WIAW: round…who knows

17 Aug

Hi guys! Thanks to everyone who offered a college success tip on Monday’s post. There are some great ideas, so check it out if you haven’t already!

It’s time for another What I ate Wednesday edition. I have no idea how many times this makes but let’s just go with a lot. πŸ˜‰

 

I made THE BEST patch of protein pancakes ever yesterday and they have now become my go-to recipe. Unfortunately I am just perfecting it in time to leave for college and live in the dorms. I guess these will have to be saved for weekend visits at home. The recipe makes about 3 servings for me, which is perfect because I can enjoy one for breakfast and then have theother two servings ready to grab and go in the fridge. They make awesome portable snacks!

IMG 2256

Perfected Protein Pancakes:

  • 3/4 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 serving protein powder (30 grams)
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour (or another whole grain flour, ground oats, etc)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • splash of almond milk or water, if needed
  • sweetener of choice, if desired (I did not need any because my protein powder added enough flavor)

Combine all ingredients and blend together in a blender, food processor, or a bowl with a hand-held mixer. Pour onto a greased skillet and cook them up to your liking! I got 12 pancakes out of this. Top with whatever floats your boat. Peanut butter and maple syrup will forever be my favorite pancake topping. Nothing beats that!

***

Let’s see what we have here…Oh yea, I am in love with apple butter as an oatmeal topping:

IMG 2289

It. rocks.

1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water (cooked the night before) In the morning I added a splash of almond milk and some Trunutrition Trutein vanilla protein powder blend. Apple butter stirred in and put on top.

* I recently got samples of a new-to-me protein powder: Trutein. They use a blend of whey, casein, and egg whites have awesome flavors to choose from including cinnabon, chocolate peanut butter cup, chocolate dipped strawberry, chocolate covered banana, milk chocolate, and vanilla. All I can say is WOW. This is the best tasting protein I have used to date. You can order samples from their website inexpensively. One word of advice: DO IT. The cinnabon and chocolate peanut butter cup are my favorite!

IMG 2297

Mid morning snack of my vegan yogurt (blended silken tofu), sliced almonds and a diced peach

Something I am pretty excited about:

IMG 2284

I finally have tomatoes from my plant!!! I am such a proud momma of my first little cutie!

I put it to good use in a cabbage stir fry:

IMG 2291

Final product (plus un-pictured sprouted grain toast):

IMG 2292

sauteed cabbage, kale, and tomatoes with dijon mustard and homemade marinara mixed in (plus garlic powder, pepper, basil, oregano) topped with ground beef, avocado, marinara, and cottage cheese

Afternoon snacks consisted of…

IMG 2302

3 ingredient muffins

IMG 2303

another peach (obsessed) with peanut buttery chocolate protein ice cream (1 scoop protein, 1 cup almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Grass, 1 scoop peanut butter, ice, guar gum)

^That is really good if you dice the peach and put it in the ice cream!

IMG 2298

broiled chicken with Baconnaise and seasonings, sweet potato fries in coconut oil, and noochy kale chips

IMG 2305

night-time snack of oatbran, blended silken tofu, flaxmeal, and maple syrup. Thanks for the idea, Amanda!


And today’s What I Worked Wednesday:

My last Tuesday morning spin class before I leave! *insert super sad face* It was a good, super shweaty one and I will miss that class for sure. Hopefully I will be able to find a spin instructor as good as this one in my new town!

Tomorrow will be my last Body Pump class. And the countdown gets closer…

Time to get to bed! Happy Wednesday to you all!

32 Responses to “WIAW: round…who knows”

  1. katshealthcorner August 17, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    I love that you used Coconut Flour in your protein pancakes! That is so cool! And I happen to have some! πŸ˜€ And your protein ice cream is making me hungry! πŸ™‚

  2. kbwood August 17, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    so much goodness on here!!! LOVE the pancake recipe- those would be great to make and freeze here at school!!! love that protein powder- im going to have to get me some samples!! AHH got your tweet- i did NOT find the grinder! It was so sad!!!!! they just ran out, boo! ill HAVE to get it soon. love you!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 17, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      I didn’t find the grinder either, I was mad lol! next time, it’s happening!

