A Work in Progress

21 Sep

Thanks everyone for the support on my blog announcement post! The positive feedback definitely outweighs any negative feedback I could ever receive. I just don’t care anymore and that is a great feeling. The blog changes are still being worked on…I will keep you updated!

A lot has been going on this week, no surprise there! I already knocked out a nutrition exam and a psychology exam…now if only I can conquer the dreaded Chemistry. It’s stressful to think of all the science I have ahead of me in order to obtain a Dietetics degree, but I know it will all be worth it in the end. I have known for some time that I wanted to pursue this degree, but wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do with it. Well, the great thing about Dietetics is you can do so many different things and work in so many different areas. The options are literally endless! Today in my dietetics class, we had a guest speaker who talked about her life as an RD. She specializes in sports nutrition and really sparked an interest in me. At one point, she was working here at my university, directly with the football and basketball teams. She would access each player’s needs and work to improve their performance. She made meal plans, suggested dietary supplements, helped with weight loss/gain, and educated them on how to properly fuel their bodies according to their lifestyle. Could I be a future Sports Dietitian? Who knows, but it’s definitely something I am intrigued about and it has me even more excited for what’s up ahead in my career future. One step at a time, I WILL get there.

I need to constantly remind myself that this only my first year of college. I have a long road ahead and plenty of time to achieve my education goals. I’m trying to quiet that voice in my head saying, “I want it now!” It’s a work in progress. 😉

With it being What I ate Wednesday, I do have some more dorm-ified pics from this week. Make sure to check out the rest of the WIAW blogger round-ups. Thanks for keeping the tradition alive, Jenn!

 

Breakfast this morning featured my favorite way to finish off a peanut butter jar…

IMG 2381

Oat in a jar!

(egg white oats with banana and almond milk)

IMG 2368

Perfect 10 Western Bagel with Morningstar sausage,rice cheeze, and a 2 egg-white puff plus green beans

side note: I am loving these western bagels! They are grainy and seedy and pack a whopping 18 grams of protein. I am so impressed!

IMG 2369

Toasted Oats cereal with almond milk + a scoop of protein…and a side of Chem. :/

IMG 2371

Quorn meatless meatballs, veggies, chickpeas, mozzarella rice cheeze, and veggies

Used my new favorite hummus!

IMG 2372

Wild Wood does hummus right.

IMG 2376

Cafe roasted chicken and veggies + roasted potato wedges (hiding under veggies!) This chicken was awesome!! I have admit the cafeteria has pretty legit food.

IMG 2377

protein pancakes with cottage cheese and peanut butter

I’m sad to say that yet another nut butter jar bit the dust:

IMG 2375

So long coconut butter, your every bite was delicious. (with protein powder/greek yogurt/cottage cheese combo)

For What I Worked Wednesday, I completed my legs day of my current lifting routine:

Wednesday – Legs (including calves)
Legs
Exercise Sets Reps
Squats 4 12,10,10,8
Dumbbell Lunges 3 6 on each leg
Deadlifts 3 10
Standing Calf Raise (holding dumbbell) 5 12,12,10,8,8

It made for a shaky legs kind of day, in a good way!

In other news, Biggest Loser started last night! Who watched?! That show never fails to bring on the motivation. I don’t like the fact that they keep changing trainers every season though. Right where I get used to one, and start to like them, they are gone!

I will be back soon with some more updates!

Kristi

22 Responses to “A Work in Progress”

  1. keepnthefaith September 21, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I have ALWAYS wanted to work with athletes!! I used to want to be an athletic trainer, but then I got so interested in nutrition that my goals kind of shifted 🙂
    And I love BL, but I cant stand Anna. I DONT think she is a good role model for the contestants. She has like zero muscle!! But maybe she will impress me this season 😉

  2. Katie September 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I love shaky legs, great workout when I have shaky legs or hands ! Loving the workout you posted too!

    YAY for OIAJ, I have not had that in a long time!

    Glad everything is going great! Can’t wait for you blog makeover!!

    xoxo ❤

  3. Alexandra September 21, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    That’s awesome you’re thinking about sports nutrition! What’s so great about college is the fact that there’s no rush, you can explore so many options! 🙂 I’m lovin your eats, and that dining hall chicken looks delicious!! Man I wish my dining hall freshman year had food like that haha
    Can’t wait to see your new bloggy, keep us posted! 😀

  4. Shannon September 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Good luck on all your exams! Youll do awesome 🙂
    As always, your eats look so good! Loving a protein pancakes + nut butter and cottage cheese combo 🙂

  5. Ellie@fitforthesoul September 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    oOooO I’m excited to see what your new blog will be like! 😀 And yes, PATIENCE…It’s funny how God wants us to be patient just as He is patient with us. But in the end, I think that it’s amazing to see the fruit that comes from being patient b/c it’s like we’ve overcome one big hill, and not to mention, our characters are defined and chiseled even more. Also, we are able to appreciate things more than if we weren’t patient. Sorry for my rant! haha 🙂 have a great day~

  6. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Sports nutrition is such a good field to be considering! It was almost something I did, but then I realized I hate physics and there is just too much involved in it for me.. at least at my school!
    I have never tried Coconut butter…I know, what is this madness?!

