Fall Lovin’

3 Oct

Hello!

What a week it has been. School work is slowly but surely taking over my life, but not to worry, I’ve still had plenty of foodie love and some pretty good workouts, too.

Today, in between studying for my Monday night Chem test, I headed over toΒ Pier One to browse the store for apartment ideas, and naturally I ended up in the kitchen section. I found a (giant) new mug that I knew had to be mine. And on clearance for $2.98?!? It was meant to be.

IMG 2415

IMG 2414

Perfect for not only drinks, but oats, too…and soup…and chili…and, well you can bet I will pretty much be eating everything out of it now.

IMG 2411

I also had my first encounter of the season with honeycrisp apples. So sweet and so good!

IMG 2393

at home breakfast a while back: a pumpkin oat cake! ~1/2 cup oats, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 cup egg whites, cinnamon, baking powder. top with protein frosting and syrup. Coffee on the side, duh.

IMG 2409

Nutrition, with a side of…Nutrition. πŸ™‚

from the caf: greens, raw veggies, whole grain corn and tomato salad, edemame, pickle, balsamic vinegar

from my stash: cheddar rice cheese hunk, turkey muffins (brought from home), mustard

IMG 2406

salmon packet, minute rice, and steamed veggies, all mixed with balsamic vinegar and hummus

IMG 2400

roasted turkey breast, rice, green beans + tomatoes <–they are really fresh right now!

IMG 2394

scrambled eggs, veggies, and wasa crackers with sunflower seed butter and Crofter’s jam

IMG 2413

MORE pumpkin bars + sunflower seed butter

Workout-wise, I have been loving Naomi’s metabolic workouts! They are a busy person’s dream come true because are FAST, but very effective. The whole point is to to get you in and out of the gym and requires very little time. I have done both the lower and upper body ones and they are equally killer. This style of workout helped me discover my new favorite phone app: an interval timer! It is a great way to change things up and I have been using it a lot lately, not just for weights, but also to add in a bit of fun cardio.

To get some cardio in, I like adding a few rounds of Tabata at the end of my lifting sessions, using high-intensity plyo moves. Check out my post on my favorite plyo moves!

Today’s Workout:

Upper Body Shoulder Focused Metabolic Workout (linked above) + Tabata:

  • High Knees-20 secs, rest 10 secs
  • Squat Jumps-20 secs, rest 10 sec

Repeat for a total of 8 rounds

Repeat for a total of 8 rounds

*use a tabata/interval phone app, or this website has an online tabata timer

Such a fun, time-efficient, way to get in some exercise!

I’m off to get in a *liiiitle* bit of relaxation before the new week begins. Oh, and HAPPY OCTOBER!!!! Time is flying by…I am so happy that the holidays are right around the corner. I ❀ Fall.

What is your favorite part of Fall? Some obvious ones for me: honeycrisp apples, pumpkin, hot drinks, pretty colors outside, Halloween…the list goes on and on!

I will be back soon with my Swansons products review!

Kristi

22 Responses to “Fall Lovin’”

  1. Mallory @ It's Only Life After All October 3, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    love that mug!! that salad looks delicious. you hit all of my fav things pretty much! add perfect running weather & my birthday and that’s my list! haha

  2. Sweet and Savvy October 3, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    My favorite things about fall are the beautiful colors in the trees, pumpkins, having an excuse to eat an exorbitant amount of apples, and breaking out hoodies!

    • Sweetly Fit October 3, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      oh yeah, hoodies….and sweatpants! I live in them, haha.

  3. Alexandra October 3, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    Woo! Love your eats and all of this fall excitement πŸ˜€
    Whoa I got a mug from pier one like that too!! Mine’s red, I love that thing. You’re so right, it makes the perfect bowl for snacks and breakfasts! Hope you have an awesome week!

  4. Meg (A Dash of Meg) October 3, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    great post Kristi πŸ™‚ I love the looks of your eats! YUM! A great tabata workout too πŸ™‚ You are on fire girl! Powering through a tabata workout after an upper body training sesh! Nice work! πŸ™‚

    I have a mug JUST like the one you have, but in black πŸ™‚ It’s my fav. Perfect for huuuuuge yogurt bowls and volumous oats πŸ˜€ I want to try chili in it now that you mentioned that πŸ˜‰

  5. Molly October 3, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    I love the cooler weather that comes along with fall. it’s been so hot here lately. 😦 Good apples are a plus too! AND PUMPKIN!

  6. Tara October 3, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    Good job! Your salads look awesome πŸ™‚

  7. Shannon October 3, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    Your eats always look so good! I love topping wasa crackers with nut butter or jelly, it makes a great snack to! I have a big mug like that to, but its dark blue πŸ™‚ One of my favorite things about Fall is the weather, its not to hot and not to cold. And I love shopping for Fall clothes and food that is in season! πŸ˜€

    Hope you have a great week!

  8. Katie Carso October 3, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Happy Fall Time!

    Love the orange mug ; )

    I got a ghost mug this past wknd from target ; )

    Im drinking pumpkin spice coffee right now : )

    I got honeycrisp apples, so good!

    Happy week ahead!

    xoxo ❀

  9. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) October 3, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Cute mug! Salad looks good! I love apple picking in the fall!

  10. A Tablespoon of Liz October 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Pier one is one of my favorite stores ever! And all this food looks sooooo good!

  11. pbbrittany October 3, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    All your food looks amazing! &I love that mug- it’s perfect for fall! a total win too since it was so cheap! πŸ™‚

    Favorite part of fall: all the honey crisp apples! πŸ™‚
    Have a great Monday!

  12. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    What a rather perfect mug, I love big ones like that! And of course cheaper is always better πŸ™‚ Best part about fall are Honey Crisp apples and Apple picking! Yay for my favorite fruit ha

  13. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 3, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Love that mug!! Such a pretty color and perfect for fall!!!!

  14. jenandberries October 4, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I swear we eat the same! I made those bars this week too πŸ™‚ That mug is an October stunner, I love massive mug bowls like that. Your school caf food looks really class, ours is a pile of poop! One of my favourite parts of fall/autumn is fairisle fashion πŸ˜€

  15. lifttorun October 5, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I love honeycrisps! My favorite apples.

  16. Jen@foodfamilyfitness October 5, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

    I love that mug! So cute!!!

  17. paoang October 5, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Jealous of your college eaaaats!!! It rocks that you can make your own stuff- everything looks amazing! And I can’t believe Fall is already here either….Christmas is just around the corneeeer!

  18. Naomi(onefitfoodie) October 7, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    oh so glad you are loving the metabolic workouts! you are SO right…they are a busy persons dream workout but also they are SO effective because they are high intensity and get your entire body moving!

    your eats are so fabulous and impressive for the avg college student! you certainly know how to make it work and i am SURE you are inspiring and helping so many other college students to stay healthy!!

  19. survivingcandyland October 7, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I love honeycrisp apples too! They are sooo sweet and yummy. I am so glad I decided to try one the other day. Life changing moment.

  20. healthycollegegirl October 8, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    favorite part of fall is PUMPKIN (obvs) but i just had my first honeycrisp a few days ago and i literally couldn’t believe how delicious it was!!! it tasted like candy. i was in shock that it was actually healthy πŸ™‚

  21. foodie @ tastingspot October 10, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    i like your pictures and would like to invite you to share them on tastingspot.com

Leave a Reply

