo much though…

  15. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 8, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Please take me on vacation with you. I need one!

  16. debbiecutieface August 8, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    have fun on your vacation! I’m sure you’re so excited to be off on your own in college! I know I was. But to tell you the truth, college is hardly “the real world” haha

  17. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 9, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I love sautéed cabbage! Have a great mini-vacay, I bet that will be some great bonding time 🙂

  18. The Food and Love Diaries August 9, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Zucchini cake?! Love you.

  19. Jess August 9, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    Currently watching Bachelor Pad 😀
    Enjoy the smurfs! or I hope you enjoyed it 😉

    WOOOOHOOOO for heavy lifting 😀

    • Sweet Cheeks August 9, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      yay! I knew you would admit to watching it Jess! 😀

  20. Tara August 9, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    That dessert looks amazing. Yum!

  21. paoang August 9, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Hope you have a great vacation girl! I’d totally do the same thing you did with the hotel btw 😉
    All your food looks amazing btw; I loooove the stir-fries! And I’m with you on the whole “breaking the routine” when going away to college; it’s one of the main reasons I want to leave in the first place!

  22. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 9, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Hmmm NYC perhaps??? Wherever you go…with a TJ’s and a Whole Foods you;re bound to have a great time!!!

  23. healthycollegegirl August 10, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    how sad is it that summer is almost over?! 😦 enjoy your vacation!!!

  24. Tiff August 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I want a mini vaca tooooo! 🙂 Enjoy it girl. I know you’ll have a good time.

  25. Erika August 12, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    yumm! i’m looking forward to the zucchini recipe!! enjoy your vacation girly 🙂

Leave a Reply

