Drink Love and Grocery Runs

26 Sep

Thank you all for the awesome feedback on the blog’s new name and look. I have to say I’m kind of proud of it. πŸ™‚

I’m back in action here at school after taking the weekend to go home and relax…and relax I did. It felt amazing to just chill out a bit and take a break from the constant school work and activities that I’ve been doing lately. I got in some good workouts at my hometown fitness center, spent a lot of time outdoors (YAY Fall weather!!!), loved my puppy, and caught up with family. It was exactly what I needed and now I am ready to tackle a new week!

It is however, a Monday kind of day…so here are two drinks that have been pumping me up:

IMG 2384

1. COFFFFFFFEEEEEE. Need I say more?

2. Amazing Grass is helping me out, too. Gotta keep that immune system built up! It’s germ city here in the dorms.

But back to coffee…shall we review some of the benefits?

Benefits of coffee: (source)

  • increases metabolism- your morning cup of Joe can speed up metabolism by 10%
  • rich source of antioxidants- both caffeinated and decaffeinated provide around the same amount
  • improve short term memory- caffeine is a cognitive stimulant that actually boosts brain functioning. Furthermore, coffee reduces levels of beta amyloid, a protein in the brain that is responsible for Alzheimer’s disease
  • lowers risk of certain cancers- drink 2 cups a day and slash your risk of colon cancer by 25%. Other studies have shown positive cancer prevention benefits from coffee for liver disease, skin, and breast cancer.
  • reduces risk for type 2 diabetes- coffee contains chemicals that lower blood sugar making coffee drinkers half as likely to get diabetes than non-drinkers.
  • good for your teeth (!!!)- Roasted coffee beans have antibacterial effects against microorganisms like Streptococcus, which play a hand in causing tooth decay. Drink coffee, prevent cavities. Perfect!
  • headache prevention- WebMD explains that blood vessels increase in size during a migraine– caffeine works to decrease the size of blood vessels before they can affect nerves in the brain. So, drinking coffee in the early stages of a headache can help minimize the severity later on.

Benefits of Amazing Grass:

β€’ Helps achieve your 5 to 9 daily servings of fruits & vegetables

β€’ Naturally detoxifies & boosts your immune system
β€’ The added benefits & great taste of cacao
β€’ Complete raw food with powerful phytonutrients
β€’ Alkaline green plant foods balance acidic pH levels
β€’ Whole Food nutrition, no fractionated vitamins
β€’ More organic whole leaf greens per gram than other green superfoods – not from juice
β€’ Probiotics & Enzymes to aid digestion & absorption
‒ Featuring Sambazon organic pure açaí powder
β€’ No soy lecithin fillers

Β 

I love the chocolate superfood packets or the kid’s wild berry flavor. When I do order them, it’s usually through Amazon, with the subscribe and save option. It’s the best deal I have found!

Β 

I recently had a grocery store run, aka: my favorite type of shopping. πŸ˜€ Just a few things to fill in the gaps from the cafeteria.

IMG 2365

  • Full Circle Toasted Oats cereal
  • Morningstar sausage patties
  • veggie cheeze
  • frozen veggies
  • sweet potatoes
  • guac packets
  • tempeh
  • Perfect 10 Bagels (very good!)
  • egg whites
  • almond milk
  • pumpkin
  • nectarines
  • greek yogurt
  • salmon and tuna packets
  • canned chicken

We’ll see how long it lasts. πŸ˜‰

Lots to do today! Better get to it.

How do you get pumped up on a Monday?

Kristi

12 Responses to “Drink Love and Grocery Runs”

  1. Shannon September 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Knowing that coffee has great health benefits makes me like it even more! πŸ˜€ I love going to the grocery store!
    I always try to plan something fun to do during the week so I have something to look forward too. πŸ™‚
    Have a great week!

  2. Alexandra September 26, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Yay for canned pumpkin!! I always have to have that stashed in my kitchen haha πŸ˜‰ I try to get pumped up for the week by getting as much homework as I can done early, so I can have tons of relax time later in the week. I always look so forward to letting my brain be a vegetable πŸ˜€
    Have a wonderful Monday, love!

  3. PB&Jenny September 26, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I actually kind of like Mondays. (I know, I’m the worst college student ever). I just feel so unproductive on the weekends!

  4. survivingcandyland September 26, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Wow, I seriously must be out of it. I blame it on the Texas heat, but I didn’t even realize it was Monday. It feels like half the week is already over. Ugh. Canned pumpkin always makes my week better tho! I have like hugeee cans of it.

  5. lactosefreelizzie September 26, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    maybs i shud start drinking more coffee!!
    i love your grocery haul! those perfect 10 bagels sound soo good.
    and i love holey guacamole. best ever!

  6. Tara September 26, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    I only started drinking coffee about a year ago and the headache effect is amazing! I’ve suffered from migraines my entire life, and they usually leave me locked in a dark room at least one day a week 😦 But since I’ve started drinking coffee as soon as I feel one coming on, at least 50 per cent of the time it prevents a migraine! It’s amazing!

    But I have to be careful in how much I drink because it can easily cause the reverse problem: if I have coffee every day, then skip one day, I will likely end up with a migraine. That’s also why I have to be careful taking Jack3d on consecutive days….

  7. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 27, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    I love when people write about the benefits of coffee… it makes me feel better about the amount I consume πŸ™‚

  8. natashaboruszok1992 September 27, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Hi,
    I’ve been following your blog for a while now and I absolutely love your posts!!!!! keep it up! I absolutely love the new look of your blog! πŸ™‚
    To get pumped for Monday I try to get in a kick ass workout – It always start my day off just right πŸ™‚
    And yes i agree…coffee always pumps me up! I am sad to say that I am addicted, but I no longer care lol. I especially love coffee with a splash of almond milk – YUMMMM

  9. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! September 27, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    Nice grocery haul! I am definitely gonna do a little bit of grocery shopping when I’m in college! I love it…..plus I gotta have snacks!

  10. Ellie@fitforthesoul September 27, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    I looove amazing grass!! Especially the Chai and original one. πŸ˜€

  11. keepnthefaith September 27, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    i love love love my coffee!! true story, I dont want to get pregnant cause I dont want to give it up lol all in all though, I truly only drink it for the flavor, so I guess decaf would be ok πŸ˜‰

  12. Steve September 29, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    How is that chocolate amazing grass? That does not sound good. Whatever flavor the green kind is, is the kind I usually get. What flavor is that? Hay? Ha ha. I’ve been getting hemp protein there too. Nice read.

    Steve
    My site: does creatine help?

Leave a Reply

