Proving them wrong

9 Oct

As part of my nutrition class, we are working on a nutrition analysis project where we track everything we eat for 3 days, record data, and plug it into an analyzer, allowing us to view our intake and see if we are meeting our nutrient needs. According to my analysis, I am eating WAY over the amount of calories recommended for me. HA!  I should probably be obese with my results, but am I anywhere near that? No way!  Our bodies require lots of good quality fuel to keep up with life every single day. One thing I don’t love about this nutrition class is the focus on consuming less calories. It is true that obesity is a huge concern in America right now and many people are eating way too much crap, but I think this sends the wrong message to people that they need to eat as little as possible in order to be “heatlhy.” Then this results in people being discouraged, giving up, or even developing disordered eating habits. So while it’s important to not gorge yourself with food, it’s equally as important to get ENOUGH food….good quality food, that is. My analysis did tell me that I’m right on track with my nutrient intakes and that I’m getting plenty of vitamins and minerals. Eat your fruits and veggies, people. 😉

NewImage

I have no pics today, so I had to resort to these little guys. 😉

I slipped away this weekend to stop by home, so I’m currently curled up in my big comfy bed. It’s been a rainy weekend, so this is the perfect place to be…here and the kitchen. What’s better than baking on a rainy day?! Stay tuned for a new recipe coming your way soon!

Favorite rainy day activity?

Kristi

26 Responses to “Proving them wrong”

  1. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance October 9, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Great post, loved it! I agree, I think it send the wrong message and that a lot of ED develope because people think that if they eat only a few calories they’ll be “healthy”.

    Some of my favorite things to do on a rainy day is reading blogs, watching movies, reading, working out, baking etc. 🙂

  2. Katie Carso October 9, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Love the pic ; ) so cute!

    Prove them wrong girl!

    And yay for baking on a Sunday, perfect day for it ; )

    ❤ xoxo

  3. movesnmunchies October 9, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    OMG AMEN!!! in my nutrition course at college this summe the professor only focused on gaining weight and obesity and how to lose weight etc.. drove me nuts!!!! ppl nee dto know to eat enough!

  4. Alexandra October 9, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Woo!! Preach it sister!! I hate what society is trying to do with all this brainwashing about low cal, our bodies need fuel! 🙂
    Enjoy your rainy weekend my friend, it’s raining here too and I can’t wait to bake!

  5. Sweet and Savvy October 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    That is so interesting! Glad to see that you’re proving the calorie obsession wrong. If you’re filling your body with GOOD foods, how can it not be great for your body, even if you eat a lot of them? 🙂 I’m trying to get this stuck In my head. Haha. Your nutrition class sounds Awesome!

  6. pbbrittany October 9, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Love this post! The media and society are nuts with what they expect us to eat! This is great that you’re ‘rebelling’ 😛

    Have a great weekend 😀 I love just curling up in bed on a rainy weekend and reading!
    Oh, and I can’t wait to see the new recipe!

  7. Meg October 9, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    YUP. I should be overweight as well with the amount I eat 😉

  8. Jessy (squeezetheday) October 9, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    I don’t like rain when I have to go somewhere, but I love being lazy on rainy days – reading books, watching tv shows/movies and baking. 🙂

    • Sweetly Fit October 9, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

      same here, and I have no plans today so it’s working out pretty nice. 🙂

  9. lifttorun October 9, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    That’s funny. But the ‘analyzer’ was only analyzing what you eat without the workout. I’m sure if you plugged in how much you work out, it would be fine.

  10. Brittany October 9, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    YES eat your fruits and veggies!!

  11. Sable@SquatLikeALady October 9, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    THANK YOU for writing this! Most of these calorie recommendation thingers assume that women either don’t work out at all, don’t have ANY muscle to speak of, or do only cardio. I mean right now I weigh 140 — with a year and a half’s worth of bodybuilding/powerlifting muscle — and “most” women my weight should only be eating like 1800 calories to maintain but I have to eat 2200-2400 a day to maintain. Muscle makes a HUGE difference!

  12. jenandberries October 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Great post! Give your body what it needs, not what some stupid calculator tells you eh!? I did baking this sunday too hehe, can’t wait to see what you made!

  13. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody October 9, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more about people getting the idea that to be healthy you need to eat less. I think it puts a really bad idea into peoples head. The rest of my family has fallen for that and I see them time and time again eat nothing for as long as possible and then chow down on as much as possible.

  14. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! October 9, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    LOVE THIS! I hate to say it but those caloric calculators are SO off! They don’t take into account what foods you’re eating, your metabolism, or what kind of lifestyle you lead!!! There is no way that they can be right on with telling you how much you should or shouldn’t be eating….only our own bodies know whats right for us!!! Glad you didn’t take that test to heart girl…cause seriously, your eats are some of the best in the blog world in my opinion and I would hate to see you change that because of a stupid test!!! Way to “prove them wrong”!!!

    • Sweetly Fit October 10, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      Thanks Kaila! I’m definitely not changing a thing!

  15. lactosefreelizzie October 9, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    i’m eating so many more calories than my peers as well but i’m the same size as them!! most of my cals come from healthy fats tho!
    and yayy for getting ur vitamins and minerals! im proud girl!!

  16. Allison's Delicious Life October 10, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    woohoo for eating lots of nutrient-rich calories! i probably eat way more calories than i’m “supposed” to for my height and weight, and i know for a fact that i eat more (and more often) than my friends and even my boyfriend. but i am probably way healthier, too!

  17. debbiecutieface October 10, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    that just goes to show that no calculator can tell us how much food our body needs 🙂

  18. Health Freak College Girl October 10, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    great post! and i love the pic. it’s so cute 🙂

  19. Beautiful life October 10, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Love your blog!

  20. resiliencesc October 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    I’m a rainy-day-spent-in-bed lover myself! Even more so if I know the kitchen is stocked with goodies (bacon pretty much fulfills this requirement).

    Like you, I’m currently taking a college nutrition class and its laughable at times. The focus on less calories, eating grains as much as possible, and avoiding meat and animal fat as much as possible.

    Sadly the professor is thinner and in her late 40’s or early 50’s, so she’s OBVIOUSLY right and “healthy”. We won’t mention the very wrinkled skin on her face and arms, the super-healthy shiny/platic-y sheen on her skin at all times, or how she seems to have to constantly preach calcium supplementation to prevent all the girls in class from getting osteoporosis…like her. Its “unavoidable” ya know 😉

  21. Tessa @ Amazing Asset October 10, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Great post!! I should also be rather overweight according to the amount I eat! I eat well over 2,000 calories per day and some people cannot fathom that

  22. survivingcandyland October 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Hahaha I had to do this in one of my nutrition classes too, and I was eating waaay over the “recommended” serving size for fruit and veggies, but then I’m like I eat healthy, so it shouldn’t really matter.

  23. meri October 11, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    The veggies are very very cute! I am curious sometimes about my own eating habits, and how I’d score nutritionally. I’ve always been a vegetarian, so sometimes I wonder if I’m low in protein, or iron, or b vitamins.

  24. Tara October 12, 2011 at 12:41 am #

    Someone just asked me (literally two minutes ago!) how many calories she should cut to lose weight!! I hate the focus on calories – if you’re going to focus on anything, look at overall macronutrients and make sure you stick to whole, natural foods. If you have a poor diet, simply eating less of it isn’t going to do much for your body! Stay true to your beliefs!!

Leave a Reply

