Armed with Trader Joe’s Goods

13 Aug

Well Hellllllo! Long time no talk!

We made it back yesterday, safe and sound from our mini vacation. It’s always nice to get away from your usual daily routine but now I’m glad to be back home enjoying my last bit of time left before I break into the world of college-life. I have exactly 1 WEEK left before I move and I’m frantically trying to make sure that: 1. everything is ready to go. and 2. I’m not forgetting anything. Of course I will inevitably forget a few things, but I’m hoping that will be kept to a minimum.

Our vacation was perfectly simple and low-key, and only a 3 1/2 hour drive away. We did some shopping, exploring + walking around, and enjoyed some good eats. Pictures were scarce, I’m afraid, because I was more focused on the much needed un-winding. I can say that there were several trips to Whole Foods hot bar and Trader Joes, as I mentioned that they were both only a few minutes from our hotel. Can’t get much better than that!

IMG_2269

I usually fill my container with a bit of everything: rotisserie chicken, tofu, rice/quinoa/bulgar mixes, spinach, rainbow chard, grilled veggies, etc. WIth Kombucha!

Side Note: Whole Foods has Komucha on sale 2 for $4. I definitely took advantage of that!

IMG_2271

Shrimp Spring Roll with peanut dipping sauce

IMG_2272

more hot bar lovin’

I can’t express how much I love Trader Joe’s and how much I wish I lived right next door to one. Heck…forget next door, I want to live IN it. The friendly atmosphere, amazing prices, and high quality food makes me so happy! I got some great things to put in my dorm fridge/room next week.

Trader Joe’s Purchases:

IMG_2275

  • toasted oatbran
  • quick cook steel cut oats
  • multi-grain hot cereal (rye, barley, wheat)
  • mini whole wheat pita pockets
  • seaweed snacks
  • bars: variety of protein bars, Kind bars, and a Perfect Foods bar to try
  • edamame: a sea salt flavor and the wasabi flavor

IMG_2276

  • citrus Kombuchas
  • tomato basil hummus
  • olive hummus
  • cottage cheese
  • goat’s mlk creamy cheese
  • jalapeno chicken sausage
  • smoked salmon
  • superfruit jam spread
  • organic peanut butter (creamy and crunchy)
  • roasted almond butter
  • flaxseed almond butter
  • sunflower seed butter
  • champagne vinaigrette
  • instant coffee

❤ ❤ ❤

We also went to Pier One and I found some new dishes to bring with me:

IMG_2281

I couldn’t decide between square or circular bowls, I got one of each. I love them!

Throw in a bit of clothes shopping, because Wet Seal was calling my name and it would have been rude to ignore it.

IMG_2283

I did however stick to the sale racks, which were buy one get one for a penny. Okay, now you’re talking my language! I am such the little bargain shopper. I doubt I’ll surprise anyone by saying that I much prefer shopping for food than for clothes. However, if there is a good deal going on, you better believe I’ll be there!

I did keep up with my exercise during our trip, mainly for two reasons:

1. we had plenty of down time

2. we had access to an AWESOME gym

Our hotel’s gym was very small and only had a treadmill, elliptical, and bike, so they hook you up with free passes to a gym located right behind them. (only a 1-2 min. walk) They had tons of great weight equipment, held classes, and were never really busy. It was a total win and I’m glad I was able to take advantage of it! I know it’s subjective, but I like working out on vacation. It make me happy and boosts my mood (thank you endorphins) and I do it because I like it. Also, I am stir-crazy and can’t sit and do nothing for very long, haha. I need my daily movement! It’s funny though, because today I am actually quite exhausted so I called it a Rest Day and could be perfectly content in bed all day. It’s all about listening to your body and going with the flow!

Do you workout on vacation or take the time off to rest?

See you guys later!

Kristi

27 Responses to “Armed with Trader Joe’s Goods”

  1. The Food and Love Diaries August 13, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    How exciting/ nerve wracking!!! I remember right before I moved to my undergrad I had a HUGE freak out. I was like “I CHANGED MY MIND!! NOT GOING!!” Luckily I came around 🙂 Moving from PA to CA was scaryyyyy but I managed. Good luck!!

