Newness

22 Aug

HI GUYS!!!!

Wow, so much has happened in the span of two days. I don’t even know where to start! Rewind to Saturday morning, my mom, sister, and I were up bright and early to hit the road and get me moved in. We very smartly packed up everything the night before so all that was left in the morning was a few bathroom things and some food. Then the entire day Saturday and Sunday were taken up by running all over the place, getting this and that and figuring out to fit everything into my dorm. I finally got to meet my roommate, whom I have been talking to all Summer. Things are going pretty well so far with us, the usual getting to know each other.

It’s Sunday night and I’m finally semi-settled into my “home.” My mom and sister are now gone (after several shed tears.) I’ll be honest; I am completely drained. I am overwhelmed. I am a bit uncomfortable. I have spent so long in my safe and comfortable life at home, so it makes this a VERY big jump. I know this is just a time of transition and it will all work out if I just give it time. But right now, things are feeling pretty shaky. Everything is completely unfamiliar and I’m just not sure or confident in anything. I need God now more than ever, and I know He will show me the way if I put everything in His hands. Things will get a lot better I’m sure, but the impatient mentality that is in me wants things to be perfect RIGHT NOW. Sorry, Kristi, that just isn’t how things work. I haven’t even been here for 2 full days yet! I just need to slow my role and calmmmm doooooown.

**

I’ve got some foodie pics that I decided I would unload from my camera but soon I’ll take some dorm pics and give ya’ll a little tour!

IMG 2308

steel cut oats with egg whites cooked in, trutein chocolate peanut butter cup protein powder, 1 scoop almond butter, and topped with blended silken tofu

IMG 2309

iced coffee lovin’ (with stevia)

IMG 2310

avocado and lemon juice massaged spinach with tomato, salt, pepper, and Garlic Gold crunchies

IMG 2312

grilled salmon, grilled veggies, spelt bread toast with marinara and garlic powder

IMG 2313

peaches in almond milk, protein cookie dough ball

IMG 2314

rye crackers topped with cottage cheese and Trutein protein sauce (just mix some with water) < love this snack!!

IMG 2315

more of my favorite pancakes. I made a batch to take to college with me!

IMG 2316

one last cabbage stir fry with ground turkey, salsa, and marinara. sweet potato fries on the side

IMG 2317

frozen peanut flour popcorn with cocoa powder and cinnamon

IMG 2307

vanilla protein pudding with peanut butter (1 scoop vanilla casein, almond milk: mixed)

***

I miss you guys and I will be catching up on posts as soon as I can! I start classes tomorrow and I am little nervous about finding my way around. I feel like i’m in a foreign country LOL. Wish me luck!

Question: When was the last time you were out of your comfort zone? How did you cope and thrive?

Kristi

27 Responses to “Newness”

  1. teeneatlive August 22, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Good luck settling in! Sooo exciting! Can’t wait to see what your college eats will be πŸ˜€

  2. Katie August 22, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Hey love! I am sure it is a little scary at first, which is normal, but I know in a couple weeks or even sooner than that, you will be posting about how much you are adjusting and loving it! I wish you the best first day tomorrow and I love ya!!!!! xoxo

  3. movesnmunchies August 22, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    its totally normal to feel this way! but honeslty you will get used to it! it will be hard but u gotta ride itout!!! we’re here for ya!

  4. stephanie August 22, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    i just graduated in may and moving/starting a new job was such a huge transition. when I started college was was too nervous to ask for help and directions, but now I’ve learned that people dont care if you’re new…they WANT to help. Dont be afraid to ask others for help, they were all lost and new at some point. I know it’s so weird sleeping in a new place, but eventually it’ll feel normal. You are so right that the Lord will provide; this is HIs plan and He has so much in store for you. I hope your first day/week goes well!

  5. lifttorun August 22, 2011 at 4:17 am #

    Let us know how it goes!

  6. kbwood August 22, 2011 at 5:14 am #

    praying for you! seriously- God planned all this LONG ago! HE has so much waiting for you! pray hard, He will come through. He always does! He has a group of friends waiting out there for you to encourage you and help you grow. just keep seeking him, i promise! as i am about to be a senior in college, i look back to where i was 4 years ago (in your shoes) and what God has done for me literally BLOWS MY MIND!

  7. xxjenniexx August 22, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Hey Kristi, regular reader, first time poster here. Try not to worry too much about new environments – I can totally relate to how you feel, when I moved away from home it was such a shock going from cushy home life to crazy college life. Try and remember that everyone is in the same boat! After a week or so I promise it will all start to become more familiar. Everything will eventually fall into place but it will take time ( I remember wishing I had a magic wand to just make everything the way I wanted it in college there and then ;p) so be yourself and remember God has big plans for you, and he is unpredictable! I’m sure you’ll win over everyone with your awesome creations in the kitchen in the meantime! Stay positive πŸ™‚

  8. Tara August 22, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    You will do great. It’s hard not to be nervous, but stay positive – the next few years are going to be the most exciting of your life!

