Dorm Meals

7 Sep

Hi!!!

I hope everyone is doing well. I’m keeping up with blogs whenever I can, but school work has taken over the majority of my computer time. Booohooo. I have gotten a pretty good amount of stuff knocked out so far for this week so I have some blog time today!

I am getting the hang of dorm eating…and really it hasn’t been too hard at all. Β I have been making good use of my dining center and then supplementing with a few staples from the grocery store to have in my room.

I pretty much always eat breakfast in my room although I hear they do have oatmeal in the caf…but how much do you want to bet mine’s better? πŸ˜‰

IMG 2340

lots of different oatmeal combos in the mornings. ^ this one was egg-white quick cook steel cut oats with cinnamon, coffee crystals, and stevia. (topped with coconut butter post-picture!)

I like to load up at the salad bar at lunch time, then I add more things to the meal when I get back to my room.

IMG 2344

spinach, various veggies, olives, rice cheeze, cottage cheese, turkey, black beans

IMG 2349

They have awesome chicken breast grillers that are SO moist! I get them all the time. Here is one in a salad along with a bagel thin with cottage cheese and apple butter.

Here is an example of a meal I made completely in my room one day:

IMG 2342

steamed veggies, egg puff with mustard, and sweet potato with a laughing cow wedge. Super quick and easy.

I came home last weekend for Labor Day and took full advantage of being back in my kitchen. That is the great thing about my situation; it makes me appreciate little things like a regular kitchen when I get to come home!

I made two things to take back up with me:

Jaime Eason Pumpkin Bars

IMG 2346

one word: AMAZING. There is a reason why so many people have been making these lately; they will rock your face off. They are incredibly moist and flavorful and remind me of FALL! Β I will be making more 1,237,328 more batches next time I am home.

baking item number 2: PerfectedΒ Protein Pancakes

All bagged up and ready to go!

IMG 2347

IMG 2337

I love these for an on the go snack or an evening snack with nut butter!

I’ve also been snacking on lots of bars…including samples of Picky Bars that I recently received:

IMG 2345

Review to come soon, but I like them a lot. πŸ˜‰

Another method I have been using for in-room meals, is the “One Bowl Method” You basically combine everything, usually a protein, carb, veggie, and fat, all in one bowl and dig in.

IMG 2338

Here I threw together some frozen bagged steamed veggies, a packet of tuna, black beans, hummus, and my new favorite seasoning: Mrs Dash Fiesta Lime.

IMG 2341

Having a few spices/seasonings/condiments has come in great handy for doctoring up my meals. I have this Mrs Dash, cinnamon, balsamic vinegar, mustard, and some Annie’s honey mustard dressing.

Night-time sludge bowls are still happening. I love them so much. πŸ˜€

IMG 2343

cottage cheese, Trutein chocolate peanut butter cup protein/Cytosport chocolate casein protein, almond milk, peanut butter

I also occasionally have cereal or oatmeal for meals other than breakfast. I love them, so why not? At home, I always go for the “classic” meals; cereal = breakfast, lunch/dinner = veggies, chicken, rice, etc, etc…but I’m straying from that and going for whatever I have available to me and whatever I feel like having. No harm done and I am actually enjoying the change of pace! Also,like I said, I am not always eating in my room either. There are a ton of choices for good meals in the caf. It just depends on the day. There is a:

  • daily build-your-own stir fry station
  • deli/sandwich station
  • grill station with burgers, grilled chicken, veggie burgers, etc
  • “classics” station with a full menu of whatever they are serving that day (wide variety of veggies, soups, main dishes, side dishes)
  • mexican station
  • italian/pizza station

Once you have gone through your station of choice, you can walk out to the main seating area, where there is a huge salad bar including many things (not just veggies) as well as a fruit area (I load up on the fruit and put it in my backpack!). Then you have the dessert area, with a soft-serve ice cream station. Good times! πŸ˜€ Oh, and lastly, there is a drink station with a ton of options! Crystal Light machines with multiple flavors, pops, teas, coffee, flavored water.

Overall, I am very impressed with the dining hall’s efforts for a constantly changing variety. I will be able to get different things all throughout the semester and really doubt I will get bored with it, because there is always something new!

***

Workout-wise, I’m slowly getting into a routine, which is mainly weight focused because I now get tons of cardio in the form of walking (large uphill campus, baby) and stairs. I live on the top floor of my hall so you can bet your booty MY booty is going to be TIGHT by the end of the semester. Booyah. I have been using my hall’s small exercise room, but am planning on checking out the rec center on campus very soon. I can’t wait to start taking some classes again. Hello spin and pump!

And that’s that for now! Let me know what’s going on in all of your lives!!! ❀

Kristi

32 Responses to “Dorm Meals”

  1. Alexandra September 7, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Awesome eats!! Looks like you’re getting into an amazing routine πŸ™‚ May I just say your nighttime bowls look insanely good? haha
    And heck ya to Jamie Eason bars!!! I just made 2 more batches over the weekend, jeezeums I can’t get enough of them woo πŸ˜€
    Hope you have a fabulous rest of the week!

  2. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 7, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Great looking eats lady! I like the routine you are getting into with school and such… I need to settle into mine too. I get anxious without some sort of routine I can follow!
    I hope you have a wonderful rest of your week!