  7. lactosefreelizzie September 21, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    omggg ur eats look so good! im so jealous u had two empty jars! i love oats in a jar–it’s the best way to eat oats ever!

  8. Turtle-speed runner September 21, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    I feel your pain with the chemistry…. I”m also first year nutrition. Oh the joys of the fact we have to do even MORE chemistry to complete the degree!! ugh!! lol… I wonder how much chemistry we will ever use in a degree?

  9. Sable@SquatLikeALady September 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Mmmm I have not had oats in a jar in WAY too long. It’s just too hot! I’m stockpiling my jars though…at this point I’m gonna be eating it 3 meals a day for like a week hahaha

  10. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    I ❤ roasted chicken 🙂

  11. LightOnMyFeet September 22, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Sounds like a ton of good eats! Great blog 🙂

  12. Rachel September 22, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    ahh i’m sad i missed it! i love that show!! your eats all look so yummy- and i had OIAJ for breakfast today too!

  13. debbiecutieface September 22, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    oats in a jar are one of my favorite things ever 😉 And you are right, you are only a freshman, you don’t have to have your entire future planned out yet!

  14. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! September 22, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Awesome eats girl! That bagel sammie looks delish! I just got some bagels so I will def have to make something like that!!

  15. Healthy Teen on a Mission September 22, 2011 at 3:14 am #

    that hummus is so good! i got it for the first time a couple day ago at whole foods because it was on sale but it’s going to become a regular for me now 🙂

  16. Tara September 22, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Wow that bagel looks good! Bagels are surprisingly hard to find here in Australia so I’m quite jealous!!

  17. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody September 22, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I LOVE WILD WOOD HUMMUS!! It is such an amazing flavor and doesn’t taste like all the other ones! I’ve tried the original, low fat, and red pepper and they are all amazing!!! I wish they weren’t so expensive though. All of your eats look amazing 🙂

  18. mindrunningwild September 22, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Yay OIAJ! If I time it right, I’ll get one last one in before I go to London!!
    I’ve never seen wildwood hummus although I’ve seen their yogurt and tofu. I’ll have to give it a try if I can find it…when I’m in the US again hah.
    I really need to try western bagels can you get them online? Your eats always look perfectly delectable and good to fuel your body!
    You’re so right about stepping back and taking your time with college. I can’t believe I’m already a junior- before I know it I’l be done!!

  19. Alaina @ Let's Be Real September 22, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    That OIAJ look amazing!
    good luck with your future decisions about life but don’t worry so much. I am a senior in college and so many are still unsure of what they want to do at all! you have such a great direction, motivation, and perspective I know you will be perfect in what ever you decide.

    btw that workout you did looks super similar to one I have done recently and also left me with shaky legs!

  20. hungrydancers September 23, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    My freshman year I was exactly in your shoes, I wanted to do EVERYTHING that all my teachers talked about and I wanted to be done with my degree 10 years ago (not literally), But life happens…..long story short i found a internship with a place called athletes performance and interned there for 6 months! it was the most amazing experiance i have ever had, and it reassured me that I wanted to be in the sports nutrition field. From a fellow dietetics majorer… haha… let me know if you ever need help with classes, i have about 5 nutrition classes left… im on the long stretch!…. help.. advice… just someone to vent to about stupid science, feel free to contact me! 🙂 amira.k.mourad@gmail.com

  21. survivingcandyland September 23, 2011 at 4:26 am #

    Being a sports dietitian would be amazing. If I could have any dream job after coming out of the RD internship it would definitely be working for an NBA basketball team. Dream big! I love the new changes to the blog. Sweetly fit seems more mature just as your maturing on to life in college!

  22. pbbrittany September 23, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    I think if I was going to choose another path for myself, I would probably do something with nutrition/sports (like what you were talking about). It’s all so interesting to me, but all that science is SO daunting. Good luck with chemistry!! 😀
    (love the new name, btw. It’s really cute!)

Leave a Reply