    PS. Following your recommendation on your last post, I ordered some trutein peanut butter cup protein….I can’t wait for it to get here after seeing your oats!!

  9. Alexandra August 22, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    You’ll do awesome love! πŸ˜€ No doubt in my mind you’re gonna thrive and make friends fast (especially if you’re cooking tasty food like this haha)
    Best of luck today, have fun!

  10. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 22, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Good luck with the new place and settling yourself in! I know you’ll be fine πŸ™‚

  11. Sable@SquatLikeALady August 22, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Nice eats!! πŸ˜€ Sounds like your college transition is going about as smoothly as possible! There’s always that icky slightly uncomfortable transition period but before long you won’t even remember it!

  12. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 22, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I’ll keep you in my prayers girl! I find that it’s the times when I’m most uncomfortable, lost and alone that my relationship with Christ grows deeper. Those are the times that I learn to cling to him with all my heart. As uncomfortable as those situations are, something good always comes out of them.

    Best of luck with all your classes. I can’t wait to hear how they go and see the apartment photos!

  13. Meg August 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    My prayers are SO with you lady! I know it’s overwhelming but I can promise you that if you leave it in God’s hands, he’ll make college four of the best years of your life πŸ™‚

  14. lactosefreelizzie August 22, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    yum toast with marinara and garlic powder? it’s like garlic bread pretty much!!! good idea!

  15. Erika August 22, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    before you know it, your first day of classes will be done! I was so nervous last year about how finding my buildings and the time- but it flies by once you wake up. good luck πŸ™‚

  16. healthycollegegirl August 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    sooo exciting girl! i know that it can be uncomfortable at first but just stick with it, smile, be outgoing and it will get better with everyday! honestly, i am currently in need of this advice because i am starting at a new school and it’s way bigger than my previous university, so i’m super overwhelmed and out of my comfort zone! just know you’re not alone πŸ™‚

  17. Dani August 22, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    I don’t usually comment but I thought I would so you can see that your not alone here! Last year I started college without knowing a single person…I am also super ridiculously close to my family so leaving them was a hard adjustment..Although it was a hard couple of months, you will find your place in the school and learn to make it your home…If you want to branch out a little, I would try joining a club or something…Maybe there’s a campus website you can ever write for! Good luck with everything!!!

  18. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) August 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Good luck settling in! You’ll be fine, I know it!

  19. IHeartVegetables August 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Good luck with classes starting!!! it sounds like the initial move in went well! I went to college in my home city, so that wasn’t a huge adjustment. But last year I moved to a new state, with a new job, and allllll new friends. Definitely out of my comfort zone but I’m SO glad I did! I LOVE Virginia!

  20. Jen@foodfamilyfitness August 23, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Good luck to you!!!!

  21. haleyy0806 August 23, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    I remember that feeling all too well of being ripped out of your comfort zone and being put into an entirely new situation alone. Keep trusting God and you KNOW He’s gonna work hardcore in your life in the next few weeks! Once classes start and you get in a routine, it’ll get easier by the day. GOod luck on your first day girl!

  22. Allie August 23, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    You will adjust before you know it! Good luck πŸ™‚

  23. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 24, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    enjoy the moments girl!! i remember the first days of college like yesterday! it is nervewracking, scary, i was anxious, crazy but SO FREAKIN EXCITED! get ready to discover yourself, meet amazing people and have the time o fyour life!

  24. thecookieboss August 25, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I never thought of using fruit as a cereal. It’s a really good idea though!

  25. cheerfulfeast August 26, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    I remember that feeling last year when I started graduate school!! Enjoy these first few weeks to the max, but don’t feel bad to take a little time for yourself to just breathe and relax. I needed some alone time to soak everything in and process all the changes in my life! Have fun!!!

  26. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers August 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Yay for you! I was so nervous before my first day of class, but since everyone’s nervous, it’s okay. You’re going to have so much fun!

  27. Rachel August 26, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    you really can’t go wrong with pancakes. this whole past week has been way out of my comfort zone, and i imagine starting at a school job and school will both be really difficult for me, but they’re both opportunities that are filled with potential! it’s definitely hard to be away from family, but you’re right in saying God is right there with ya, even if we don’t think we can feel Him. if you can remember to just focus on that fact, you’ll feel Him and it makes things so much easier. good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

