Guest Post: Women and Weightlifting

28 Sep

Today my friend Danny from College Body is taking over for a guest post on one of my favorite topics: Women and Weightlifting. It is interesting to see a guy’s perspective on this and it pretty much reinforces how I feel about strength training. Enjoy!

 

I have noticed that college females tend to stay away from the weight room, and near the treadmill. I understand not wanting to go in there with all those meat-headed dudes. I myself (a college-aged guy) don’t like going in there with the meat-heads. But to tell you the truth, we are either too busy checking ourselves out in the mirror, or we are looking at you because you’re cute, so there is really nothing to worry about. For those of you who want to “get toned” you have to step away from the steady paced, long duration cardio. That kind of exercise is awesome for heart health and managing your weight. However, from a male perspective, a toned girl is WAY more attractive than a skinny girl.

Pic lifting

The other reason I am guessing you want to stay as far away as possible from lifting weights is the fear of “bulking up” right? Well unless you take some steroids, or go on the McDonalds diet you will NOT blow up like a dude. Want to lift effectively to lose inches, tone up and change your shape for good? These are Metabolic Effect’s four goals you should achieve while lifting weights; the “B’s & the H’s”:

1)     Burning- the muscles you work should burn

2)     Breathlessness- you should be short of breath

3)     Hot- you should break a sweat.

4)     Heavy- Use heavy weights to point of needing rest.

If you incorporate these four things into your workout, you will burn fat AND gain lean muscle creating a smaller physique overall, but with that elusive definition you want. However, you may not see drastic changes on the scale because muscle weighs more than fat, so you WILL see an awesome change in your physic, which is the ultimate goal right? Using the B’s and the H’s effectively boost the release of key hormones that help to burn fat up to 48 hours after you work out! Which brings me to my next point, for all you carbohydrate lovers out there, yes carbs are important for energy, but if you carb-up like crazy post-workout, your body will release the hormone insulin. A great muscle-building hormone, however insulin will blunt this post-workout fat burning effect also, so post workout, your best bets are fibrous veggies like a salad, lean protein (like chicken, fish or turkey), and drink plenty of water.

Kristi does an awesome job with her sweetlyfit.com site in providing awesome nutrition info! So use her site when deciding on how to eat throughout the day & post workout. Below I put a sample shoulder & arm workout & lower body workout for you all to try. Yes, you do have to go to the weight room.

 

Arms & Shoulders Workout: Circuit #1:

 

Seated DB military Press 12 *Rest Based *4 Rounds
Standing DB Military Press 12
Lateral Raise 12

 

*DB = Dumbbell

*Rest based (RBT, from Metabolic Effect)  = Do the circuit for four rounds resting only when you NEED to. There is no designated rest time. Take it whenever you need it & for however long you need it. Then when you feel like you can go again, pick up right where you left off. This is the essential piece that releases those fat burning hormones. See http://www.metaboliceffect.com

Circuit #2

Push-ups 10 *Rest Based *4 Rounds
Assisted dips 10
Standing Alternating Curl 12/arm

Lower Body Workout:

Circuit #1

Alternating Lunge w/DB 10/leg *Rest Based *4 Rounds
Switch Jumps 10/leg

*Switch Jumps = Begin in a lunge position with the right foot forward, jump into the air and land in a lunge position with the left foot forward.

Circuit #2

Step-ups 6/leg (w/heavy DB) *3 rounds
Squat Jumps 12-15 *Rest Based
Leg Extensions 12

Exercise #3

Leg Curls 10 *2 sets

***Kristi here: Cool stuff huh? Be sure to check out Danny’s site for more awesome info! Thanks Danny!

Do you incorporate strength training into your exercise routine?

Kristi

20 Responses to “Guest Post: Women and Weightlifting”

  1. Shannon September 28, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Loved this post!

  2. Ellie@fitforthesoul September 28, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    woowhoo this is awesome info!! I agree that weightlifting is the best and definitely something we don’t have to worry about!! I did have a few “huhhh?” moments though, when I realized that I look and feel healthier, stronger, and slimmer, but then my weight is actually 6 lbs heavier than it used to be! It’s kind of odd though because I’ve heard that women can’t gain that much muscle so quickly! But I know that the way I feel is right, and so I decided to not look at numbers at all. It’s so awesome not to look at them! Have a blessed day 🙂

  3. movesnmunchies September 28, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    GREAT POST!!!! im loveeeee your blog- just subbed!

  4. Stephanie Bragg September 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    great post! thanks for all of the circuit idea, I’m still pretty lost in the weights area so I stick to workout videos at my house 🙂

  5. Tessa @ Amazing Asset September 28, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    Awesome awesome post! Such great info, I am going to bookmark this for reference. I have been ST for quite some time now, but could always use new tips

  6. Tara September 28, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    Great post, but one thing: Muscle does NOT weigh more than fat. A pound of muscle weighs the same as a pound of fat, but muscle is denser and therefore a pound of muscle takes up less space than a pound of fat. So while you will look leaner, it’s often common to weigh the same or even more after you start strength training!

    • Sweetly Fit September 29, 2011 at 1:18 am #

      interesting, I did not know that. Thanks for clearing it up!

  7. lactosefreelizzie September 29, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    i might try lifting! everyone is getting really good arm muscles from it!!

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! September 29, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    Great routine! Can’t wait to try that out!

  9. healthycollegegirl September 29, 2011 at 2:03 am #

    great post! strength training is definitely not my fave…but i try to incorporate it at least 3 times per week!

  10. LightOnMyFeet September 29, 2011 at 2:42 am #

    I love this! Very informative 🙂

  11. KatsHealthCorner September 29, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    This post is bookmarked. 😀

  12. survivingcandyland September 30, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    This is awesome info! I love going to the weight room mainly because I will be the only girl, so more guys for me.

  13. pbbrittany September 30, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I just did a post on this recently, I think on the same day too! haha. but I LOVE LIFTING WEIGHTS! ohemgee- it’s the bomb. I love being able to lift heavy because it makes me feel strong and powerful. Great post!

  14. kaliesthoughts October 1, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    I just started weightlifting best thing.ive.ever,done

  15. paoang October 1, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I must admit it…weight lifting DOES intimidate me a bit. I’ve been doing it once a week and have DEFF seen results though, so hopefully I’ll start doing it more often. Thanks for this; it is a great beginner’s guide!

    Have a great weekend!

  16. julie October 2, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    this was a great guest post! i love working out in the morning because there are less meatys around, no lines to get to the weights because people are too busy staring at themselves in the mirror AND plenty of space for me to play where the big boys play haha

  17. Tracey Goldfinch-Brown October 2, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    good info! love it!

  18. tlbflowllc May 16, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    Great post! We used the picture you put up in your article, and we gave you credit for it. Thanks for writing it!

    http://tlbflowllc.com/2012/02/09/benefits-of-strength-training-for-women/

Leave a Reply

