Back to normal Wednesday business

13 Sep

Happy Wednesd…err Tuesday! But I’m going to pretend it’s already Wednesday so I can participate in this week’s WIAW and WIWW. It’s been a while and has been greatly missed from my last few Wednesdays.

My eats are going to be a few over the course of the last few days however, because my schedule has not allowed for an entire day to be documented. Oh well, I live by my own rules anyways, so why not change it up? Here we go!

The Food:
IMG 2362
Pumpkin Oats…ahhh, Fall is upon us.
(1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup egg whites, 1 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/2 scoop protein powder, blueberries, cinnamon…coconut butter added after pic)
IMG 2346
Pumpkin bars galore! Best decision ever to bake these at home and put them in my dorm fridge/freezer.
IMG 2354
bagel thins with hummus
IMG 2355
protein pancakes with almond butter
IMG 2357
Amy’s California Burger, 1/2 cup liquid egg white puff, rice cheeze, greens and veggies with mustard
IMG 2358

NewImage
brown rice, frozen veggies, garlic chicken sausage (from Sam’s Club)
IMG 2361
Kombucha and I are officially back together after a little hiatus. It’s true love.
IMG 2352
frozen veggie pack, sweet potato and peanut butter, salmon pack, Oikos plain greek yogurt < goes with sweet potatoes realllllly well.
IMG 2359
New product! These are really good and perfect for dorm room meals.
IMG 2360
brown rice, frozen steamed veggie blend, Quorn meatless meatballs, cottage cheese, hummus, balsamic vinegar
IMG 2353
more pumpkin bar action with Trutein chocolate peanut butter frosting and some peanut butter
The Moves:
As of last week, I have been doing a new lifting split, courtesy of Bodybuilding. It is a dumbbell and barbell focused workout and is a 3 day split. It can be found HERE.
For today I did Chest and Back as follows:
Monday – Chest and Back
Chest
Exercise Sets Reps
Chest Dips orΒ bench dip 4 MAX
Deep Push ups (with hands on dumbbells) 4 12
Dumbbell Flys 3 10
Back
Exercise Sets Reps
Bent Over Barbell Row 4 10
One Arm Dumbbell Row 4 10
Upright Row 3 8
Workout Notes:
If you have access to a chin up bar I strongly recommend you addΒ chin ups orwide grip pull ups as your first back exercise. Chin ups are the #1 exercise for building back width.
i am really liking this split! My exercise schedule has changed quite a bit since moving and starting college…not in a bad way…just different. I was doing some type of workout 6 days a week for most of the Summer. Now I’m currently working out 3 days per week, all lifting. I will probably add in an occasional cardio session when I feel like it, but I am getting a substantial amount from walking the campus all day long. That’s what you do around here: you walk. EVERYWHERE. And might I add that is is quite hilly so you are often times going uphill. Workout? You better believe it. I also run up the 9 flights of stairs to my room several times a day = legs and booty. Ouch…hurts so good!
So am I gaining crazy amounts of weight due to cutting down on my workouts? Of course not! I am feeling and looking great. I’m strong, healthy, and involved in many other things that I also want to devote my time to. It’s about finding what works for you and your schedule and not stressing about it. Exercise should be enjoyable and something that you look forward to, don’t forget that!
Unfortunately, it’s time for some Chemistry studying for this girl. Hope you all are having a fabulous week!

Photo on 2011 09 09 at 18 13

Bye!

Kristi

32 Responses to “Back to normal Wednesday business”

  1. Katie September 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    U and your ADORABLE dimples! Love! So cute!

    I am glad your doing well, and I love the pumpkin so much right now, everyone in the blog world is going to turn orange! Pumpkin everywhere! ha!

    Have a good day! xoxo ❀

  2. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) September 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I WANT TAHT SAUSAGE!! and i so agree when i was livin at college this summer.. SO MUCH walking! what university are you at? u may have told us but i forgoottt!! u can email me if u dnt wna publicize it but im applying to colleges now so im intrigued!

    • Sweet Cheeks September 13, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Kansas State University…come be my roommate next year!!!

  3. healthycollegegirl September 13, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    you’re so cute! all of your food looks DELISH as always. i have been making pumpkin oats LOTS lately and i’m loving them!!
    (also, chemistry studying! that sounds awful!)

  4. Shannon September 13, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I love pumpkin oats, and blueberries are a great topping! Bagel thins are awesome πŸ™‚
    I agree, excercise is something you should look forward to! πŸ™‚

    Have a great week, too!! πŸ™‚

  5. pbbrittany September 13, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    You’re so adorable πŸ˜› Love all the eats!
    I get ideas for my routines off of Body Building too- I love their site, and I’m loving the body splits as well πŸ˜€

  6. jenandberries September 13, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    The sausage looks hilarious (I’m so lame lol). That’s so cool that you have quorn products in the US πŸ™‚ they do amazing quarter pounder style burgers too if you can get your hands on them. I totally agree with walking often being a killer workout alone and builds some hot calves and glutes. Happy Wednesday and good luck with your studying!!