  3. The Food and Love Diaries September 7, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    That’s stinkin’ awesome that your hall even has an exercise room! I would have LOVED that in college.

    • Sweet Cheeks September 7, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      The great thing is not very many people use it, so I usually have it all to myself. πŸ™‚

  4. Katie September 7, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    I am so glad the dorm eats are working out for you! Yum!

    Love the salad with all the black beans on top! I love black beans on a salad!

    Have to make those pumpkin bars! I have seen those everywhere, I made pumpkin protein cupcakes today! They were great!

    Love you! xoxo

  5. haleyy0806 September 8, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    I’m so happy you’re adjusting and finding ways to make everything work! I have a kitchen here at school yet your dorm meals looks way fancier and tastier than mine do! Having to walk stairs to your room is super beneficial too-I remember cursing them every time I had to walk up them after a long day, but the work pays off forreal!

  6. Jenny September 8, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Those dorm meals look yummy! It’s definitely an adjustment but you’ll get into the groove. School is definitely rime consuming!

  7. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes September 8, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Wow!! Sounds like a great time your having so far! Your meals and caf sounds amazing! I wish my caf was like that…..:)

  8. Amanda @ Running with Spoons September 8, 2011 at 12:40 am #

    Wowie, girl, you’re doing amazing with your eats and routine. If I ever hear someone complain about not being able to eat well or exercise in college, I’m definitely gonna send ’em your way to show them it can be done. Great job πŸ˜€

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody September 8, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    That’s so great that your adjusting to your environment and finding lots of tasty eats to munch on! They all look fabulously tasty πŸ™‚ I always end up getting so much walking in during the school year!

  10. Sweet and Savvy September 8, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    I LOVE all these dorm food ideas! I am pretty nervous about eating healthy in a dorm next year!

  11. lovetotrain September 8, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    wow.. you’re doing brilliantly! so good you’ve managed to find away to incorporate the dining hall food and take the good part of it and just add a little in to make it perfect!!

  12. Ash September 8, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    What protein powder did you use for the bars? I tried making those…and they came out terrible! I don’t think my protein powder was good for baking..=(

    • Sweet Cheeks September 8, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I use Truscience Trutein. All of their flavors are amazing and it is one of the best protein powders I have used (and currently my go-to)

  13. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! September 8, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    Looks like some pretty awesome food for being in a dorm! I can’t wait to be on my own like that too!!!

  14. Kelsey September 8, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    i dont even know where to start with this food because every single thing is worth commenting on!! omg beans, why do black beans always look so good in food, especially salads! mmm totally love that you have frozen bags of protein pancakes for easy breakfast making- thats so clever- i actually should make some pancakes and possibly waffles to freeze up- im always needing a quick breakfast but forget all about freezing them to save time!

    xoxo ❀

  15. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) September 8, 2011 at 5:38 am #

    your doing GREAT! i defs used some of your tips whilst i was away this summer!

  16. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) September 8, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    you’re*

  17. Allie September 8, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Great post, I have missed ya!! Glad to hear you are loving college πŸ™‚

  18. A Tablespoon of Liz September 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I wish I would have been that creative with my meals when I was in college… I ate so poorly because I felt like there was never anything good to eat, but if I would have tried a little harder, I’m sure I would have found something. All your food looks so good!

  19. pbbrittany September 8, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    AMAZING food!! Glad you can eat healthy in a dorm, because a lot of people tend to have a problem with it. Looks like you’re doing great!
    Ha- tight booty πŸ˜› You’re so funny

  20. Shannon September 8, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Wow! Your dining stations sounds awesome! πŸ™‚

  21. lifttorun September 8, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    Yummy! Looks great.

    I really want to try Picky Bars. Did you just get them online?

    • Sweet Cheeks September 8, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      Yes I am not sure if they are sold in stores..I will have to check that out.

  22. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance September 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    i can relate to this post so much being away at school myself– although I no longer live in the dorms on campus. When I did though, I pretty much lived off of Boca Burgers, so major kudos to you girl πŸ˜€

  23. lucie September 8, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    All your meals look so delicious – id love you to be my dorm mate!

  24. Brittany September 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    Combining everything into one bowl is my favorriteee!! I love all this food that you have going on here! I am whoa impressed with your adaptability to dorm food. It is great that they have some healthy style options that you can jazz up when you get back to your room!

  25. Chels September 9, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    I am loving all your healthy meals, they look amazing!!

  26. Susie September 9, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Can’t wait to make those protein bars! Do you bake with xylitol? I’m curious about how stuff baked with it tastes. I’ve heard that stevia doesn’t taste good when it’s baked but I want to try xylitol.

  27. Julia September 10, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    Sounds like you’re doing great! I do similar things in terms of making use of the cafeteria, ect =). Yayy for dorm room creativity ❀

  28. Kate September 11, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    I love Fiesta Lime! Looks like good dorm eats! I am buying cottage cheese soon! Gotta make protein pancakes pronto! πŸ™‚

  29. KatsHealthCorner October 2, 2011 at 2:19 am #

    I really love these posts that you are doing on your dorm life. They are really helping me mentally plan for college myself! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

