Dorm Tour!

27 Aug

HI!!!!

It’s been almost a week since my last post and boy has a lot gone on!

Within one week I have

1. moved away from the only home I’ve known

2. begun my year of living in the dorms

3. survived my first week of college classes

4. met 3,543,5453 people, of whom I remember none of their names (i really need to work on that…)

5. completed my first on-my-own grocery trip

6. had all the stress catch up with me, currently making for one sick gal. 😦

7. turned 19…happy birthday to me! (last Sunday)

They weren’t kidding when they said I’d probably contract every known sickness while living in the dorms. I can now mark sinus infection off the list…Boo. It wasn’t exactly how I imagined my first week to go, but when do things ever go exactly how you plan them? As the saying goes, we plan and God laughs. You got me again, big guy.

But really things are starting to slowly look up. I’m finding my way around, learning new things every single day, and before long I’ll bet I will have it down pat. I am still very much in that lovely “transition period” so I’m just trying to ride it out and make the best of it. In the mean time, I present you with…

Welcome to my dorm!

The view walking through the door:

IMG 2326

Sleep time:

IMG 2329

Study time:

IMG 2327

Dress up time:

IMG 2330

EAT TIME!!!

IMG 2331

nom, nom, nom

IMG 2332

My fridge has been a God-send!

IMG 2333

IMG 2334

IMG 2335

Sink area:

IMG 2336

I was lucky enough to be able to get a suit-style dorm room, which means more space and a bathroom/shower! It’s not a bad little place and I know I can make it work for my first year here. Beside, I’m sure the time will fly by anyway! Then I can look into getting my very first apartment…I’m growing up so fast! 😀

Hope you liked the mini-tour! I spent the whole morning running around doing errands and now I can finally kick back, relax, and try to get over this whole “being sick” business that I am not a fan of. I also already have a boat-load of homework to get started on. College = Homework up the wazoo. I miss you guys and this weekend there will definitely be some bloggy catch-up time. My Google Reader is quickly getting out of hand. Thanks for sticking with me through this huge time in my life. I am so thankful for all of my wonderful friends and the words of encouragement. Love you guys!!!

***My next post will be about what I’ve been eating while living the dorm life. Stay tuned!

Kristi

 

41 Responses to “Dorm Tour!”

  1. movesnmunchies August 27, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    OMG YOU have SUCH a nice dorm!

  2. Miriam August 27, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    What college do you go to? What an incredible dorm!

  3. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin August 27, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Cute dorm I love how the beds are over the desks! It gives you so much more room. and that fridge is AWESOME I could use one in my own room at home hahaha!

    • Sweet Cheeks August 27, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      I plan on putting it in my future apartment bedroom, haha!

  4. Sweet and Savvy August 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Such a cute space! It looks so nice- especially the kitchen area:) oh, and I love your bedding!

    Hope you feel better soon!

  5. The Food and Love Diaries August 27, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    That dorm is so nice!! Super jealous of your in-room bathroom!

  6. Katie August 27, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Yay for your first week going great! Im so happy for you, I know this is a big change, enjoy it girl!!! These college years will fly by!

    Your dorm is so cute! Yay for a fridge, I could not live without that!

    ❤ xoxo Have missed you!!

    Happy Belated Birthday! I wished you a happy birthday though on facebook!

  7. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope August 27, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Seriously, that dorm is the bomb! Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, but sounds like you’re handling everything so well. 🙂 Keeping hanging in there… I remember the first month of college was the toughest for me. I had to figure out how to study for my classes, have a social life, juggle school and a job… it’s a learning process, but an amazing experience!

  8. stephanie August 27, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    sorry you’re sick. I shattered my finger the day before classes started my first week of college.

    your room looks great, that sink area is nice for a dorm!

  9. lactosefreelizzie August 27, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    ohmygosh your dorm is huge!!! when i toured colleges with my family the dorms were itty bitty! yours is super nice!!!

  10. Amanda @ Running with Spoons August 27, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday, girlie! I hope that you had an awesome one 😀 Your dorm room looks awesome, and I hope that you’re having a great time away at college! I know that it’s a big adjustment, but you’ll get used to it, and before you know it, you’ll be having the time of your life 😀

  11. katshealthcorner August 27, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Your dorm looks SO cool! Thank you for taking the time to post the pictures of what your dorm looks like. I’m working on the applications for colleges right now and I’ve wondered how I would eat healthy/what dorms look like/etc, so this really helped! I can’t wait for your next post! I AM SO EXCITED!!! 😀

    • Sweet Cheeks August 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      being healthy in college is totally do-able. I’m glad i’m helping! 🙂

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset August 27, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Wow what a gorgeous room and setup! My dorm was sucktastic compared to this one haha

  13. jenandberries August 27, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Woohoo it looks really nice! Ah d/w everyone gets sick in their first week or two because there’s lots of new people living in close proximity. After a month you’ll feel right at home 🙂

  14. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody August 27, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Looks great, I never got to do the dorm room experience so I really loved this virtual tour 🙂 I’m horrible with remembering names too!

