How To…

15 Aug

It’s Monday morning. Summer is over and classes are about to start. The alarm clock goes off at what you are sure is the wrong time. It can’t possibly be time to get up already?! You lay in bed trying to muster up the strength to roll out of bed and get going on the day’s tasks.

Sound like a familiar scenario?

Luckily, I have been able to enjoy most of this Summer without the pain of Monday morning blues, but with college literally right around the corner, I thought it would be a great time to remind myself of some tips to make things go a little smoother. With new classes, activities, and social events, things are undoubtably going to get crazy busy. I am the type of person who gets easily overwhelmed if I feel like I have too much going on at once. However, I also don’t want to miss out on all the fun that will be going on. So what’s a girl to do? Here are some guidelines I will attempt to follow:

How To Successfully Transition into College Life:


201108151408.jpg

1. Accept that it will take some time.

I have only lived in one place my entire life so I’m already expecting to feel maybe a little “off” for a while. A new environment, new (smaller!) bed, and tons of new people will be presented. I will be put out of my comfort zone, which will ultimately be a great thing! If I accept and realize that there may be some ups and downs with my emotions at first, then I can better deal with it and just ride it out. Soon enough I will find my place and things will start to feel more comfortable.

2. Stay on top of school work.

The last thing I want to do is get behind in classes. Getting started on the right foot will be important and make things go much more smoothly. While it’s important to have fun in college, I have to remember that I’m ultimately there to get an education!

3. Have a form of stress relief.

With attempting to juggle school, activities, and friends, it will inevitably cause some stress. Exercise has been my to-go form of stress relief and I want to make sure I fit that into my schedule, too. Having that “me time” will help balance things out and give me a chance to clear my mind, enabling me to think more clearly. Also, yoga and mediation provide awesome stress-relieving benefits and I plan on incorporating them as well. Even just sitting on the floor with your legs crossed and eyes closed, taking some deep breathes makes me feel so refreshed and level-headed.

4. Make time for sleep.

Late nights are going to happen. And that’s fine! But it’s all about balance. I thrive off a good night’s sleep. I can either be fun to be around or a complete grouch depending on the quality of sleep I had the night before. Some people are perfectly fine on little sleep, but for me it’s important to get enough. I will keep this in mind and try to work towards a good balance of fun and sleep.

5. Allow for a change of plans:

Me being a total type-A personality, I love planning and having a schedule. This a good thing, to an extent. I want to be open to new things and opportunities that come my way and that may very well mean loosening up on the strict schedule. Having a “loose” plan of the day is a great idea to keep you on track and not dabbling around with no purpose. But I want to be willing to deviate from said plan if another opportunity comes up. I will only be in college once and I’m not going to miss out on things just so I can keep to my schedule.

What is your best tip for success in college?

Kristi

32 Responses to “How To…”

  1. Alexandra August 15, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Great post! And so true, I agree with all your pointers.
    My advice: use a planner so you can finish things way in advance to cut down on all nighters and have all of your favorite foods in the fridge for when dining hall food is gnarly haha! πŸ˜€

    • Sweet Cheeks August 15, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      oh yes, I will definitely be using a planner! Mine has a full page for each day and goes by the hour. It will help so much, i’m sure!

  2. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 15, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Great post! Everything you said is true.
    My tip: Stay organized and don’t let things go until the last minute. If they tell you, there’s a research paper during the semester start working on it! Even if it means just going and picking a topic.

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 15, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Great tips for getting through college life! My biggest one would probably be to not procrastinate and stay on top of homework, butttttt that’s something I was never able to do lol. No matter how many time I tried to start early, somehow things would always get left until the last minute =\ And it’s also a good idea to take a calendar/planner and write down when everything is due at the beginning, so you can see when your biggest workload will be, and when you’ll have some time off.

  4. runningonapples August 15, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Looks like you’re all set for college already! You’ll have an amazing time, girl =)

  5. Dawn August 15, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    Good points on here. I am going back to school this fall. I am only taking one class but with work full time, my daughter starting high school, the gym and being a wonderful wife πŸ˜‰ that’s about all I can manage.

    I would not know what I would do without my planner. It’s my life saver!

    Good luck this year with your studies.

