Welcoming Change

19 Aug

It’s official; tomorrow i’m leaving home for the first time and starting my life in college. Here’s a message from my email that really hit home for me:


“Welcome change.”

There is nothing more certain in our lives than change. Yet many of us fear change and make elaborate plans to avoid it. We fear the new and find comfort in the stability of the known and familiar.

But to grow, you need to not only accept change, but to embrace it, joyfully. Think of a flowing stream as representing your life. In some places it flows smoothly, with barely a ripple as it travels on its journey. At other places along the way, obstacles create great turbulence; the water roars and thunders as it crashes through gorges and down steep falls.

These represent both the easy and difficult times you experience.

Yet, a stream may have a place where the water becomes banked up, stagnant, unhealthy. Here, nothing thrives and nothing changes.

Welcome the rushing waters of change into your life, for change means growth, spiritual health and self-realization. Embrace each new direction you encounter with courage and enthusiasm. It’s the key to a happier you.

©Jane Powell – Meditations for Women

Today’s Affirmation: I welcome change.

Fitting don’t you think? It’s been a long process to get to this point. Now the time has come and I am ready to welcome this change in my life. Bring on the new adventures!

Next time I’ll be blogging from my new home, stay tuned! ❤

Kristi

 

22 Responses to “Welcoming Change”

  1. Sweet and Savvy August 19, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Good luck in college! I’m sure you will thrive in your enviroment and whatever life throws at you! 🙂

  2. kat August 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Good luck girl!! Your going to do great 🙂

  3. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Awesome message, girl, and I totally needed it too, so thank you 🙂 I’ll be moving out on my own in about a month, and while I can’t wait, I’m also kind of nervous. But like you said, it’s gonna be an adventure, and change doesn’t necessarily mean something negative. I have a feeling that life is gonna rock for the both of us, and I can’t wait to hear about how you’re doing 😀

  4. lactosefreelizzie August 19, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    That’s beautiful! And yes, I will be welcoming change for high school this year. Hopefully it’s change for the better!

  5. stephanie August 19, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    i hope the move goes well!! You’ll make such great friends at college. Make sure you go to all of the welcome events (even if they seem dorky) it’s a great way to met people !

  6. thecookieboss August 19, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Many people do try to resist change even though it can do so much good. But, I guess it’s all just a learning experience.

  7. Alexandra August 19, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    What a fantastic message! I’m so excited for you, you’re gonna just love college life 🙂 Enjoy every second of the adventure, can’t wait to hear how the move goes!

  8. ilovefetacheese August 19, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Good luck!!! Remember to enjoy every MOMENT!! 🙂

  9. lifttorun August 19, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Welcoming change is such a good habit (?). I don’t know if habit is the correct word, but you’ll be so much better off if you can accept change.

  10. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 19, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Great post! eeee good luck in college/new home 🙂

  11. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! August 19, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Wow that email was perfect for you!!! Congrats girl and gooood luck! You’re gonna have a blast!

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 19, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Good luck girl!! I cannot wait to hear about EVERYTHING 🙂

  13. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Good luck with the change, I’m sure it will be a great adventure! I can’t wait to hear 🙂

  14. Allie August 19, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Love love love this!

  15. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 19, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Good luck!

  16. Sable@SquatLikeALady August 20, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    GOOD LUCK!!! 🙂 Have fun! LIve in the moment 🙂

  17. Jenny August 20, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU, KRISTI!!!! I know you may be a little scared, petrified even, but I promise – this will be such an exciting chapter in your life! i want to hear everything!!!!!

  18. Kate August 20, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Good luck!!! I am blogging from my new home, and I love it!!! 🙂

  19. Kelsey August 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    It’s so beautiful that you have arrived to this new destination and heading off into another at the same time- to be learning and growing 🙂 SO PROUD OF YOU!

    Looking forward to the posts to come!! ❤

    xoxo

  20. Jess August 21, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    SO excited for you!!

    and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

  21. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Good Luck girl!!!! Can’t wait to read about all your adventures!

  22. Stephanie @ Aspiring August 22, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    I don’t think I’ve commented before, but really GOOD LUCK!
    Keep us updated about your new changes 🙂 I have one more year to go!

Leave a Reply