  2. Allie August 13, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Love Trader Joe’s!! Their sunflower seed butter is the best! I workout on vacation if I feel like it or if I have to due to sports that I’m missing haha ugh

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    I am loving all of your products!! Both of those almond butters are my favorite 🙂 I had quite a similar salmon roll the other day too! YUM

  4. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 13, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    I usually go for runs with my Dad on vacation depending on where we are. Your stash of purchases look so awesome! I love seeing what other people buy, it always sparks my curiosity!

  5. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 13, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Woah! whhata haul! nice work haha. Cute bowls and amazing looking eats! 🙂

  6. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 13, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    I love that you bought plenty of nut butter 🙂

  7. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 14, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    I like working out on vacation too! Not because I feel like I have to but I just like it!! Vacation is all about feelin good and having fun…and working out definitely makes me feel good!

  8. stephanie August 14, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    so glad you enjoyed your vacation! looks like you got some great stuff to put in your dorm!

    i like working out on vacation too, i dont make it my priority, like i wont make myself frantic and crazy to get it in, but if there is time I love to get a good sweat in no matter where I am

  9. abznoats August 14, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    I love those Perfect Foods Bars! The Carob Chip flavor is so good! 🙂

  10. Alexandra August 14, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    Ahh I’m so jealous!! I want to go to TJ’s so flipping bad, I bet it’s heaven, especially if you got all those amazing goodies holy cow! 🙂 Sometimes I workout on vacay, but most of the time I like to just kick back and chilllll 😀

  11. kbwood August 14, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    YAYYYYY FOR TJS! girl all of that stuff is AWESOME!!! the only thing thats not good at TJS is their cottage cheese 😦 its SO sad, actually! but everything else is awesome! HECK i want to live INSIDE of tjs!!! love you! so glad u had fun!

  12. Tara August 14, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    It’s moments like these I hate living in Australia and being nowhere near TJs!

    I always work out on vacation. If I don’t, I usually feel sick because I tend to indulge a bit more than usual too 😉 My husband and I had the most active honeymoon ever eight months ago: we lifted weights for an hour each day, ran for 45 minutes each day, and played either tennis or golf every day, plus hours of walking! Only he and I would enjoy that haha

  13. Jess August 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Sounds like a WONDERFUL vacation!! So glad you had a relaxing time before college–so excited for you!

    Your TJ goodies look delicious and will make the perfect dorm room staples!

  14. Haley Q August 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Looks like such a relaxing and comfortable vacation! I love going on trips where you’re not totally out of your comfort zone, yet you can still unplug and relax.
    Normally I use vacations as rest days-although it’s easier said than done-but that’s mostly because I don’t have access to a gym or the motivation to do anything!

  15. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    such an exciting time in your life…enjoy every moment!! on another note your finds from TJs are banging!! love everything you got and havent tried some so illhave to find out if you enjoyed it all 🙂 the sunflower seed butter is one of my favorites! and teh power crunch bars…be careful they taste like a candy bar! LOL

    • Sweet Cheeks August 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      I have never had a TJ’s item that disappointed so it is probably a safe bet to say that i will love it all haha. 🙂

  16. lifttorun August 14, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I have a square bowl from Pier One too. I love it. I love bowls in general. Hahah.

  17. thecookieboss August 14, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I usually skip working out on vacation because we usually do a lot of walking.

  18. runningonapples August 14, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    Good luck with the transition! Im leaving for school friday too…better start packing haha

  19. Errign August 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Trader Joe’s is like mecca for me haha. Love that place!

  20. pbbrittany August 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Buy one get one for a penny? I know where I’ll be shopping this week… 😉 I always work out on vacations because workouts make me feel great! If I don’t workout, I always feel sluggish and just plain tired.

  21. lactosefreelizzie August 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    ahhh so jealous you went to TJ’s!! I love all the stuff they have there. it’s like the best place ever.

  22. Tiff August 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Let me know how you like that salad dressing. I almost bought it not long ago. Great minds think alike 😉

  23. Jenny August 16, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    eeeek, sweet cheeks! I am so excited for you and your college endeavors 🙂 Get ready for the best 4 years of your life!!!

    So jealous of your TJs swag! oh, and for the record – it’s really acceptable for you to go through that entire jar of sunflower seed butter in one day. No one will judge you. 😉 it’s the best!

  24. Alexis @ hummusapien September 9, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    TJ’s is my home away from home. OBSESSED. love the toasted oat bran 🙂

Leave a Reply