    • Sweet Cheeks August 15, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

      I love my planner, too! Without it, I would be so scatter brained. Thank you and good luck with your class as well!

  6. Casey August 15, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    This is a great post. I think my best tip is what helped me in college–study groups! A group of friends and I would walk to the library, and then we would sit for a few hours and do our own work, with a chatting/Pizza Hut breadsticks break in there somewhere. πŸ™‚ This made me go and STAY and work–I didn’t want to leave while everyone else was studying–but it was still social, too!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 15, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      I love this idea! I will have to remember that. πŸ™‚

  7. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    Having a planner saves my life on a regular basis! My best tip is to get sleep! You might be saying “duh” but getting enough sleep all of the time allows me to remain as healthy as I possibly can. For example, when that Swine flu business was going around, I didn’t get sick and I think one of the major reasons is that I was never tired, slept enough and therefore was not susceptible to the infectioin

  8. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 15, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Great tips! these are perfect for a back to school girl like me haha! Thanks πŸ™‚

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 15, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Great tips, they are all solid advice! I need to make sure to allow for change this term too! In the past i’ve been super rigid about my plans/goals and I just end up stressing myself out!

  10. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 15, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    Make friends in the beginning. Trust me, they will be buddies for life!

  11. Tara August 15, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    I think you’re well prepared! I think the most important one is to focus on your goals and make sure you make study the number one priority. While it’s okay to have fun as well, don’t let others pressure you into blowing study off. I’m way more successful now than others in my year who didn’t put in the same effort as me.

  12. allieksmith August 15, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Great tips!!!

  13. Rachel August 16, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    study BEFORE the night before your test is always key. and rainboots are CLUTCH.

  14. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 16, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Awesome tips girl! I need to book mark this for when I go off to school next year! Thanks Kristi!

  15. Haley Q August 16, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Such good reminders! Even though I’ve been in college for two years already, I’m still trying to balance all of that and you’re right-it does take time. But if you know your body and how you thrive, then you’re good to go girl!

  16. thecookieboss August 16, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    I totally with you on this! Especially getting enough sleep!

  17. debbiecutieface August 16, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    my advice to you about college is to soak in EVERY moment! It goes by way too fast!

  18. lactosefreelizzie August 16, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Ahh all this college talk is making me excited for college! Too bad I still have 4 years on me… πŸ˜›

  19. lifttorun August 16, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    I have no tips for you since college is not in my future. (;

  20. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 16, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    ENJOY YOURSELF!!! look into all oppourtunities and just be yourself…I found that college I truly found myself…I found my passions, what I loved, and the best part is that everyone there is doing the same exact thing! dont be scared to reach out to new people, try new clubs, events, outings…just take advantage of it all!

  21. katshealthcorner August 16, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    I’m starting my plans for college right now. Thank you for this post! πŸ™‚

  22. The Food and Love Diaries August 16, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Push yourself to try new things! Even if you feel uncomfortable or awkward… get out there!

  23. healthycollegegirl August 16, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    what a great post, girl! sounds like you have it figured out already πŸ™‚ my number one tip is just to get yourself out of your comfort zone and have as much fun as possible.

  24. Danielle Spellman@ Squirrel Snackin' August 16, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    My best tip is to make friends and have fun! But also get school finished too. I focused more on the getting school finished part and had no fun at all. I don’t recommend that. πŸ˜‰

  25. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 16, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    My best tip is savor it while it lasts! My senior year I wanted so badly to leave but I didn’t realize how good I had it!

  26. jessgobananas August 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Fabulous suggestions! From what I hope to go through next year – I am going to allow myself to have fun yet be responsible! No one wants to be the girl who can’t handle her beer or, oh dear me – the girl walking the walk of shame! I know that you won’t be her though! What college?!

  27. thequirkykitchen August 16, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Great pointers! I agree with all of them and having already been to uni, I wish I had this post taped to my wall to keep me sane! I was a total workaholic at uni and could study all day. However, it was unhealthy and I’d try to be a little less hard on myself if I relived the experience. And I’d try to sleep more….and treat myself with more care. I think it’s great that you’ve factored in that you need to loosen the routine in some cases – again, I should have done that too!

  28. lindsay August 17, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    those are some awesome tips! One that I had when I was in college is to really find what you enjoy and share it!

Leave a Reply

