New Name, New Look

24 Sep

Morning!

I’m currently typing this post in the comfort of my living room at home. I was able to get away for the weekend to spend some time with the family and also to grab a few things…like warmer clothes! The weather is feeling much more Fall like and I am loving it. Fall just might be my favorite season; pumpkin everything, refreshing weather, holidays…what’s not to love?

So you may have noticed a few of the changes that took place on here over the last couple of days. The blog has official grown up to it’s new name: Sweetly Fit! It feels like the perfect fit as I’m growing into this new phase in my life as well. No more .wordpress.com here! I have also spent a good deal of time giving everything a new, fresh look. The new header and background was done by yours truly. How do you like it? The final change that I really wanted to make was to install a better commenting system, but I later found out that you must be self-hosted in order to do this…and that just isn’t in the cards at this point. So the commenting stays the same, sorry guys! I will however, do my best to “hand deliver” emails to questions from the comment section as well as replying underneath your comment. Not exactly what I wanted, but it’s better than nothing!

*I would love it if you would update your Google Readers/ blogrolls, etc with the new website address. I’m not sure if you will still get blog post updates if you don’t. Thanks everyone!

A few updates as of late:

1. I’m job hunting. I applied at a fitness center that I am IN LOVE with. I love the atmosphere, the people, the hours. It would be the perfect place for me, however they aren’t hiring right at this time. I am not giving up hope though; I have talked several times with the staff and they are going to see what they can do for me in the (hopefully near) future. And you better believe I’ll be calling every week for an update, haha.

2. I found an apartment. I am currently in the dorms and will be finishing out this semester there, but am most likely moving out after that. Some people can handle it better than others but my situation hasn’t been all that dandy. Dorm-mates can be difficult, lets just leave it at that. SO, I have been calling around, doing some walk-throughs, accessing my options….and I found one that I immediately fell in love with. The area is great, the complex has a sweet gym, pool area, and movie theater. Yep, I said movie theater. Crazy! I am very excited about this and have my fingers crossed that it works out.

3. I’m getting a Chemistry tutor. Well, it’s quickly becoming no big secret that I’m not Chemistry’s biggest fan. It is however something that I need for my career so I’m going to do what it takes to get through it. This is turning out to mean spending extra time to get everything down. I feel like I’m in over my head with it right now, so I’m hoping this will nix the problem and turn things around in the right direction.

Time to enjoy the short amount of time I have at home! Words can’t express how good it felt to sleep in my own bed last night. Pure Heaven, I tell ya.

A few things coming up: Some fun Swanson product reviews, a new grocery haul post, and a guest post by a friend of mine who blogs at College Body.

Have a fantastic weekend and please don’t forget to update with my new blog address!

Kristi

23 Responses to “New Name, New Look”

  1. Shannon September 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Yay! Glad your having a great time at home and that you got to sleep in your own bed! 🙂
    I am loving your new blog name and look! It’s so awesome! Looking forward to all the great posts in the future!

    Good for you! I hope you get a job at the Fitness Center you love and that everything works out with the apartment you found! Thats so awesome that it has a movie theater! 😀

  2. debbiecutieface September 24, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I love the new look! I’m sorry about your living situation 😦

  3. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 24, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I am loving your new look! Very creative and clean looking!
    Sorry to hear about the living situation though 😦

  4. Mariel (@Marielxox16) September 24, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    i take chemistry too and i am NOT A FAN. I love your new blogs name! 😀

  5. Rachel September 24, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    being able to go home from college is such a nice treat. i complain frequently to my parents about commuting back and forth so much… but i really actually love being able to go home whenever i please. i’m sorry your dorm situation isn’t working out- but at least there’s a MAJOR light at the end of the tunnel! that apartment complex sounds so great!!

  6. movesnmunchies September 24, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    LOVE IT SO MUCH!

  7. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! September 24, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    LOVE THE NEW LOOK! It definitely suits you girl!

  8. Alexandra September 24, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    LOVE IT!! Girl, this rocks, your blog makeover is perfecto 🙂
    Uggh I can totally relate with the roommate thing, your apartment sounds wicked awesome too. I mean a movie theater and a gym?! YES PLEASE 😀
    I should really get a chem tutor too…I’m not doin so hot currently…eww
    Enjoy your relaxing weekend at home, love! 🙂

  9. lapiattini September 24, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Love the new looks! And congrats on the apartment 🙂

  10. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody September 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I love the new look, everything looks fabulous! That’s great your getting some time at home to relax 🙂

  11. healthycollegegirl September 24, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    so many exciting changes in your life!! i LOVE your new domain name 🙂 so adorable!

  12. survivingcandyland September 25, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Working at a fitness center would be amazing. I want a job that is either with fitness or nutrition somehow. Roommate situations can be tough. My sophomore year I lived with 7 other people in a big house and at the end of it only a couple of us remained friends while others ended up hating each other. Chem tutor is the way to go. I don’t know what I would have ton for Gen Chem without the boys on my floor helping me. Hopefully the tutor is good at making things easier!

  13. Sable@SquatLikeALady September 25, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    You did an awesome job with the header!! WOW!

    Good luck with Chem. If you get the basics down well, it all gets easier afterwards (if you have to take additional classes) — it’s more intuitive after you get the foundation laid if that makes sense.

  14. kaliesthoughts September 25, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    love the new look

  15. Meg (A Dash of Meg) September 25, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    Great post girl 🙂 And congrats on the new and updated blog! It looks fabulous 🙂 You did a great job 😀

  16. Amira September 25, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    Oh boy, you sound just like me, my room mate moved out the second week of our first semester cuz we didnt get along…. and its been hard for me to keep room mate since then… some people are just better living alone! good luck with the chem tutor!

  17. lactosefreelizzie September 25, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    awesome “first” post!!! i love the new look–it suits you!! 🙂

  18. Tara September 25, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    The pasta in your header looks amazingly yummy 🙂

  19. PB&Jenny September 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    eeeeep congrats on the new blog, love! I hope you don’t mind if I still call you sweet cheeks 🙂 It’s just my favorite term of endearment for you!

    I love how much newness you’ve integrating in to your life. See? Isn’t college rad! so many things to do, to see, to learn. You’re growing so much every day :)!!!!!

    p.s. good luck with chem! I had to take it freshman year too and I so wish I got it a tutor. It makes me cringe!

    <3!

    • Sweetly Fit September 25, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      haha, YES you have permission to. 😉

  20. Katie Carso September 25, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    SO loving the new blog look and name! I am so happy for you and all the exciting things! I am happy you will be getting a apartment, Im sure it is hard to live in a dorm, and you should be living wherever it makes you happy! A apartment will be nice!

    I miss you!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. almostveggirlie September 26, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I totally feel you on the roommate situation! My freshman year roommate and I did not get along at all so this year I’m in a single room and loving it, but I can’t wait to get my own apartment! The one you’re looking at sounds awesome 😀

  22. KatsHealthCorner September 29, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    I love the name! 🙂 That fits you perfectly!

Leave a Reply