  15. Jess August 27, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    HOLY NICE DORM!! that’s crazy. in a good way 😉 don’t worry–my google reader is at 874!! acckkk. 🙂 well now it’s 873 😉

    love you! feel better!

  16. Alexandra August 27, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Holy cow I love your dorm so much! Your bedding is adorable, and way to score with a sweet suite haha 🙂 I’m so excited for ya girly, hope you feel better soon though!
    Looking forward to your updates, enjoy every second!

  17. pbbrittany August 28, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Your dorm is so nice!!! Everything is so freaking cute!
    Get better soon! Get some Vitamin-C and take two everyday and you’ll be feelin better in no time!

  18. Naomi(onefitfoodie) August 28, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    ahhh college!! such memories of the dorm room! 🙂 love your little space! you made the best use of it!! stocked fridge…i LOVE! 🙂 have so much fun girl!

  19. Rachel August 28, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    that is seriously the nicest dorm room i’ve ever seen in my life! so envious!

  20. lifttorun August 28, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Sweet dorm!

    And I hope you had a great birthday.

  21. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! August 28, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    LOVE YOUR SET UP!!! I hope my dorm is that nice next year!!!

  22. healthycollegegirl August 28, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    wow your room is big!! it’s so cute! i’m glad you’re enjoying it 🙂 but i’m sorry you’ve been sick!

  23. paoang August 28, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    Okay. Seriously. The dorm is amazing! You’re so lucky to have gotten a suite-style one!!!! It’s so cute!
    Can’t wait to hear all about college life! I know it’s tough, but hang in there girl- you’re not alone 🙂

  24. debbiecutieface August 28, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    soak in EVERY moment girl…freshman year goes by WAY too fast! I can’t believe I’m a junior already…it’s actually depressing.

    and that’s the dorm you got as a freshman? You lucked out!

  25. itsthecookiemonster August 28, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    it’ll get better 🙂 everything feels like a rush and it feels like there are a bajillion new things you need to get acquainted with but after about a month, you’ll settle in. your dorm looks super comfy btw, and good to see that you made healthy choices at the grocery store!

  26. Tara August 28, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Aww your room is so cute!!! Enjoy and I hope you feel better soon 🙂

  27. ilovefetacheese August 28, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Ahh you room is sooo cute! Look at you with your healthy fridge! You should be very proud of yourself…i ate SO BAD in college! Best of luck with your classes this semester and everything!

  28. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes August 28, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    Love it! It a really nice place compared to some dorms I’ve seen! Good luck with classes 🙂

  29. allieksmith August 28, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Glad you are getting used to it and everything! YAY! Your dorm is very spacious 🙂

  30. Stephanie August 28, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Your dorm room is so cute! My old dorm room looked kind of like prison compared to that…

  31. SquatLikeALady August 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    CUTE DORM!! Wow! Looks more spacious than our new apartment….LOL I kid!! Close though 😉

    I used to have HUGE problems remembering people’s names — and I’m sure you’ve heard this tip x 59865 BUT just in case…. 😉 it really helps to say the other person’s name back to them after they say it — it sounds corny but just try to use it in the conversation right away; I used to be self-conscious doing it but it’s actually pretty natural and most people dont even notice!

  32. haleyy0806 August 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    You have a crazy nice dorm! Especially that little kitchen area. I’m glad you’re adjusting well. Yeah it takes a while but every day will get better and better and before you know it, you’ll wonder how you were not ever totally independent!

  33. Erika August 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    what a nice dorm! happy late birthday 🙂 good luck with your first year, i’m sure you’ll be fine girl!

  34. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate August 28, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    That place ain’t too shabby!

  35. almostveggirlie August 29, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    I love your room! I ended up getting a single suite this year and I’m loving it so far 😀 Its great having more space for food and such.

    I hope you feel better soon! I’m a sophomore this year and I didn’t get sick at all last year, but I also came down with something this past week. It’s totally normal to get sick but staying healthy is definitely the way to go to avoid it!

  36. Katie @ Nutrition in a peanut shell August 29, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Oh my your dorm is gorgeous girl! Major living space jealousy right now.

    Looks like you’re all stocked too, priorities priorities 😀

    Feel better, and it’s nice to “meet” you too C:

Leave a Reply