  3. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 17, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    Yum! great recipe πŸ™‚ happy WIAW

  4. Katie August 17, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Hi love!!!

    Loving the pancake recipe! I always try to make coconut flour pancakes and they crumble, maybe this one will work!

    So excited for you, college is going to be a great time in your life!

    xoxo ❀

    • Sweet Cheeks August 17, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

      these were not crumbly at all, for me at least! The cottage cheese really helps it stay together.

  5. Alexandra August 17, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I’ve never had apple butter before but I’ve always wanted to try it! πŸ™‚ And girl I too am SO obsessed with peaches this time of year, I’m gonna miss them terribly when winter rolls around haha
    Thanks for the great recipe too!

  6. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 17, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I’m so excited to try this pancake recipe! My tomato plants have started bearing fruit too, and the tomatoes are sooooo good! πŸ™‚

  7. movesnmunchies August 17, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    LOVE everything on this page! ima order soeme samples!

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 17, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Those pancakes sound awesome! SO much protein!!!! Gotta try those out cause all the ingredients are such faves of mine!!!

  9. keepnthefaith August 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    mmmm those protein pancakes sound great!! I love the flavor that coconut flour gives off, but I can never seem to get enough liquid into a batter!! I guess I just have to keep working at it πŸ™‚

  10. Errign August 17, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Happy Wednesday! Bummer to your summer job being over, but I bet you’re excited for school!

  11. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Lovin’ the night time snack, girl! That’s my favorite one for sure. And those pancakes sound great. I’ve tried working with coconut flour in pancakes before and they just turn out to be a gloopy mess, so I might just have to give these a shot.

  12. lifttorun August 17, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Yummmmmmy. (:

  13. Julia August 17, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    everything looks greatt!! I need to try those pancakes asap

  14. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 17, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Those pancakes look fabulous! I like that they are higher protein too as I am always trying to find ways to sneak in extra protein πŸ™‚
    That is a perfect night-time snack too! All my favorite stuff in one

  15. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Glad you found a recipe for the oat bran! It’s good stuff.
    Awe I remember counting down my last classes before leaving. but you’re going to have so much fun at college πŸ˜€

  16. Sweet and Savvy August 17, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Recipe looks great!!

    And oh my goodness… Never thought of apple butter as an oatmeal topping. MUST try this out!

  17. Connie the Cookie Monster August 17, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    reading everyones WIAW is making me feel so guilty cuz all i eat is junk food πŸ˜› oh wel bikini season is almost over anyway

  18. Jenny August 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I have never had apple butter before, I gotta give it a try!

  19. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 17, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Great eats and happy WIAW πŸ™‚

  20. pbbrittany August 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Thats a great pancake recipie! &I actually have all those ingrediants in my house…maybe pancakes will see their way into my future…like tomorrow morning…. πŸ™‚

  21. Tara August 18, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Yum, I might have to get myself some of those samples!!

    How do you make your protein ice cream? Do you blend it?

  22. lactosefreelizzie August 18, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    yuum yum yum!
    your oat bran looks so good. i seriously might make some right now for my late night snack πŸ™‚

  23. sprint2thetable August 18, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Everyone is stir-frying cabbage lately! I need to get on board with that – it looks fantastic and I always order cabbage at Asian restaurants.

  24. Jen@foodfamilyfitness August 18, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I can’t get enough peaches this season! Our fridge is over flowing with peach goodness, and I love it!!!

  25. thecookieboss August 19, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    The oatbran looks really good! I think I’ll give it a try!

  26. healthycollegegirl August 19, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    apple butter on oatmeal?! why have i not thought of this??!!!! GENIUS.

Leave a Reply

