Picky Bar Review

11 Sep

I recently got the chance to try a new-to-me bar brand: Picky Bars!

IMG 2345

They were created by a pro-endurance athlete to provide optimal fuel and recovery to maximize energy for workouts.

From the website:

Picky Bars will:

  • DisplayBe what we consider “ideal size:” 200 calories or less.  Great size for <30min post-workout recovery, one hour before exercise (or cut in half for 20-30 min before), or the perfect snack size between meals.)
  • Have a 4:1 carbohydrate/protein ratio that is ideal for recovery and maximizes absorption of nutrients.
  • Be gluten and dairy free (for the sake of those with intolerances, or for people who just want variety in their diet)
  • Have balanced macro-nutrients (25% fat, 60% carbohydrate, 15% protein) for hunger control and happy digestion.
  • Select carbohydrate sources that promote level blood sugar, sustained energy, and nutrient absorption.
  • Use whole foods that are geographically nearby whenever we can.
  • Minimize soy content (less than 1%) since most people get too much of it daily without realizing it.
  • Provide a mixture of nuts and seeds for nutrient diversity (e.g. cashews are good for vitamin K while almonds are high in vitamin E).

They come in three awesome flavors: Mega Nuts (original flavor), All in Almond, and Nutless Wonder (made with sunflower seed butter!)

Nutritional stats:

NewImage

They use all natural, high quality ingredients like dates, natural nut butters, nuts, rice protein, chocolate chips, apricots, cranberries, etc.

 

But the real question…how does it taste?

Simply put…delicious!

They are similar to a Larabar, but I actually would rate Picky Bars a bit higher because they have slightly more protein, therefore are more of a filling and lasting snack for me. I loved the chunks of chocolate chips, nuts, and dried fruit throughout the bars. They’ve got it down with both taste AND texture. Usually I opt for lower sugar bar options, but I did not have any sugar rush or crash after eating them, thanks to the healthy fats and protein to help slow the absorption.

I really liked all of the flavors, but if I had to choose a favorite it would be the Nutless Wonder. The sunflower seed butter in this one makes for a punch of flavor and creaminess….so, so good!

You can buy Picky Bar online at their website, HERE. Also on their website, you will find a list of retailers who now carry them.

Thanks Picky Bar, for a well-thought out, tasty bar that is chock full of good nutrition!

Have you tried Picky Bars?

What is your current favorite bar?

14 Responses to “Picky Bar Review”

  1. Sweet and Savvy September 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    I’d love to try these bars out! 🙂 They look awesome!

  2. Shannon September 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    These bars sound great! Thanks for the review! 🙂

  3. Alexis - PumpedforPumpkin September 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Great Review! I haven’t tried them but I would like to 🙂 THey look delicious. and I like the higher protein content

  4. lactosefreelizzie September 11, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    carrie sent me the nutless wonder kind a bit ago–and i still haven’t tried it yet! i’m waiting for the perfect time. 🙂

  5. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 11, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Thank you for the review girl! I am always looking for new bars (I am a bit obsessed) and want to try these 🙂
    I am loving Kashi Roll bars at the moment!

  6. Alicia September 11, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    they look super delish!! thanks for the info!

  7. Alexandra September 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Wow those sound awesome, great review! You know I’m a huge fan of anything with sunflower seed butter 😉 I’ll definitely have to look into these!
    My current favorite bar is a tie between PureFit and Quest bars mmmm 😀 Have a great week girly!

  8. The Food and Love Diaries September 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Never tried them, but they look amazing! My current favorite bar is probably the Cliff maple Nut bar… SO yummy.

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 11, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    I need to try these!

    They look great 🙂

  10. Tara September 11, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    Wow we really need more bars in Australia! I don’t eat any at the moment, because the only ones available here are too high in calories and sugar, or too low in protein.

  11. Julia September 12, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    ahh those bars look good! I like luna protein bars- they taste like candy bars haha

  12. lifttorun September 12, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    I have always wanted to try these!

  13. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes September 12, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I’ve never heard of these before! I would love to try em out 🙂

  14. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody September 13, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    These sound delicious, and really handy to have around! Thanks for the awesome review 🙂

Leave a Reply