  7. lifttorun September 13, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Sounds like college is going great for you!

  8. Alexandra September 13, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Woo! Love your eats!! Especially all the pumpkin bar action, I’ve been inhaling them like a black hole over here haha I also loved what you had to say about exercise, so so true.
    Good luck studying chem!…unfortunately that’s what I’m currently procrastinating πŸ˜‰

  9. Rachel September 13, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    mmm nothing says fall like pumpkin! whole foods’ gourmet pumpkin rav is back and i am the happiest person in the world for it

  10. lactosefreelizzie September 13, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    omg your eats look so good!
    im so glad you are enjoying college!!

  11. Julia September 13, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    chemistry is awful! ughh what a drag. Your eats look great tho- I agree that working out should be something to look forward too =) Real stairs>stairmaster

  12. Allie September 13, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Great eats! It is soo true about walking everywhere!

  13. Lauren @ What Lauren Likes September 13, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    YUm! great eats! Haha love the last pic πŸ™‚

  14. Tara September 14, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    You have just inspired me to go make hummus to have with my next meal!

  15. Sable September 14, 2011 at 2:29 am #

    I LOVE those quorn meatballs! SO so tasty. πŸ™‚

  16. Amanda @ Running with Spoons September 14, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    Awwr you have the most gorgeous smile πŸ™‚ Delicious looking eats, girlie. And I totally love and agree with what you said about working out. I used to work out 6 days a week, and I cut it down to 3-4. It made me a bit anxious at first, but I’ve noticed nothing but positive effects. No weight gain, no strength loss. I just try to be active overall and not stress too much about formal workouts.

  17. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! September 14, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    Yummy food girl! And I love the new workout plan! Lifting is awesome! Always makes me feel so strong!

  18. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody September 14, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Wow all your eats look fantastic, it seems your really getting into the swing of college life, and having enough time to prepare awesome meals! Not only awesome meals, but also awesome workouts! Nice lifting routine πŸ™‚

  19. keepnthefaith September 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Your too cute girl πŸ™‚
    And Im going to be honest, I almost NEVER work my back unless its rows. I only have dumbells so its really hard for me to do most of the exercises!

  20. A Tablespoon of Liz September 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    yum, I’m loving all the pumpkin! So glad it’s fall!

  21. Mariel (@Marielxox16) September 14, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    happy WIAW!!!!! love your eats!

  22. Alisha Cummins September 14, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    You are so cute. Glad to hear that you are doing well college girl. πŸ˜‰

  23. debbiecutieface September 14, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    the same thing totally happened to me when I first started college…WALKING EVERYWHERE UPHILL. Crazy! I’ve adjusted now and it doesn’t seem so bad anymore πŸ˜‰

  24. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 15, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    What a gorgeous smile you have dear! I am so glad things are “getting back to normal” and you are enjoying yourself! I like that workout too, nice job πŸ™‚

  25. Andrea September 15, 2011 at 2:49 am #

    Can you share how you make that protein frosting?! What powder? What method?! Looks delish!

    • Sweet Cheeks September 15, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      I use Trutein chocolate peanut butter cup protein, but any will work. And all I do is mix a serving with some almond milk or water until I get the consistency I want. Super easy!!

  26. mindrunningwild September 15, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    First of all, I always love your eats. They’re simple and healthy and they always look delish!!
    Second of all, I love what you said about cutting back on your workouts. It just shows that you don’t need to workout like a mad woman to look and feel great. What a great role model you are πŸ™‚

  27. Naomi(onefitfoodie) September 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    hey girl! wow your dorm meals are so amazing looking! I think I just had a meal plan and ate all of my meals (besides breakfast) in the dining hall stil making healthy choices…I acutlaly liked it because we could eat all of the fruit, veggies, protein we wanted!! hah…I always stole fruit too πŸ™‚

    I have been seeing these jamie eason protein bars all over and I certainly need to give them a whirl!

  28. caloricandcrazy September 18, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Pumpkin oats and pumpkin bars looked just amazing πŸ™‚

  29. Oats n' Bows September 27, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Don’t you just love pumpkin oatmeal? I have to force myself to eat other things, but I seriously could just live off the stuff…

  30. Lift October 7, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    This is the first time I comment on your site, but I’ve been reading it for a while now. I admire the passion with which you write the articles and hope someday I can do the same. Love

Leave a Reply

